The Secret of the Fortune Wookiee (Origami Yoda #3)

Book 3 of 6 in the Origami Yoda Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.624167
With Dwight attending Tippett Academy this semester, the kids of McQuarrie Middle School are on their own—no Origami Yoda to give advice and help them navigate the treacherous waters of middle school. Then Sara gets a gift she says is from Dwight—a paper fortune-teller in the form of Chewbacca. It’s a Fortune Wookiee, and it seems to give advice that’s just as good as Yoda’s—even if, in the hands of the girls, it seems too preoccupied with romance. In the meantime, Dwight is fitting in a little too well at Tippett. Has the unimaginable happened? Has Dwight become normal? It’s up to his old friends at McQuarrie to remind their kooky friend that it’s in his weirdness that his greatness lies.

This is the third case file in the blockbuster bestselling Origami Yoda series, written by Tom Angleberger, author of Star Wars: Return of the Jedi: Beware the Power of the Dark Side, showcasing his proven knack for authentically capturing the intrigues, fads, and dramas of middle school in “a satisfying tale of friendship and just resistance to authority” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).

Praise for The Secret of the Fortune Wookieehas crafted a worthy follow-up to his break
STARRED REVIEW
"Angleberger’s third in the series continues the fun. A chorus of spot-on middle school voices and plenty of laughs are wrapped around this tale of friendship and seasoned with Star Wars references."
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Tom Angleberger offers a hilarious third book in his best-selling series starring origami Star Wars characters. Angleberger’s grasp of middle-school emotions, humor and behavior is spot-on, and parents who want to get a sense of what it’s like be a preteen these days might consider reading this book. But you'll likely have to pry it out of your young reader’s hands first."
Scripps Howard News Service

Award
2013 ReadKiddoRead Kiddos - FINALIST
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on August 7, 2012 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419703927
ISBN-13: 9781419703928
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hockey_dude77
    hockey_dude77Saturday, August 8, 2020 at 4:42 am55 stars
    It's a Fortune Wookiee, a paper fortune teller in the form of Chewbacca. Sara brings it to school as a gift from Dwight, and it seems to give advice that's just as good as Yoda's. Mysterious it is! Tommy, Kellen, and Harvey are on the case to find out what it is. I loved this book.
    • inmemoryofcpr
      inmemoryofcprMonday, July 22, 2019 at 9:58 pm44 stars
      With Dwight/Origami Yoda kicked out of their school, Tommy and his friends must find a way to bring him back, or survive the struggle of middle school without any help. But with Principal Rabaski blocking the way, Tommy and his friends must now make a new case file to prove to them that Dwight has helped many people during his stay at McQuarrie MIddle School. I would recommend this for ages 10+ This series is amazing! But I think the author could make it more interesting because I was sometimes bored. Other than that, this was a really nice book..
      • AmazingBooksWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 7:58 pm
        I have to say, this book is a real page turner! What Happens: In the last book, Dwight Tharp is kicked out of McQuarrie Middle School, And now his friends are losing hope that he will NEVER come back! But then, something amazing happens: Dwight's Next-Door Neighbor, Sara, Claims that Dwight threw a piece of origami out his window in a bag for her! What is it? A fortune wookie! Along with Han Foldo to translate the wookie's growls, Tommy and friends have ANOTHER mystery to solve: WHO IS THE FORTUNE WOOKIE?(Recommended for readers who like comedy/mystery all in one.)
        • deweyduck
          deweyduckMonday, October 15, 2018 at 7:30 pm55 stars
          amazing story, amazing humor, amazing fun!! this is definitely one of my favorite books, and I will definitely not just read it once!! this is my favorite book in series, and the story of Tommy and his friends trying to figure out who is the fortune Wookie, is super cool. ~~Highly recommended by DeweyDuck~~
          • hexexegyjubicy
            hexexegyjubicyFriday, December 1, 2017 at 2:03 pm55 stars
            This Wonderful Book is about a few seventh graders named Dwight, Sara, Harvey and so on. Also some pretty cool things that Dwight does is that he makes some pretty cool finger puppets like The Fortune Wookie, Art2-D2, Han Foldo, Darth Paper and Origami Yoda. The depressing thing about Dwight is that he had to move from school to school like five times.
            • SallThursday, March 2, 2017 at 4:18 pm
              I dont like STAR WARS... BUT this was a pretty good book I really liked it!😄😄😄😄😄
              • thebatman0763
                thebatman0763Thursday, February 9, 2017 at 12:14 pm55 stars
                I read this book because I like the Origami Yoda series.
                • joes
                  joesThursday, June 16, 2016 at 1:57 pm55 stars
                  This book is super awesome. If you like Star Wars it is the book for you.
                  • carterSaturday, April 16, 2016 at 4:51 am
                    i think the book is really really good book
                    • Origami Wednesday, March 30, 2016 at 4:32 pm
                      It is spooky/awsome