Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.263503
MEET KIRANMALA:
INTERDIMENSIONAL DEMON SLAYER
(Only she doesn't know it yet.)

On the morning of her twelfth birthday, Kiranmala is just a regular sixth grader living in Parsippany, New Jersey . . . until her parents mysteriously vanish and a drooling rakkhosh demon slams through her kitchen, determined to eat her alive. Turns out there might be some truth to her parents' fantastical stories-like how Kiranmala is a real Indian princess and how she comes from a secret place not of this world.
To complicate matters, two crush-worthy princes ring her doorbell, insisting they've come to rescue her. Suddenly, Kiran is swept into another dimension full of magic, winged horses, moving maps, and annoying, talking birds. There she must solve riddles and battle demons all while avoiding the Serpent King of the underworld and the Rakkhoshi Queen in order to find her parents and basically save New Jersey, her entire world, and everything beyond it . . .

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on February 27, 2018 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1338185705
ISBN-13: 9781338185706
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • cookieplayer
    cookieplayerThursday, September 13, 2018 at 5:36 pm55 stars
    The Serpent's Secret is a creative book describing an incident in Kiranmala's life. Kiranmala doesn't know that she is secretly an Indian Princess until her 12th birthday when her parents go missing and a bloodthirsty rakkhosh enters in her kitchen. Then she is whisked away to a magical dimension where all the tales that she had heard growing up became true. This book is easy to understand and it is really funny. I really wish I could be a Indian princess XD
    • Book CriticSaturday, July 14, 2018 at 9:14 pm
      The Serpent's Secret is a phenomenal and creative book describing an incident in Kiranmala's life. Kiranmala doesn't know that she is secretly an Indian Princess until her 12th birthday when her parents go missing and a bloodthirsty rakkhosh enters (or more like barges) in her kitchen. Then she is whisked away to a magical dimension where all the tales that she had heard growing up became true. This book is easy to understand and it is really funny. Not only does it make Indians relish their culture, but it also helps non-Indians to learn the culture. Some problems were that the middle of the story was a little hard to follow and it is too similar to Percy Jackson. But I was saw this is a must-read.
      • The Serpent's SFriday, May 25, 2018 at 6:54 am
        Does anyone know's the book level on this book?
        • mark the proSunday, April 15, 2018 at 1:12 pm
          I like this book but the problem is that I cant read the whole book and I do not know the boys names.
          • beatboyThursday, March 15, 2018 at 7:26 am
            cool
            • Book loverThursday, March 8, 2018 at 2:14 pm
              i love this book so happy to read itttt
              • PROThursday, March 8, 2018 at 12:03 pm
                This book is only about snakes.
                • .??Wednesday, February 28, 2018 at 2:13 pm
                  What grade can u read this?
                  • Pistola11Friday, February 9, 2018 at 5:32 pm
                    I got this book early at a school book fair and I just love this book! The Serpent's Secret is such a funny, fairytale defying book. This may sound like a fairytale once reading a bit but this... BOOTAYFUL. Plot is on point with a Percy Jackson humor and Kiran got that sassssss!!!!!!!!!!!!! XD
                    • maddyp18
                      maddyp18Wednesday, January 10, 2018 at 8:28 am44 starsFeatured
                      Besides her 'superstitious' parents, Kiranmala thinks she's an ordinary girl with an ordinary life. But then, on Kiran's twelve birthday, her whole life is turned upside down. A rakkhosh (an Indian monster) abducts Kieran's parents, and she and two fairy-tale princes must rescue them. Kiran and the princes set off on a wild adventure, through different dimensions and across strange lands. Will Kiran save her parents and herself, or will she land in the clutches of the evil Serpent King? Read this amazing book to find out. I loved this book, and I think it's a great read for older elementary school and middle school kids. It is an amazing adventure story, and if you like the Percy Jackson books you'll love this, too. This book has the perfect mix of funny, remarkable, and irresistible. Once you start reading it you just can't put it down!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      OMG YES! wrote:

                      AAAAAAAAAAAAA YES I NEED TO FIND...
                      The Land of Stories: The Ultimat...

                      jaden wrote:

                      this is a good book
                      Dork Diaries 1: Tales from a Not...

                      mikaia28
                      mikaia28 wrote:

                      I have read a little bit of big ...
                      Big Nate Strikes Again

                      debitcredit

                      i want to read it because i stil...
                      The Meltdown (Diary of a Wimpy K...

                      Our Apps and Plugins