Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7n/an/an/an/a
In sixth grade, bad things can happen to good kids. Bullies will find your weakness and jump on it. Teachers will say you did something wrong when really you didn't mean to do anything wrong. The kids who joke the loudest can drown out the quieter, nicer kids.

Maverick wants to change all that. One of the last things his father left him was a toy sheriff's badge, back when Maverick was little. Now he likes to carry it around to remind him of his dad -- and also to remind him to make school a better place for everyone . . . even if that's a hard thing to do, especially when his own home life is falling apart.

The Secret Sheriff of Sixth Grade is a story about standing up for yourself -- and being a hero at home and in the halls of your school.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on February 26, 2019 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 054586321X
ISBN-13: 9780545863216
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Bianca PasminFriday, May 22, 2020 at 10:23 am
    In the beginning, it starts out as a boy who lacks confidence in himself. He keeps talking about how lame, short, and small he is. But as the story continues readers find out that he is more than that. Even though his family is short on money he persists through it all. Sure he still dreams of having a "normal life" but what does a "normal life" mean to him? This book is amazing and will make you want to keep reading to find out more!
    • Brayden CasselThursday, May 21, 2020 at 9:44 pm
      In the beginning of the story, it was sad. It was sad because The boy was talking about how he thinks he was lame and that he was allergic to his sidekick. Also, his family was having trouble getting money But then it started to get funny and also sarcastic which made me more interested in the book because I like funny books. I would really suggest this to a lot of people if they like sad at the beginning but then get better at the end.
      • Chase MillerThursday, May 21, 2020 at 12:06 pm
        In this book, Maverick is a boy that gets embarrassed to speak up and stand up for himself. Maverick gets bullied because of how small and weak he is. He then decides he wants to become a Superhero to stop the bullying and be able to take a stand, but he doesn't believe in himself. I would highly encourage this book because it has funny parts, even though it mostly sad.
        • warbrils
          Mrs. WarbrickThursday, May 21, 2020 at 9:40 am44 stars
          "In the beginning, the text had a sad tone to it, but gradually the character gathered courage and began to step up, like a hero! I wanted to know more, more about what was going to happen, and what his journeys are going to be like. The character's determination made me want to continue reading and find out! If you are the kind of person who always likes books that have characters who like to follow their dreams, then this book is just right!"
          • melonperson283Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 8:44 am
            This book is about a boy, Maverick, who isn't confident in himself and has trouble standing up for himself. He's tired of all these bullies picking on the weak kids, and he wants to change all that. This book teaches readers a valuable lesson, and I'm enjoying it so far.
            • Bryce engelThursday, May 21, 2020 at 8:42 am
              In the beginning of the story, he has a very hard time in his life. He explains how lame he is, and that he was small and allergic to his "sidekick." In addition to this, it is hard for him and his family to get money. He shows that he has hope of being better with the movies "Spiderman" and "Captain America." So I think that it is a good book to show persistence because although he had all the struggles he has, he stays nice.
              • Nabila :)Tuesday, May 19, 2020 at 2:54 pm
                In the beginning, the story had a sad tone to it, but as I continued reading the character gained determination and wanted to make a change. That intrigued me into wanting to read more! I wanted to know all about the character's journey and what else is going to happen. If you are the kind of person who just wants to keep figuring and dig deeper, then this story is just right for you! Honestly, the suspense does all the work! :)
                • Reader girlTuesday, May 19, 2020 at 8:04 am
                  When reading this book I could tell that this book is a very sad and emotional book. Once he got to school, the story changed a bit and became more of a hectic first day of school. I loved when the assistant principal was talking the main character would keep responding to him but in his head which is what most people do. To sum it all up, I think that this book is something that some or even most people can relate to and maybe even learn from it.
                  • Critic dude123Tuesday, May 19, 2020 at 6:50 am
                    In this book, it starts off on a very negative note. The character is not too brave and has a lot of allergies. The trait that summarizes this character is sarcasm. He likes to mumble to himself about others. I would suggest this book as a good read for 6 to 7th graders, because it relates to their daily problems. It is a good book to read for suspense. I really like this book so far!
                    • DesmondWednesday, January 16, 2019 at 9:27 am
                      I think that this was an okay book. You could tell that they were trying to juice all the action they could out of this book. When he uses a permanent marker to write a message on a locker, he is then forced to scrub it off. But everybody knows that you could just write over it with dry erase and then erase that.