The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 2)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.663976

After a summer spent trying to prevent a catastrophic war among the Greek gods, Percy Jackson finds his seventh-grade school year unnervingly quiet. His biggest problem is dealing with his new friend, Tyson-a six-foot-three, mentally challenged homeless kid who follows Percy everywhere, making it hard for Percy to have any "normal" friends.
But things don't stay quiet for long. Percy soon discovers there is trouble at Camp Half-Blood: the magical borders which protect Half-Blood Hill have been poisoned by a mysterious enemy, and the only safe haven for demigods is on the verge of being overrun by mythological monsters. To save the camp, Percy needs the help of his best friend, Grover, who has been taken prisoner by the Cyclops Polyphemus on an island somewhere in the Sea of Monsters, the dangerous waters Greek heroes have sailed for millennia-only today, the Sea of Monsters goes by a new name.the Bermuda Triangle.
Now Percy and his friends-Grover, Annabeth, and Tyson-must retrieve the Golden Fleece from the Island of the Cyclopes by the end of the summer or Camp Half-Blood will be destroyed. But first, Percy will learn a stunning new secret about his family-one that makes him question whether being claimed as Poseidon's son is an honor or simply a cruel joke.

Library Binding, 279 pages
Published on April 1, 2007 by Perfection Learning
ISBN-10: 1606860380
ISBN-13: 9781606860380
313 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • funforlife
    funforlifeWednesday, August 21, 2019 at 3:43 pm55 stars
    this book is amazing!
    • xeta
      xetaTuesday, August 13, 2019 at 8:41 am55 stars
      Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Sea of Monsters was packed with action, adventure, humor and there wasn't a moment when I was bored reading this book.
      • kgautam
        kgautamWednesday, July 31, 2019 at 8:24 am44 stars
        i think this was definitely one of my favorite books in the percy jackson and the olympians series. i really liked the plot of this book, it was very engaging.
        • wolfchildren
          wolfchildrenThursday, June 27, 2019 at 4:16 pm55 stars
          9 year old: Sea of Monsters is a really good book and it's funny, SPOILER ALERT!!!! Percy Jackson gets turned in to a guinea pig!!! Hahaha. But Luke, the bad guy, is a meany face! Percy Jackson is the best book series I've ever read on my own, and Annabeth is my favorite character. 12 year old: Greatest book series ever. I've read all the Rick Riordan books, and it started with these.
          • xx6figuresxx
            xx6figuresxxThursday, June 13, 2019 at 12:46 pm55 stars
            Again just absolutely amazing. :)
            • inmemoryofcpr
              inmemoryofcprWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 7:46 pm55 stars
              Disaster has struck. Camp Half-Blood's special tree has been shot by a deadly arrow, and the protective shield around them disappears. Plus, Chiron, their wonderful activity director, takes the blame. Now Percy and his friends must find and get the golden fleece which can heal anything. But to get it they must endure many hardships and race against time.
              • thepenguin70
                thepenguin70Monday, May 6, 2019 at 10:11 am55 stars
                This book is great. I love it. People should read this book series.
                • tcwgaming
                  tcwgamingSaturday, April 27, 2019 at 8:27 pm55 stars
                  Percy Jackson (or if you want to be all official and stuff: Percyus Jackson, son of Poseidon, the god of the sea) Is constantly struggling to not let his temper get the best of him. He struggles with not getting kicked out of schools (he's been kicked out of 6). He struggles with ADHD (like me xD) and dyslexia. But all that changes when he takes a crazy drive in a mustang to camp Half-Blood. He learns there to fight with swords, and (accidentally) learns how to get rid of bullies like Ares the god of war's kids with toilet water. In this book he is searching for his lost friend grover who, like many other satyrs, was drawn to the golden fleece and now Percy, Annabeth, and a few of their friends are headed to save him.
                  • xx_imhidden_xx
                    xx_imhidden_xxMonday, April 22, 2019 at 12:40 pm55 stars
                    This is a book that got me into reading alot personally I think others should read it.Also may i add Percy Jackson has got me through school alot.I would get bullied then i would go read these books and feel beter.
                    • 123savage
                      123savageThursday, March 21, 2019 at 6:51 am55 stars
                      How can I join a club?