The Runaway King (The Ascendance Trilogy)

Book 2 of 3 in the Ascendance Trilogy Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a5.077363
Just weeks after Jaron has taken the throne, an assassination attempt forces him into a deadly situation. Rumors of a coming war are winding their way between the castle walls, and Jaron feels the pressure quietly mounting within Carthya. Soon, it becomes clear that deserting the kingdom may be his only hope of saving it. But the further Jaron is forced to run from his identity, the more he wonders if it is possible to go too far. Will he ever be able to return home again? Or will he have to sacrifice his own life in order to save his kingdom?
The stunning second installment of The Ascendance Trilogy takes readers on a roller-coaster ride of treason and murder, thrills and peril, as they journey with the Runaway King!
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on March 1, 2013 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545284155
ISBN-13: 9780545284158
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • reader_red
    reader_redSaturday, August 17, 2019 at 8:28 am44 stars
    Jaron is now king and almost immediately there is an assassination attempt on him. Jaron must flee his throne until it is safe to come back. But rumors of war puts a lot of pressure on Jaron.
    • queen_luna
      queen_lunaTuesday, November 27, 2018 at 4:31 pm55 stars
      After the unexpected and incredible plot twist in the first book, this is the perfect follow up with even more adventure and humor. You'll love experiencing more of Sage's sarcasm and his fantastic escapades.
      • reader_red
        reader_redFriday, May 25, 2018 at 3:51 pm44 stars
        REALLY good! First off, Imogen is the best! She is just like crazy good! throughout the whole series I LOVED her. In this book I felt like the plot line was pretty good. But there where a couple things I didn't like.
        • pieWednesday, March 9, 2016 at 8:36 am
          good book
          • elliotl20
            elliotl20Monday, January 25, 2016 at 9:47 pm44 stars
            I was very surprised when I found out that Roden, who was his friend, joined the pirates on an attempt to scare him. I really like the part where the captain of Jaron's guard think that he bested Jaron by making him leave the kingdom and making himself a steward. Jaron then takes matters into his own hands and goes to defeat the pirates. I think that Jaron is my favorite character because he is so bold and he wants the best for his people, and is very selfless, unlike many other people would be if they were kings. I recommend this book, it is action-packed.
            • spinnypeeps
              spinnypeepsSaturday, July 11, 2015 at 2:05 pm44 stars
              Absolutely spellbinding sequel to the "False Prince"! I could never be as great or as reckless as Jaron. I mean, his leg got shattered by a bat but he managed to pick his metal chains, climb the prison out the window, brave the cliff, and win a duel!?!! Impossibly suspenseful, you'll never want to put the book down!
              • mauricio18
                mauricio18Friday, January 16, 2015 at 5:13 am
                I read false prince in 5th grade and my whole class loved it and we even Skype the author then we read the second book but never got to the third thats why i cant wait to read it
                • ilovelogan1180
                  ilovelogan1180Wednesday, May 7, 2014 at 7:44 am11 star
                  How to we read these books
                  • nancydrew963
                    nancydrew963Sunday, September 15, 2013 at 9:27 pm55 stars
                    this series is so goooood i can't wait until the next book comes out!
                    • mintshine
                      mintshineTuesday, July 23, 2013 at 5:05 pm55 stars
                      this is a really good book and it is a continuation of the false prince. It shows Prince Jaron going around town and trying to get revenge on the pirates who "supposedly killed him." Will he? Read the runaway king to find out.