MEET KIRANMALA:
INTERDIMENSIONAL DEMON SLAYER
(Only she doesn't know it yet.)

On the morning of her twelfth birthday, Kiranmala is just a regular sixth grader living in Parsippany, New Jersey . . . until her parents mysteriously vanish and a drooling rakkhosh demon slams through her kitchen, determined to eat her alive. Turns out there might be some truth to her parents' fantastical stories-like how Kiranmala is a real Indian princess and how she comes from a secret place not of this world.
To complicate matters, two crush-worthy princes ring her doorbell, insisting they've come to rescue her. Suddenly, Kiran is swept into another dimension full of magic, winged horses, moving maps, and annoying, talking birds. There she must solve riddles and battle demons all while avoiding the Serpent King of the underworld and the Rakkhoshi Queen in order to find her parents and basically save New Jersey, her entire world, and everything beyond it . . .

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on February 27, 2018 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1338185705
ISBN-13: 9781338185706
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • mark the proSunday, April 15, 2018 at 1:12 pm
    I like this book but the problem is that I cant read the whole book and I do not know the boys names.
    • beatboyThursday, March 15, 2018 at 7:26 am
      cool
      • Book loverThursday, March 8, 2018 at 2:14 pm
        i love this book so happy to read itttt
        • PROThursday, March 8, 2018 at 12:03 pm
          This book is only about snakes.
          • .??Wednesday, February 28, 2018 at 2:13 pm
            What grade can u read this?
            • Pistola11Friday, February 9, 2018 at 5:32 pm
              I got this book early at a school book fair and I just love this book! The Serpent's Secret is such a funny, fairytale defying book. This may sound like a fairytale once reading a bit but this... BOOTAYFUL. Plot is on point with a Percy Jackson humor and Kiran got that sassssss!!!!!!!!!!!!! XD
              • maddyp18
                maddyp18Wednesday, January 10, 2018 at 8:28 am44 starsFeatured
                Besides her 'superstitious' parents, Kiranmala thinks she's an ordinary girl with an ordinary life. But then, on Kiran's twelve birthday, her whole life is turned upside down. A rakkhosh (an Indian monster) abducts Kieran's parents, and she and two fairy-tale princes must rescue them. Kiran and the princes set off on a wild adventure, through different dimensions and across strange lands. Will Kiran save her parents and herself, or will she land in the clutches of the evil Serpent King? Read this amazing book to find out. I loved this book, and I think it's a great read for older elementary school and middle school kids. It is an amazing adventure story, and if you like the Percy Jackson books you'll love this, too. This book has the perfect mix of funny, remarkable, and irresistible. Once you start reading it you just can't put it down!
                • snicker9
                  snicker9Monday, January 8, 2018 at 8:46 am44 stars
                  Kiran thought she had a normal life. Until on her twelfth birthday she finds out she's an Indian princess. How does she find this out? When her parents are captured and two princes crash into her yard to help her. Her whole life is thrown upside down when she is told that she was adopted when her birth mother sent her to Earth so she could escape the clutches of her father - the Serpent King. Kiran is introduced to a whole new world with magic and fantasy creatures. This book was filled with adventure and lots of surprises along the way. One of my favorite parts about this book was the uniqueness of the concept. I learned a lot of new things about Japanese mythology and culture. Some of the words were unfamiliar to me, but I eventually figured out what they meant. Overall, this is a pretty good middle grade read. I would caution younger readers that there are some darker action scenes, specifically those that involve the Rackosh, the Serpent King and the demons. Because of those scenes, I would rate this book 3 out of 5 stars.
                  • readingkendal
                    readingkendalSunday, January 7, 2018 at 4:38 am55 stars
                    This book is awesome! As she grows up Kiranmala is told stories of Rackosh and told she is a princess which she doesn't believe until on her birthday her parents disappear and 2 princes show up and so does a Rackosh. The princes Lal and Neel "save her" from the Rackosh and take her to there home to help her find her parents. Along the way Neel and Kiranmala have to save Lal and their friend Mati and as they do they have to defeat Rackosh and The Serpent King. I recommend this book to anyone who loves magic and friendship!
                    • inh8
                      inh8Tuesday, January 2, 2018 at 1:59 pm55 stars
                      In The Serpents Secret, Kiranmala is celebrating her 12th birthday, despite having who she thinks are the weirdest parents in the world. They are always calling her a princess and telling her stories about their heritage. Suddenly, she is attacked by a Rakkosh, and two princes swoop in to "save the day". Kiranmala is whisked away into a strange, magical world, where she is confronted by all sorts of monsters! I would personally recommend this book to anyone . It's full of excitement, and magic. So if you are into that kind of thing, Kiranmala And The Kingdom Beyond is right up your alley!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      laxbro2023
                      laxbro2023 wrote:

                      i have the book and im glad alex...
                      Never Say Die (Alex Rider)

                      Sara wrote:

                      yes that's right... you should n...
                      A Wrinkle in Time

                      Siena wrote:

                      wow... that was very sad.... i'm...
                      A Wrinkle in Time

                      nothing wrote:

                      really good book
                      Torn to Pieces