Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a5.096869
Book two in the blockbuster Maze Runner series that spawned a movie franchise and ushered in a worldwide phenomenon! And don’t miss The Fever Code, the highly-anticipated series conclusion that finally reveals the story of how the maze was built!

Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But WICKED isn’t done yet. Phase Two has just begun. The Scorch.
The Gladers have two weeks to cross through the Scorch—the most burned-out section of the world. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.
There are others now. Their survival depends on the Gladers’ destruction—and they’re determined to survive.
Friendships will be tested. Loyalties will be broken. All bets are off.

The Maze Runner and Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials are now major motion pictures featuring the star of MTV's Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster. The third movie, Maze Runner: The Death Cure, will hit screens in 2018.

Also look for James Dashner’s edge-of-your-seat MORTALITY DOCTRINE series!

Praise for the Maze Runner series:

A #1 New York Times Bestselling Series
A USA Today Bestseller
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of the Year
An ALA-YASLA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book
An ALA-YALSA Quick Pick

“[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost.” —EW.com

“Wonderful action writing—fast-paced…but smart and well observed.” Newsday

“[A] nail-biting must-read.” Seventeen.com

“Breathless, cinematic action.” —Publishers Weekly

Heart pounding to the very last moment.” —Kirkus Reviews

Exclamation-worthy.” —Romantic Times

“James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.” —Shelf Awareness, Starred

Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book.” —Deseret News
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on October 12, 2010 by Delacorte Press
ISBN-10: 0385738757
ISBN-13: 9780385738750
79 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lovetoread26
    lovetoread26Wednesday, June 3, 2020 at 7:34 am55 stars
    The "Gladers" thought that everything was back to normal, the terrible things that happened in the Glade were over. Not one of them expected how wrong they would be. Things only got worse. Teresa got switched out for Aris. No food for days. People's heads getting trapped in flying metal. Almost getting killed many times. Betrayal. It is unclear where everyone's loyalties lie, especially Teresa's. This is a tale of chaos, confusion, and mystery. It is much more violent than the first book, but since it's science fiction, that's not necessarily a bad thing. I hope this book keeps you on the edge of your seat, as it did to me.
    • lavoiem
      lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 7:58 pm44 stars
      GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!! It was awesome and I loved the characters so much even tho I’m pretty sure in this book chuck does but I am not sure if I’m getting it mixed up or not. I also just love how suspenseful and mysterious this book is at time but it also still has a lot of adventure that I enjoy a lot and all together it’s just a great mix and comes out as a great book
      • pokemonlover405
        pokemonlover405Wednesday, April 24, 2019 at 9:45 am55 stars
        I love this book filled with so much action in this one the gladers have to get to sanctuary but first have to survive the flare and the cranks
        • soso17970
          soso17970Friday, April 12, 2019 at 7:02 pm44 stars
          This is the second book in the maze runner series. Thomas are the gladers have just escaped the maze, only to be tossed into a horrible dessert that is next to a town infested with the Flare. Many more will perish as they try to make their way to the safe haven. They meet new allies and overcome dangerous obstacles. Not as good as the first book, but a great follow up. My favorite part is the betrayal (or is it).
          • skinnylegs
            skinnylegsThursday, April 11, 2019 at 5:10 am55 stars
            it was an amazing book !!!!
            • armcginn
              armcginnMonday, June 25, 2018 at 12:55 pm55 stars
              Book 2 in the maze runner series; The Scorch Trials, is one of the most amazing books I have ever read in my entire life!, taking place some where in the future after sun flares (solar flares) have struck planet earth, and permanently changed earth's climate and and magnetic force, due to climate change the polar ice caps have melted causing tsunamis and other water related storms to wreck towns and cities near water, leaving a massive desert-like stretch of land between the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn, thanks to the scorch it became a time period of time when there were no longer enough recourses to supply life to the entire human race, due to the fact that soon earth would be out of natural recourses, population control finally stepped in, introducing a virus that would efficiently kill of some of the human race at a controlled rate, painlessly, but unluckily the virus got FAR out of control, as it spread it mutated, causing it to drive those who caught is insane!, soon those who caught it became bloodthirsty, vicious, and murderous!, those who had it became known as cranks, and the virus became known as the Flare. for phase two of the maze trials WICKED (World In Catastrophe Killzone Experiment Department) gives the gladers two weeks to cross the scorch and survive it's crank infested cities and violent thunder storms and reach the safe haven... or die.
              • septembergirl
                septembergirlTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 7:05 pm55 stars
                I always read fiction and thats ok because I find so many books that I love. I can never put these books down there so good.
                • streetfootball
                  streetfootballWednesday, May 23, 2018 at 3:48 pm
                  It's action packed
                  • bookstory14
                    bookstory14Monday, May 7, 2018 at 4:56 pm44 stars
                    LOVE THIS BOOK! I just read it for the first time this year and I LOVED IT SO MUCH! This is NOT the typical science fiction book, it pulls you in and makes you think you are right there.
                    • javoonwu
                      javoonwuThursday, March 29, 2018 at 5:15 am55 stars
                      This book is a adventure book. this marvellous book can let other readers think that they are inside the story. I hope that you are interested in this story book very much and also see the next book about maze runner.