Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.780248

Fall in love—from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series.

Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want.

Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Don't miss the next books in Kiera Cass's popular series, including The Elite, The One, The Heir, and The Crown.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on April 24, 2012 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062059939
ISBN-13: 9780062059932
91 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • swirlycool
    swirlycoolTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 1:27 pm55 stars
    America Singer already had her heart with someone, however she and Aspen were the only ones who knew that. America thought he was the one, until one day a letter came. It was a letter giving her the opportunity to sign up for the drawing of the Selection. The Selection would draw the names of 35 girls. These girls would all compete for the heart of Prince Maxon, and at the end of the competition, there would be one girl who would win his heart, and the crown. America didn't want to enter, however her family wanted her to. When she went to the treehouse to secretly meet up with Aspen, he told her she should enter. Not only that, but they broke up. America was heartbroken. Later, her mom said that if she entered she could keep half of her salary. Not even if she was picked, only if she entered. America knew that many other girls would enter, so she decided that she would enter. She did not believe she would get picked. However, she was wrong. The rest is the beginning of her story. I rate this book 5/5, and I enjoyed it a lot. It made me want to read the next book to find out what would happen. I recommend this book to people who enjoyed the Hunger Games series, and those who enjoy dystopian and utopian novels.
    • girlpower4ever
      girlpower4everMonday, June 1, 2020 at 5:27 pm55 stars
      Kiera Cass is a beautiful writer. She weaves words together to create a gorgeous, intricate, heartbreaking, sincere story that will make people want to cry and smile at the same time. America's journey in a futuristic North America - her caste, getting picked for the Selection, and trying to work out her feelings - is incredible. This book is fresh and YA and I love Kiera's writing for it.
      • swirlycool
        swirlycoolThursday, May 28, 2020 at 11:28 am55 stars
        America Singer already had her heart with someone, however she and Aspen were the only ones who knew that. America thought he was the one, until one day a letter came. It was a letter giving her the opportunity to sign up for the drawing of the Selection. The Selection would draw the names of 35 girls. These girls would all compete for the heart of Prince Maxon, and at the end of the competition, there would be one girl who would win his heart, and the crown. America didn't want to enter, however her family wanted her to. When she went to the treehouse to secretly meet up with Aspen, he told her she should enter. Not only that, but they broke up. America was heartbroken. Later, her mom said that if she entered she could keep half of her salary. Not even if she was picked, only if she entered. America knew that many other girls would enter, so she decided that she would enter. She did not believe she would get picked. However, she was wrong. The rest is the beginning of her story. I rate this book 5/5, and I enjoyed it a lot. It made me want to read the next book to find out what would happen. I recommend this book to people who enjoyed the Hunger Games series, and those who enjoy dystopian and utopian novels.
        • willow123goma
          willow123gomaThursday, May 28, 2020 at 7:25 am44 stars
          It was very romantic, and I would advise it for children ATLEAST in middle school, because the content may not be appropriate for kids below that age. Besides that, I though it was an good book.
          • jilli_fono
            jilli_fonoTuesday, February 18, 2020 at 7:40 am55 stars
            This is my all time favorite book in all history! America singer is a poor musician from the streets. She works her hardest to support her family, and her secret boyfriend, Aspen. One day, a letter comes in the mail, telling the family that America can enter a contest to win the prince's heart. America wants nothing to do with it, but her mother, sister, and father need her to do it. So America puts her name in, praying that she will not be chosen...but she is in the palace before you know it! Her name was drawn, and she was rushed to the palace with 35 other girls to meet the royal family, and her potential lover, Prince Maxon. Will she steal the prince's heart? Or will she be sent away with a snap of the king's fingers?
            • rylinn
              rylinnSunday, August 11, 2019 at 6:38 pm
              I recommend this book to all those girls out there who need that one great book.Great news it's here!This book keeps you wondering what happens next day hi page.Read this book you will want to read it over and over again
              • sylvie55555
                sylvie55555Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 5:27 pm55 stars
                18 year old America has a pretty normal life. She's a five, and excellent on the piano. But when her true love Aspen breaks up with her and her name gets drawn for The Selection, America has no choice but to go. At the palace with Maxon, the prince, America finds a safe haven. At first she thinks she doesn't want to marry the prince... but slowly that opinion changes. Read the book to find out what happens! This is an amazing book, and I highly recommend it!
                • izzyblue
                  izzyblueFriday, May 24, 2019 at 11:04 am55 stars
                  i heard this book was really good i really want to read it
                  • SavageThursday, May 23, 2019 at 12:03 pm
                    This book was soooooooo good! OMG I love like the backstory of the war and the coming of royalty!!!!
                    • selo4
                      selo4Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 11:12 am33 stars
                      This book is great and all but it needs a lot more detail. It would be such a great great book if it had more detail. I don't have much of a review to right but here is a summary. This book is about a girl who is from a family that is not so rich, in fact there actually poor. She has a chance to complete in a pageant. If she won, she would be the Prince's wife. This book is a romance type of book, if you like these kind of books then this book is great for you! -Selo4.