Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10U6.380398

When Mary Lennox's parents die from cholera in India, the spoiled orphan is transplanted to her uncle's 600-year-old gloomy and secretive estate in England. She is certain that she is destined for misery at Misselthwaite Manor. When Mary meets the old groundskeeper, he is the first to tell her what he thinks of her: "We was wove out of th' same cloth. We're neither of us good lookin' an' we're both of us as sour as we look. We've got the same nasty tempers, both of us, I'll warrant." However, Mary soon discovers an arched doorway into an overgrown garden that has been locked shut since the death of her aunt ten years earlier. Fate grants Mary access to the secret garden and she begins transforming it into a thing of beauty-unaware that she, too, is changing.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on June 1, 2017 by Kappa Books Publishers
ISBN-10: 0766633373
ISBN-13: 9780766633377
71 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ikyra_marie
    ikyra_marieWednesday, February 13, 2019 at 12:00 am
    really cute!
    • aishaMonday, February 11, 2019 at 11:46 am
      I loved it
      • itsmeggydawolf
        itsmeggydawolfWednesday, January 30, 2019 at 10:11 am55 stars
        Its such a great story and it teaches a good lesson
        • annabeth20091
          annabeth20091Friday, August 3, 2018 at 9:00 am55 stars
          It's a good book. I like how it uses traditional Indian language.
          • wiccanbat666
            wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 1:15 pm55 starsFeatured
            I know this book seems out of place among the fare I usually read, but hey, all I can say is that I like what I like. There is some intangible quality to this book that really strikes a chord in me. The whole idea of that sickly child being healed with love, attention, and (forgive me an LDS joke) wholesome recreational activities, just somehow speaks Truth to me. I think this book has strong application to today's problems with the rising generation.
            • SAVANNAH 12Thursday, May 24, 2018 at 9:07 am
              This is a great book ive read it countless times
              • mimi10
                mimi10Monday, December 11, 2017 at 1:31 pm55 stars
                This is a great book! It’s about a girl who discovers life of not being spoiled. She also discovers a key to a garden.
                • klbaek26
                  klbaek26Thursday, August 17, 2017 at 3:45 am55 stars
                  I loved the book Secret Garden!!!!!
                  • awesomeuser
                    awesomeuserMonday, March 20, 2017 at 6:12 pm55 stars
                    I saw the movie and then just had to read the book. I love it so far and totally can't wait to finish it. Bottom line, it's an awesome book!
                    • oreoshershey
                      oreoshersheyMonday, September 26, 2016 at 1:08 pm
                      I love this book it such a beautiful story I feel bad for Mary in the beginning because her parents die but the end is happy.

                      Our Apps and Plugins