"We want you to do it again."

These words, spoken to Brian Robeson, will change his life. Two years earlier, Brian was stranded alone in the wilderness for fifty-four days with nothing but a small hatchet. Yet he survived. Now the government wants him to do it again -- to go back into the wilderness so that astronauts and the military can learn the survival techniques that kept Brian alive.

This time he won't be alone: Derek Holtzer, a government psychologist, will accompany him to observe and take notes. But during a freak storm, Derek is hit by lightning and falls into a coma. Their radio transmitter is dead. Brian is afraid that Derek will die of dehydration unless he can get him to a doctor. His only hope is to build a raft and try to transport Derek a hundred miles down the river to a trading post -- if the map he has is accurate.
Paperback, 144 pages
Published on March 13, 2012 by Ember
ISBN-10: 0307929612
ISBN-13: 9780307929617
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • jack4isu
    jack4isuFriday, September 16, 2016 at 10:22 am55 stars
    I thought River was an awesome book because a lot of exciting events happened. I liked when derik got hit by lightning.
    • colinglover
      colingloverThursday, January 28, 2016 at 8:27 am
      It Sounds AWESOME!!!
      • nickster45
        nickster45Tuesday, January 19, 2016 at 2:49 pm
        It's not as good as hatchet
        • happysugar
          happysugarTuesday, October 13, 2015 at 7:14 pm55 stars
          I loved hatchet so i am interested in this book too.
          • blue_swan
            blue_swanSunday, October 19, 2014 at 9:47 am
            I love rivers and adventures so I think this book would be perfect for me and I can't wait to be more into the book.
            • crazykid12
              crazykid12Thursday, March 29, 2012 at 7:06 pm
              best book ever these books really teach u how to survive and have some really good lessons in these books
              • monk
                monkThursday, November 10, 2011 at 8:06 am
                ITS AMAZING I LOVE GARY PAULSEN

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                aracha
                aracha wrote:

                This is one of my favorite books...
                The Truth About Stacey: Full-Col...

                alestr1718
                alestr1718 wrote:

                I'd love to read this.
                Surviving High School: A Novel

                Jake Paul wrote:

                Losers I already read it. Hahaha...
                Wimpy Kid Movie Diary: The Next ...

                Adhgjlggejj wrote:

                I have that book already!!!?!
                The Dragon of Fortune (Geronimo ...