The Rise of Nine (Lorien Legacies, Book 3)

Book 3 of 7 in the Lorien Legacies Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.888014

The third book of the #1 New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series!

The Mogadorians who destroyed the planet Lorien continue to hunt for the Garde, the small group of Loric survivors who have taken refuge on Earth. During a dangerous mission at a Mog base in West Virginia, John found and rescued the brutish Nine. But even with their combined powers, special abilities known as Legacies, the pair barely escaped with their lives. And in the process, John’s best friend, Sam Goode, was lost and taken captive by the enemy.

In order to save him—and our world—John and Nine must join forces with Six and Seven who have been battling the Mogs in Spain, and who are now trying to locate Number Eight in India. The Garde must come together before it is too late. They are Lorien and Earth’s only hope.

Michael Bay, director of Transformers, raved: “Number Four is a hero for this generation.” This epic young adult series is perfect for fans of action-packed science fiction like The Fifth Wave series by Rick Yancey, The Maze Runner series by James Dashner, and Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game.

The battle for Earth’s survival wages on. Read the rest of the series: #4: The Fall of Five, #5: The Revenge of Seven, #6: The Fate of Ten, and #7: United as One.

Don’t miss the first book in the brand new I Am Number Four spin-off series: Generation One.

Hardcover, 360 pages
Published on August 21, 2012 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061974587
ISBN-13: 9780061974588
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kittylover8786
    kittylover8786Saturday, September 30, 2017 at 5:38 am55 stars
    I think this is a really good book and I loved it. This book is when they all come together and team up (SPOLIER ALERT: By book six one of them is dead [to all of you Marina fans out there, don't worry, it's not her] and 2 of them try to kill each other, but fail). to take down all those evil mogs.
    • sugar642
      sugar642Tuesday, April 4, 2017 at 12:04 pm55 stars
      so good!!!!!
      • risa_i
        risa_iThursday, December 24, 2015 at 5:27 am55 starsFeatured
        The Rise of Nine is third book of the series, and the loriens are getting stronger and stronger. Six found seven, eight, and ten while John found nine. They all share the same goal, which is to find one another and fight defeat Setrakus Ra and save both Lorien and Earth. Meanwhile, many challenges came across them and each of the Garde fought hard to defend themselves. They’re growing stronger than ever, they believe that soon enough they’ll be able to win the Mogadorians. This novel is split into three perspectives: John’s perspective, Six’s perspective, and Marina’s perspective. My favorite part is when they all come together and fought Setrakus Ra, the events that happened throughout the battle was extremely entertaining and made me wanted to read on. Also, I really admire Six because she’s really brave and strong, and I like the way how she act in the book and the way she talks. Other than that, I believe that this book gives us an advice, which is that you’ll be so much stronger together rather than alone. Throughout this entire story, they were quite weak when they’re alone, but as they start to find one another, they grew stronger than ever, which shows that how interacting with one another can change a lot. Overall, I really enjoy this book and I’ll suggest this book to readers who are interested in reading genres that’s related to adventure.
        • laurentb
          laurentbWednesday, December 9, 2015 at 4:45 pm55 stars
          The Rise of Nine is the 3rd book of the Lorien Legacies. It is written by Pittacus Lore. I loved this book. I loved the way the author switches perspective between the gardes. This way it makes me look forward to the story. In this book, Four and Nine is caught and imprisoned by the FBI. The FBI somehow had mog weapons so that shows that some humans are working with the mogadorians. All of the gardes had powerful and unique abilities. I liked Nine's ability the most because how cool is it to have super speed AND anti-gravity? Nine is also my favorite character because he is always brave and humorous. I recommend this book to everyone.
          • megank
            megankMonday, September 28, 2015 at 5:08 am55 stars
            The Rise of Nine is the third book of the Lorien Legacies series by Pittacus Lore. I really love this book and I was so into the book that I finished it in one day. I really like how the author uses the different perspective thing to create suspense and to let the readers know what is happening in different settings. In this book, the gardes are starting to come together, while Six, Eight, Marina, Ella, and Crayton are united, John and Nine are captured by the FBI. And Sam is captured by the Mogodorians. My favorite part of the book was when Six was froze by Setrakus Ra and the gardes is trying to fight him. Although all of the characters are really powerful and unique, my favorite character is probably Nine because he is really brave and spontaneous and is willing to take on any challenge. I would recommend everyone to read this book and the whole series because it is full of action, romance, adventures, sci-fi, and magical powers.
            • maggies20
              maggies20Tuesday, September 8, 2015 at 5:18 am55 stars
              I really enjoyed The Rise of Nine, the author did an excellent job describing all the character's adventures. I love how everything is always so exciting and you can never predict what's going to happen next. The entire story is just full of imagination and creativity, when you read the words it almost feels like you're entering a whole new fantasy world and just exploring with the characters. My favorite part of the book would probably be when all the Gardes come together and fight for their homeland. I really recommend everyone to read this book and the rest of the series, especially to those who love action and adventurous stories.
              • jasonl20
                jasonl20Tuesday, September 8, 2015 at 2:11 am55 stars
                The Rise of Nine is about the Loric gardes battling the Mogadorians. The gardes are separated at first but they got back together and work together. The gardes are numbered 1-9. 1-3 already died. 4 and 9 are together at the start of the book while getting to 6,7,8,10 and Crayton. The main character of the book are the gardes but because every of them are important. My favorite character is 9 because 9 is the strongest. 9 has every legacies and he is the biggest hope of Lorien while the biggest threat of the Mogadorians. The characters in the book are hunted and I don't like the feeling of hunted. I like to live a normal life and feel safe. I enjoy the book very much. If I can change something I would want to make Pittacus Lore which is the leader of Lorien alive so the Lorics have more hope and they can understand things more easily.
                • britneyl20
                  britneyl20Wednesday, September 2, 2015 at 5:55 am55 stars
                  I love this book so much! I couldn't stop myself from reading on. There's a new character in here, Number Nine and Ella (number 10). By far I love the character number six, she's full of power, just like a superwoman. If i could be one of the character with the super powers I want to have the legacy of able to turn myself invisible, healing others, and telekinesis! That will be so awesome and cool. This book is worth reading it'll make you fascinated and amazed! I totally love it!
                  • kimeu
                    kimeuMonday, September 30, 2013 at 1:58 pm
                    The Rise of Nine is arguably the best book series I've ever read. Note that this is the third book of the series and revolves mainly around Four and Six's point of view. Like in each book in the I Am Number Four Series, this book starts with a hook and ends with a cliffhanger-so don't read if your not one of those people who love to have fun. The precedent, The Power of Six, finished where Sam was trapped inside the Mogadorian's hideout and Nine and Four are escaping from it- but that's all I can go to without spoiling everything. I guess, have fun reading.
                    • black_whitepand
                      black_whitepandSaturday, March 9, 2013 at 4:27 pm55 stars
                      An awesome book but you have got to read I am number four and the rise of six firt otherwise you wont understand any of it.