Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.2105365

The New York Times bestselling The School for Good and Evil is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one. Start here to follow Sophie, Agatha, and everyone at school from the beginning!

With her glass slippers and devotion to good deeds, Sophie knows she'll earn top marks at the School for Good and join the ranks of past students like Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Snow White. Meanwhile, Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks and wicked black cat, seems a natural fit for the villains in the School for Evil.

The two girls soon find their fortunes reversed—Sophie's dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School for Good, thrust among handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.

But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are?

Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on May 14, 2013 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062104896
ISBN-13: 9780062104892
299 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lottiestar
    lottiestarWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:40 pm55 stars
    One of my all-time favorites!! This book is amazingg!! It's for those who prefer a mixed genre of romance and thriller.
    • tabicat12
      tabicat12Wednesday, November 11, 2020 at 7:31 am44 stars
      this is a really good book, I really enjoyed reading it. this book is like a fairytale, so if you like fairytale books, I would definitely recommend it.
      • magicalmythical
        magicalmythicalTuesday, September 1, 2020 at 7:55 pm55 stars
        This book is fab!!!!!
        • willowschultz
          willowschultzTuesday, September 1, 2020 at 2:53 pm
          I found the first book of the series a while back, and I loved the series, recently, (2020) the final book came out, ending the saga, if I told you anymore, it would spoil how good it is.
          • starsabove
            starsaboveSunday, July 19, 2020 at 6:55 pm44 stars
            The book essentially taught me that evil is not all bad and good is not all good. The main characters are both "readers " and have found themselves in a place of magic. Their world back home did not have magic, though they have heard if it in their storybooks.
            • waterdroplet
              waterdropletSunday, July 19, 2020 at 6:33 pm55 stars
              I was hooked on to the book by the time I finished the first page. At first I thought that Sophie would go to the good school, and Agatha would go the school for evil. The book throws drama, love, action, plot twists. They all misunderstood the power of friendship!
              • Ravenclaw FanWednesday, July 15, 2020 at 5:00 am
                So good, by far my favorite book series ever 5***** ( stars )
                • catholic
                  catholicSaturday, July 11, 2020 at 3:31 pm55 stars
                  I think this book is very interesting to read about. I said I want to read it because the last time I was starting to read it was on my dads computer and something happened to the computer and my dad had to restart it so I try to get it but I didn't find it. Also i have an other account called lavenderpurple but i haven't put anything in my account.
                  • belle252
                    belle252Sunday, June 14, 2020 at 10:40 pm55 stars
                    This is an amazing book about a school that teaches good and evil, which is nicely put together by the author in lines of attracting words. In it, Agatha and Sophie are kidnapped by the school master and taken to the school- but it feels like a mix up when both of them end up in schools they do not like. As an effect, they want to go home, but that is when the story kicks up a level. Together, Sophie and Agatha must break a curse, and they even accomplish the extraordinary- evil and good become...
                    • roxanne3
                      roxanne3Sunday, June 14, 2020 at 11:31 am
                      This series is so good! So, Agatha ans Sophie are from this town where every 4 years, 2 kids get kidnapped to go to the School for Good and Evil. Everyone knows that Sophie will be Good and Agatha Evil. But really, who knows? Agatha is put in Good and Sophie in Evil!! They don't know what to think. Read this to find out who truly belongs where!!