Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.780248

Fall in love—from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series.

Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want.

Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Don't miss the next books in Kiera Cass's popular series, including The Elite, The One, The Heir, and The Crown.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on April 24, 2012 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062059939
ISBN-13: 9780062059932
85 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sylvie55555
    sylvie55555Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 5:27 pm55 stars
    18 year old America has a pretty normal life. She's a five, and excellent on the piano. But when her true love Aspen breaks up with her and her name gets drawn for The Selection, America has no choice but to go. At the palace with Maxon, the prince, America finds a safe haven. At first she thinks she doesn't want to marry the prince... but slowly that opinion changes. Read the book to find out what happens! This is an amazing book, and I highly recommend it!
    • izzyblue
      izzyblueFriday, May 24, 2019 at 11:04 am55 stars
      i heard this book was really good i really want to read it
      • SavageThursday, May 23, 2019 at 12:03 pm
        This book was soooooooo good! OMG I love like the backstory of the war and the coming of royalty!!!!
        • selo4
          selo4Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 11:12 am33 stars
          This book is great and all but it needs a lot more detail. It would be such a great great book if it had more detail. I don't have much of a review to right but here is a summary. This book is about a girl who is from a family that is not so rich, in fact there actually poor. She has a chance to complete in a pageant. If she won, she would be the Prince's wife. This book is a romance type of book, if you like these kind of books then this book is great for you! -Selo4.
          • loompa123
            loompa123Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 8:56 am55 stars
            This book was absolutely stunning! It had drama at all the right parts, it made your heart skip a beat, and it put you into the action directly! This book is like the more interesting version of the Bachelor franchise! Highly recommend!
            • katherina_8268
              katherina_8268Friday, April 26, 2019 at 5:40 pm55 stars
              I REALLY want to read this book! I heard that it's really good and interesting!
              • jilly_bean
                jilly_beanTuesday, March 26, 2019 at 4:32 am55 stars
                This novel is really what every girl needs to read before they turn fourteen. The characters are so irresistibly charming! I love how every girl has their own great personality and have different levels of feelings for Prince Maxon. America and Maxon really are a cute couple in my head.
                • girlforgreen
                  girlforgreenThursday, January 10, 2019 at 4:05 pm55 stars
                  The story keeps me on the edge of my seat, in a wonderful way. You just want to experience everything America is. Wow! And the sequel, The Elite, is just as good!
                  • 24krussell
                    24krussellWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 5:56 am55 stars
                    I found this book extremely interesting and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I found it a tiny bit boring at first, but when she actually got to the castle and is thrown into drama, I started to find the book hard to put down. I would definitely recommend this book. I can not wait to read the next book in the series.
                    • yellingout
                      yellingoutTuesday, November 27, 2018 at 4:06 pm11 star
                      i don't like it on the honest side but it is ok really.