Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.780248

Fall in love—from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series.

Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want.

Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Don't miss the next books in Kiera Cass's popular series, including The Elite, The One, The Heir, and The Crown.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on April 24, 2012 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062059939
ISBN-13: 9780062059932
106 Book Reviews
  • archeras
    archerasabout 1 month
    This book is extraordinary it really makes you think about what it would be like to experience that the main character America really shines in the book the book is really addictive . and one you get to the end that is a major cliffhanger. So over all this is a great book that I will be reading till the end of the series.
    • lola_1234
      lola_12342 months55 stars
      Let me just say, if you, and I mean if you really like fantasy/romance, then oh boy this book is for you! It is about this girl America Singer, and she has a love but then gets another love. It will make sense once you read it.
      • pastelasteroid
        pastelasteroid12 months44 stars
        Basically, it's a book about a girl named America Singer, she participates in the Selection where girls compete against each other to fight for the love of the prince. When all things are going well, she bumps into her ex-boyfriend, Aspen. Overall, I believe it's an okay book whatsoever, I find this book interesting because of the dystopian government system mixed with romance.
        • lowkey_amy
          lowkey_amy12 months
          My sister is OBSESSED with these books, and she has read all of them, so now I want to read them! Would 11 years old be an apporite age to read them?
          • lola_1234
            lola_1234about 2 months55 stars
            There is a little romance in the book but not at a extreme level. I would say if you are mature enough, then definitely read. It is my favorite book series of all time. I was 11 when I read them so I think it is a good transition from Elementary to Middle school. This is Just my opinion.
          • kittiesmama
            kittiesmamaabout 1 year55 stars
            It's about a girl who goes to the palace to try to win the heart of the Prince but has been broken darted by her ex boyfriend and she finds out some thrilling things about Prince maxon
            • lottiestar
              lottiestarabout 1 year55 stars
              This book is awesome!! You should definitely read it if you're a fan of romance novels!! I read this in 6th grade and I totally loved it!! I still remember some of the descriptions of the main character America Singer and Prince Maxon!! It's a wonderful book!
              • sokeefe_forever
                sokeefe_foreverabout 1 year55 starsFeatured
                This book is so good, and I really loved it, and I think you guys would too! I recommend getting approval from an adult before reading it, but basically the book is about a girl named America Singer who is not quite an adult, but she's not really that much of a teen anymore. So she enters in a competition to be the husband of a prince, Prince Maxon because her boyfriend asks her to do it so that he doesn't feel guilty for ruining her chances at being a princess. She enters not thinking she will be one of the 35 girls. After all, the whole country of eligible girls is entering! And she doesn't really want to win anyway, besides, she doesn't even think she's beautiful anyway. But of course she is wrong, and she is one of the most beautiful! There is an important lesson to this book! That lesson is that no matter what people say of you, or you think of yourself, you are beautiful in your own unique way!
                • Pabout 1 year
                  Amazing! Favorite book!
                  • sokeefe_forever
                    sokeefe_foreverover 1 year55 stars
                    Okay, this book is soooo amazing!!! America doesn't want to go and enter into a competition to marry the prince, but her family isn't exactly rich, and her mom really wants her to do it because there is benefits to the family. America doesn't think she's pretty enough, being only a 5, where as, there is 34 girls other than her who probably are 3's, and 2's, (one is "the best" because they are more rich) but she proves that numbers don't mean anything and I think in the next couple of books she wins, but I don't know if she actually marrys the prince since I haven't read the others yet. But, no matter how rich or poor you are, you are beautiful! Even if other people don't think so, there is always beauty with somebody and that is a powerful message we need to understand. We shouod not lower our self esteem as I sometimes struggle with. You are beautiful in more ways than you may realize!!!!!💗
                    • Cool cia 7over 1 year
                      This is a good book but a bit too romantic for anyone under 7th grade I love it and I’m in 6th grade
                      • wof
                        wofover 1 year
                        im only in fifth grade and im fine with reading books with romance in them.