Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grades 4 - 10R5.527563
The government sends Brian back to the Canadian wilderness in this beloved follow-up to the award-winning classic Hatchet from three-time Newbery Honor-winning author Gary Paulsen!

Two years after Brian Robeson survived fifty-four days alone in the Canadian wilderness, the government wants him to head back so they can learn what he did to stay alive. This time Derek Holtzer, a government psychologist, will accompany him. But a freak storm leaves Derek unconscious. Brian's only hope is to transport Derek a hundred miles down the river to a trading post. He's survived with only a hatchet before--now can Brian build a raft and navigate an unknown river?

For the first time it's not only Brian's survival that's at stake. . .


An IRA-CBC Children’s Choice
A Parents Magazine Best Book of the Year


“Vividly written, a book that will, as intended, please the readers who hoped that Paulsen, like Brian, would ‘do it again.’” —Kirkus Reviews

Read all the Hatchet Adventures!
Brian's Winter
The River
Brian's Return
Brian's Hunt
Paperback, 176 pages
Published on March 13, 2012 by Ember
ISBN-10: 0307929612
ISBN-13: 9780307929617
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • kallijadeowens
    kallijadeowensTuesday, January 23, 2018 at 9:38 am55 stars
    It is amazing so far. I would recommend reading the hatchet fist.
    • jack4isu
      jack4isuFriday, September 16, 2016 at 10:22 am55 stars
      I thought River was an awesome book because a lot of exciting events happened. I liked when derik got hit by lightning.
      • colinglover
        colingloverThursday, January 28, 2016 at 8:27 am
        It Sounds AWESOME!!!
        • nickster45
          nickster45Tuesday, January 19, 2016 at 2:49 pm
          It's not as good as hatchet
          • happysugar
            happysugarTuesday, October 13, 2015 at 7:14 pm55 stars
            I loved hatchet so i am interested in this book too.
            • blue_swan
              blue_swanSunday, October 19, 2014 at 9:47 am
              I love rivers and adventures so I think this book would be perfect for me and I can't wait to be more into the book.
              • crazykid12
                crazykid12Thursday, March 29, 2012 at 7:06 pm
                best book ever these books really teach u how to survive and have some really good lessons in these books
                • monk
                  monkThursday, November 10, 2011 at 8:06 am
                  ITS AMAZING I LOVE GARY PAULSEN

                  Recent Kids Book Reviews

                  Mariah Inzunza wrote:

                  12 years a slave a memoir by Sol...
                  12 Years A Slave, Non fiction, T...

                  percyj
                  percyj wrote:

                  Looks so awesome! I'm asking my ...
                  The Meltdown (Diary of a Wimpy K...

                  galaxyme wrote:

                  One of my favorite books. I coul...
                  The Other Side of Dark

                  galaxyme wrote:

                  I think '' Drama" is a really en...
                  Drama

                  Our Apps and Plugins