Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.780248

Fall in love—from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series.

Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want.

Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Don't miss the next books in Kiera Cass's popular series, including The Elite, The One, The Heir, and The Crown.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on April 24, 2012 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062059939
ISBN-13: 9780062059932
101 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lottiestar
    lottiestarWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:21 pm55 stars
    This book is awesome!! You should definitely read it if you're a fan of romance novels!! I read this in 6th grade and I totally loved it!! I still remember some of the descriptions of the main character America Singer and Prince Maxon!! It's a wonderful book!
    • sydneyz
      sydneyzTuesday, November 24, 2020 at 4:51 pm55 starsFeatured
      This book is so good, and I really loved it, and I think you guys would too! I recommend getting approval from an adult before reading it, but basically the book is about a girl named America Singer who is not quite an adult, but she's not really that much of a teen anymore. So she enters in a competition to be the husband of a prince, Prince Maxon because her boyfriend asks her to do it so that he doesn't feel guilty for ruining her chances at being a princess. She enters not thinking she will be one of the 35 girls. After all, the whole country of eligible girls is entering! And she doesn't really want to win anyway, besides, she doesn't even think she's beautiful anyway. But of course she is wrong, and she is one of the most beautiful! There is an important lesson to this book! That lesson is that no matter what people say of you, or you think of yourself, you are beautiful in your own unique way!
      • PSunday, November 22, 2020 at 3:42 pm
        Amazing! Favorite book!
        • sydneyz
          sydneyzTuesday, October 13, 2020 at 6:59 am55 stars
          Okay, this book is soooo amazing!!! America doesn't want to go and enter into a competition to marry the prince, but her family isn't exactly rich, and her mom really wants her to do it because there is benefits to the family. America doesn't think she's pretty enough, being only a 5, where as, there is 34 girls other than her who probably are 3's, and 2's, (one is "the best" because they are more rich) but she proves that numbers don't mean anything and I think in the next couple of books she wins, but I don't know if she actually marrys the prince since I haven't read the others yet. But, no matter how rich or poor you are, you are beautiful! Even if other people don't think so, there is always beauty with somebody and that is a powerful message we need to understand. We shouod not lower our self esteem as I sometimes struggle with. You are beautiful in more ways than you may realize!!!!!💗
          • Cool cia 7Thursday, October 8, 2020 at 1:01 pm
            This is a good book but a bit too romantic for anyone under 7th grade I love it and I’m in 6th grade
            • jad10
              jad10Wednesday, October 21, 2020 at 10:26 am
              im only in fifth grade and im fine with reading books with romance in them.
            • ladyarwen
              ladyarwenMonday, September 14, 2020 at 4:33 pm55 stars
              This book is just amazing. The character's have plenty of personality, the idea is so creative, and so much more. I LOVED IT!
              • ladyarwen
                ladyarwenMonday, September 14, 2020 at 4:21 pm55 stars
                This is my favorite book in the world! Just look at my username! Maxerica forever!💕
                • annafantastic
                  annafantasticWednesday, July 22, 2020 at 2:09 am55 stars
                  This is a really good book!
                  • kkgautamm
                    kkgautammMonday, July 20, 2020 at 5:00 pm55 stars
                    this is one of my favorite books ever!! it was pretty much my into to ya lit and dystopian novels. its a super quick read, and although the story seems boring at first, it gets more interesting!
                    • swirlycool
                      swirlycoolTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 1:27 pm55 stars
                      America Singer already had her heart with someone, however she and Aspen were the only ones who knew that. America thought he was the one, until one day a letter came. It was a letter giving her the opportunity to sign up for the drawing of the Selection. The Selection would draw the names of 35 girls. These girls would all compete for the heart of Prince Maxon, and at the end of the competition, there would be one girl who would win his heart, and the crown. America didn't want to enter, however her family wanted her to. When she went to the treehouse to secretly meet up with Aspen, he told her she should enter. Not only that, but they broke up. America was heartbroken. Later, her mom said that if she entered she could keep half of her salary. Not even if she was picked, only if she entered. America knew that many other girls would enter, so she decided that she would enter. She did not believe she would get picked. However, she was wrong. The rest is the beginning of her story. I rate this book 5/5, and I enjoyed it a lot. It made me want to read the next book to find out what would happen. I recommend this book to people who enjoyed the Hunger Games series, and those who enjoy dystopian and utopian novels.