The Secret Language of Girls (The Secret Language of Girl Trilogy)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.236077
In the old days, when Kate had no interest in romance, she never cared what other people thought. Now, it appeared, love was turning her into a rotten human being.
Eleven-year-old Kate Faber wishes she could talk to her best friend Marylin about this. But Marylin is no longer her best friend. Or is she? Kate and Marylin had always been the kind of best friends who lived on the same block for their entire lives and who could agree on the kind of boys worth kissing (only movie stars) or who should be invited to their sleepover (definitely not Mazie Calloway or Elinor Pritchard). The kind of best friends who didn't need words to talk, but who always just knew.
But lately Marylin has started to think that Kate can be a bit babyish. And Kate thinks that Marylin is acting like a big snob. And a lot of the time, well, it feels as though they just don't know each other anymore. Somehow nothing is the same, but secretly Kate and Marylin both wish that it could be....
Edgar Award-winning author Frances O'Roark Dowell explores how far the bonds of true friendship can be stretched as Kate and Marylin struggle to navigate the inexplicable terrain of sixth grade.
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on May 1, 2004 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0689844212
ISBN-13: 9780689844218
9 Book Reviews
  • dancenatalie
    dancenatalieTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 7:14 am
    I decided to read this book because the title sounded really interesting. It is a good book because it has lots of drama and friend problems.
    • swatcop
      swatcopWednesday, February 21, 2018 at 7:09 pm55 stars
      So far, I love love LOVE this book. I'm almost done. Just a few more pages to go. I totally recommend reading this book. Over and over and over again
      • bookqueen1o13
        bookqueen1o13Thursday, May 4, 2017 at 6:18 pm55 stars
        this book was ok not much to say about it i did read it all in one night tho its good
        • callaway2005
          callaway2005Monday, January 23, 2017 at 7:38 am
          i am only about 100 pages in but it is an awesome book so far. It's about two girls Marilyn and Kate, they are best friends until a six grader comes into there neighborhood. Kate and Marilyn are in fifth grade. Flannery is the name of the six grader. Flannery is a not so nice girl. Marilyn wants to hang out with Flannery more. But Kate is starting to feel left out. And all of a sudden Flannery and Marilyn start ignoring Kate. Kate started following them but they won't talk to her. But who needed them any way. Finally Kate and Marilyn get together in a poem class alone without Flannery and Kate asked Marylin why she is doing what she is. So Marilyn finally talked and said she was kinda spying on her. and thats all i know about the book so far. Would recommend this book if you like reading about drama. thx
          • boomzoom
            boomzoomSaturday, October 3, 2015 at 9:30 pm44 stars
            This book is very interesting about best friends in middle school. I totally relate this book.. Friend drama man! Tell your friends about this. I loved it! If you like this book I really recommend Are you There God its Me Margaret.
            • volleygal
              volleygalThursday, March 12, 2015 at 8:47 pm
              Great book. I can relate to the girls! I have just finished the sequel, The Kind of Friends We Used to Be. If you have read this book, be sure to read the sequel. Just as awesome!
              • 12315abc
                12315abcTuesday, October 7, 2014 at 5:57 pm55 stars
                i can relate great book
                • gigiann
                  gigiannMonday, June 2, 2014 at 2:55 pm55 stars
                  it was a good book
                  • kenz0880
                    kenz0880Friday, May 30, 2014 at 7:11 am33 stars
                    It was good and worth the read but I wouldn't say it was the best book ever! I ostill think you should read it though!