The Serpent's Secret (Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond #1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.263503
MEET KIRANMALA:
INTERDIMENSIONAL DEMON SLAYER
(Only she doesn't know it yet.)

On the morning of her twelfth birthday, Kiranmala is just a regular sixth grader living in Parsippany, New Jersey . . . until her parents mysteriously vanish and a drooling rakkhosh demon slams through her kitchen, determined to eat her alive. Turns out there might be some truth to her parents' fantastical stories-like how Kiranmala is a real Indian princess and how she comes from a secret place not of this world.
To complicate matters, two crush-worthy princes ring her doorbell, insisting they've come to rescue her. Suddenly, Kiran is swept into another dimension full of magic, winged horses, moving maps, and annoying, talking birds. There she must solve riddles and battle demons all while avoiding the Serpent King of the underworld and the Rakkhoshi Queen in order to find her parents and basically save New Jersey, her entire world, and everything beyond it . . .

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on February 27, 2018 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1338185705
ISBN-13: 9781338185706
28 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookworms4ever
    bookworms4everFriday, September 11, 2020 at 6:36 am55 stars
    I love this book! I want book 3 soon! It is action packed, funny, and serious at the same time! I just can't get over how Sayantani DasGupta detailed it! Oh, but EVERY BOOK I SAY THAT BECAUSE I CAN'T GET OVER HOW I LOVE BOOKS! ok um. Bye! -bookworms4ver
    • ananyadhar05
      ananyadhar05Thursday, September 10, 2020 at 4:08 pm55 stars
      This book is amazing.
      • unisgirl
        unisgirlTuesday, August 4, 2020 at 4:58 pm
        I just started reading this book and I can't wait to see what happens next. A lot of exciting things are already happening
        • squirrelflight
          squirrelflightMonday, July 20, 2020 at 12:42 pm44 stars
          Kiranmala is an ordinary sixth grader...with extraordinary parents. She often feels like her family is too different from everyone else—not just because of their food or clothes, but because they think of fact and fiction as the one thing. Well, that’s what she thought. Her mother had always told her that she was an Indian princess, actually the daughter of a serpent king, but Kiran normally scoffed at this. Until her twelfth birthday. Until a monster, right from her parents’ Indian folktales, breaks through her house. Until two mysterious boys who claim to be princes show up on her doorstep. Until her parents disappear. Now, Kiran is sucked into a world of kingdoms, princes, and danger, all in search of her mother and father. As she meets new friends and enemies alike on her journey, she learns secrets—secrets that could destroy her, not only from the outside, but from within. Can she find her parents—before it’s too late? Read this book to find out!
          • hiTuesday, October 22, 2019 at 7:52 am
            best book ever
            • muneymunegrrrl
              muneymunegrrrlSunday, July 28, 2019 at 12:48 pm55 stars
              awesome- spoiler alert rakkoshi grandma is HILARIOUS love this book!
              • marrigold137
                marrigold137Thursday, June 6, 2019 at 5:36 pm55 stars
                This book gives Rick Riordan's books a run for thier money ! I loved it and the author clearly knew a LOT about Indian folklore and myths . I can't wait to read the next one!
                • inmemoryofcpr
                  inmemoryofcprSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 10:12 am44 stars
                  I liked this book because it was really exciting. And everything was interesting. I would recommend it to fans of Rick Riordan and Harry Potter.
                  • johncenaSaturday, March 30, 2019 at 8:47 am
                    amazing book
                    • cookieplayer
                      cookieplayerThursday, September 13, 2018 at 5:36 pm55 stars
                      The Serpent's Secret is a creative book describing an incident in Kiranmala's life. Kiranmala doesn't know that she is secretly an Indian Princess until her 12th birthday when her parents go missing and a bloodthirsty rakkhosh enters in her kitchen. Then she is whisked away to a magical dimension where all the tales that she had heard growing up became true. This book is easy to understand and it is really funny. I really wish I could be a Indian princess XD
                      • muneymunegrrrl
                        muneymunegrrrlSunday, July 28, 2019 at 12:48 pm55 stars
                        you may be one!!!!