Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grades 4 - 10R5.527563
The government sends Brian back to the Canadian wilderness in this beloved follow-up to the award-winning classic Hatchet from three-time Newbery Honor-winning author Gary Paulsen!

Two years after Brian Robeson survived fifty-four days alone in the Canadian wilderness, the government wants him to head back so they can learn what he did to stay alive. This time Derek Holtzer, a government psychologist, will accompany him. But a freak storm leaves Derek unconscious. Brian's only hope is to transport Derek a hundred miles down the river to a trading post. He's survived with only a hatchet before--now can Brian build a raft and navigate an unknown river?

For the first time it's not only Brian's survival that's at stake. . .


An IRA-CBC Children’s Choice
A Parents Magazine Best Book of the Year


“Vividly written, a book that will, as intended, please the readers who hoped that Paulsen, like Brian, would ‘do it again.’” —Kirkus Reviews

Read all the Hatchet Adventures!
Brian's Winter
The River
Brian's Return
Brian's Hunt
Hardcover, 132 pages
Published on April 1, 2006 by Listening Library
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 48nation
    48nationWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 8:54 am55 stars
    This book was one of the most exciting books I've ever read. It always had me wanting to stay and read as much as my mind could take. I loved how the author made everything seem like you were there or that you were a part of it.
    • SavannaMooreWednesday, December 19, 2018 at 11:43 am
      I would read Hatchet first, it would make more sense. He is not alone this time. He has a man named Derek Holtzer with him. But on a stormy night Derek reaches for his briefcase and gets struck by lightning and in a coma. Brian had to build a raft and travel the river to a trading post where they are saved. I totally recommend it! 🙂
      • kallijadeowens
        kallijadeowensTuesday, January 23, 2018 at 9:38 am55 stars
        It is amazing so far. I would recommend reading the hatchet fist.
        • jack4isu
          jack4isuFriday, September 16, 2016 at 10:22 am55 stars
          I thought River was an awesome book because a lot of exciting events happened. I liked when derik got hit by lightning.
          • colinglover
            colingloverThursday, January 28, 2016 at 8:27 am
            It Sounds AWESOME!!!
            • nickster45
              nickster45Tuesday, January 19, 2016 at 2:49 pm
              It's not as good as hatchet
              • happysugar
                happysugarTuesday, October 13, 2015 at 7:14 pm55 stars
                I loved hatchet so i am interested in this book too.
                • blue_swan
                  blue_swanSunday, October 19, 2014 at 9:47 am
                  I love rivers and adventures so I think this book would be perfect for me and I can't wait to be more into the book.
                  • crazykid12
                    crazykid12Thursday, March 29, 2012 at 7:06 pm
                    best book ever these books really teach u how to survive and have some really good lessons in these books
                    • monk
                      monkThursday, November 10, 2011 at 8:06 am
                      ITS AMAZING I LOVE GARY PAULSEN