Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.2105365

The New York Times bestselling The School for Good and Evil is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one. Start here to follow Sophie, Agatha, and everyone at school from the beginning!

With her glass slippers and devotion to good deeds, Sophie knows she'll earn top marks at the School for Good and join the ranks of past students like Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Snow White. Meanwhile, Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks and wicked black cat, seems a natural fit for the villains in the School for Evil.

The two girls soon find their fortunes reversed—Sophie's dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School for Good, thrust among handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.

But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are?

Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on May 14, 2013 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062104896
ISBN-13: 9780062104892
277 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • BeeTree17Wednesday, October 16, 2019 at 7:37 pm
    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!! ITS MY FAVOURITE AND I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE!!!!!!
    • ishcup
      ishcupWednesday, October 16, 2019 at 4:43 pm
      This book was to me one of the best books next to the Land of Stories and Harry Potter! At first, I thought that why had Sophie been dropped into Evil and Agatha dropped in Good? Though later in the book I knew that Sophie belonged in Evil, Because Agatha was always being nice to her and Sophie wasn't treating Agatha as her real friend. I overall this book was fantastic in my opinion.
      • AnnaFriday, October 4, 2019 at 12:41 pm
        This book was amazing
        • 13iamgroot
          13iamgrootFriday, August 9, 2019 at 1:40 pm55 stars
          I really loved this book. It is about two girls who are unlikely friends. One is Good and one is Evil or at least that is what they thought, because it turns out to be the other way around.
          • hedgeguin2
            hedgeguin2Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 3:21 pm44 stars
            The School for Good and Evil is a pretty good book. It’s about Sophie and Agatha, who go off into the forest to find that Agatha, who likes things grim and gloomy, is in the School of Good, and Sophie, who is beautiful and longed for this moment forever, is in the School of Evil. The two know they aren’t in the right schools, just look at them compared to their classmates. But when they try to switch lives, or like Agatha wants, to leave and go home, they find out they can’t. Through an adventure, Agatha and Sophie find who they really are, deep down in their souls. This book is action-packed, with so much detail in it. I reccommend The School for Good and Evil to people who like adventure and surprises! :)
            • applemango
              applemangoTuesday, July 16, 2019 at 2:43 am55 stars
              This is about Sophie and Agatha....Sophie is supposed to go to he nice school and Agatha is supposed to go to the evil school. They get misdropped by birds and soon they must live their story because the storian a pen who writes stories has already started theirs.....then they find the school master's true colors, he is to love Sophie....and he is devilish.....Sophie TURNS EVIL and try's to make a war....Mistaken love for Tedros and fire and fury erupts!!!!!
              • jamieloo
                jamielooMonday, July 8, 2019 at 6:46 am55 stars
                The School for Good and Evil was an absolute favorite for me. No wonder it is a New York Times best seller! It is a story of action, friendship and romance. The character's emotions jump out of the page and makes them relatable. You have go tot read this book.
                • jammn
                  jammnWednesday, July 3, 2019 at 5:46 am55 stars
                  I loved this book! The detail is amazing. Romance, Adventure, Best friends forever(until chapter 3.) ! I give it an A++
                  • My name ajFriday, May 24, 2019 at 4:39 pm
                    Its cool
                    • alex_xxxwolf
                      alex_xxxwolfTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 10:03 am55 stars
                      BEST BOOK EVER-NO READ THE WHOLE SERIES AND YOU'LL FIND OUT.Absolute plot twist!!!Two BFFS and their time to share their story with the magical world they don't know they are living in.Will Sophie find her way to Good?Will Agatha stay in her life as an outsider?Find out in the whole Series of. The School for Good and Evil!