Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.967891

Alistair Cleary is the kid who everyone trusts. Fiona Loomis is not the typical girl next door. Alistair hasn't really thought of her since they were little kids until she shows up at his doorstep with a proposition: she wants him to write her biography. What begins as an odd vanity project gradually turns into a frightening glimpse into the mind of a potentially troubled girl. Fiona says that in her basement, there's a portal that leads to a magical world where a creature called the Riverman is stealing the souls of children. And Fiona's soul could be next. If Fiona really believes what she's saying, Alistair fears she may be crazy. But if it's true, her life could be at risk. In this novel from Aaron Starmer, it's up to Alistair to separate fact from fiction, fantasy from reality.

 
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on March 18, 2014 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374363099
ISBN-13: 9780374363093
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • swirlycool
    swirlycoolThursday, July 30, 2020 at 2:08 pm
    ooh i wanna read this
    • mimi12345678945
      mimi12345678945Thursday, November 17, 2016 at 4:46 pm55 stars
      I loved this book a lot and I think you should read it to.
      • lokuputha
        lokuputhaMonday, November 24, 2014 at 6:00 pm33 stars
        i liked it. it was a realy good book.
        • tinythingsrock
          tinythingsrockTuesday, July 8, 2014 at 1:26 am33 stars
          the riverman was a good book. the end was not very good. it was confusing and there was some violence. the rest of the book was good.
          • kitkatyum
            kitkatyumSaturday, May 31, 2014 at 8:54 am
            best best best book
            • rozeb
              rozebMonday, May 26, 2014 at 7:03 pm22 starsFeatured
              It was really good, beautifully written, it was completely clear, the book had to be written. It has to have Alistair and Fiona. It had to have Aquavania, and Toby, and Fiona had to be 26. Alistair had to be told. It all is a necessary part of this world. Aaron Starmer had to be the author. It ended the way it had to. This book review had to be written. If Aaron Starmer hadn't been born, this world would be at a loss. Everything had to be the way it was. Otherwise, it wouldn't be. I wouldn't be affected in this way, this life, this world. This book, if you don't read it, you weren't meant to. If you do, that doesn't mean you were. I was meant to read this, because my eyes have been refreshed, and everything I see and think is on this way. The Riverman shapes me. If I hadn't read this book, I wasn't meant to. But the fact that I did changed everything.
              • ifeelbookish
                ifeelbookishMonday, May 5, 2014 at 7:35 pm
                Woah, I didn't know that. That's so cool.
                • lokuputha
                  lokuputhaMonday, November 24, 2014 at 6:01 pm33 stars
                  me too
                • otter
                  otterSaturday, May 3, 2014 at 3:29 pm
                  I loved The Only Ones, so I need to read this!
                  • rozeb
                    rozebSunday, May 4, 2014 at 9:07 am22 stars
                    Otter, if you get it, like as your own book, not from the library, can I borrow it?
                    • borntoswim
                      borntoswimSunday, May 4, 2014 at 2:49 pm55 stars
                      You don't need to borrow it! If you ask your parents to send an email to editor@dogonews.com the company will send you copies of all kinds of new books to keep as long as you review it! It is awesome and they always give them to kids that like to read - which judging from all your reviews you definitely do!
                      • ifeelbookish
                        ifeelbookishMonday, May 5, 2014 at 7:33 pm
                        Woah, I didn't know that. That's so cool.
                        • rozeb
                          rozebMonday, May 5, 2014 at 5:53 pm22 stars
                          Thank you!
                    • candyexpress
                      candyexpressSunday, April 27, 2014 at 11:03 am
                      Real good!
                      • borntoswim
                        borntoswimSaturday, April 5, 2014 at 9:34 am55 starsFeatured
                        I just finished reading this book and I LOVED it! It is probably one of my favorite books. It's one of those books that makes you really think and is mysterious until the end. The end was really confusing but amazing at the same time. It is a mix or fantasy, adventure, and mystery. Alistair Cleary lives in Thessaly. He was living a perfectly normal life, until his neighbor, Fiona Loomis, turns it upside down. She claims there is another world called Aquavania where if you wish something it comes true. It's paradise except for one thing-The Riverman. He will steal your story and your soul. Fiona knows kids who have gone missing because of him and now she think she is next. It is a compelling novel, that will keep you questioning until the end.