Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5R4.931355
Nora is a brilliant 5th grader who doesn't want anyone to know how intelligent she is because she doesn't want to be thought of as different. When she brings home a bad report card to prove a point, the story really takes off!
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307284824
ISBN-13: 9780307284822
42 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • blossomreader
    blossomreaderFriday, July 10, 2020 at 2:27 pm55 stars
    Any book by Andrew Clements for kids is awesome, including this one. Nora is a genius, but she doesn't want anyone to know. People would make a big deal about it and she just didn't want it. Now she has made it to 5th grade without anyone knowing her secret. But then she makes the mistake of getting terrible grades on her report card, and then things start to unravel. Will Nora manage to keep her secret, or has she just let the cat out of the bag?
    • belle252
      belle252Tuesday, May 26, 2020 at 11:44 pm55 stars
      Nora has one very important secret in life that she keeps from everyone- She is a very smart genius. She shows herself as an average student with B's,C'S, and D's. But when people in her school start getting discouraged- she brings home a report card filled with D's to prove a point. Everyone launches a massive effort to see what is wrong- and Nora's plan flops- her genius side is exposed. But she and Stephen make another plan and together they teach us a very important lesson- grades do not matter; bad grades don't mean anything except a chance to improve. Clements teaches a valuable less to readers that they will remember forever in this sensational story.
      • inmemoryofcpr
        inmemoryofcprSaturday, July 20, 2019 at 8:37 am55 stars
        Nora Rose has always been different. As a genius, she struggles to keep her grades low so nobody will know. But when the secret is soon found out, Nora must encounter some problems. I would recommend this for ages 9+ This book was so awesome apple sauce!!!! I would recommend this if you like fish in a tree or counting by 7s. This is a must read.
        • lol183
          lol183Monday, January 29, 2018 at 8:56 am
          Are you looking for a funny book? This book will give you a few laughs! The story of Nora, always getting good grades, doesn't want to be seen as someone who is different from the others. When she brings home a different mark than always, the story gets interesting! I recommend this book for grades 2+.
          • unicorn12345
            unicorn12345Wednesday, January 24, 2018 at 8:51 am
            Are you looking for a funny book. then you should read the report card. this is a book about a girl named Nora and her report card. Nora gets D's on her report card, but she is actually is a really smart kid. But she dose not wont anyone to know that. do you think her teachers and parents will find out
            • crazycatemilia
              crazycatemiliaWednesday, January 24, 2018 at 8:50 am
              Are you looking for a good,funny book well then ''The Report Card'' is the book for you! It's about a girl named Nora who has a best friend named Stephen.Nora gets some very bad marks on her report card but why? Did she do it on purpose? Or is she just not very smart? if you want to I'd read the book. I recomend this book for ages 8+ because if younger kids read it then they might do the same thing that Nora does in the book if you want to know what she does then you should proboly read this book.
              • panda_17
                panda_17Wednesday, January 24, 2018 at 8:43 am
                Are you looking for a book that is entertaining and has a few good laghs, if you are then you should read the book "The Report Card." This book is about a 5th grader named Nora Rose Rowley. Nora is a very smart girl. But she has keepen her speacal talet a secret for her whole life... not even her parents know that the have such a smart girl. But when she gets her report card she gets all D's and 1 C. If you want to know whay she got those bad grades then you will just have to read the book. I would recomend this book for ages 8-10.
                • Sophia 0:Tuesday, November 22, 2016 at 9:03 am
                  The book I am reviewing is The Report Card by Andrew Clements. I would definitely recommend this book because it is exciting and very interesting. This book is about an eleven year old named Nora who pretended she was average but was really a genius. I would recommend this book to 4th-5th graders. There isn't much action but I really like this book.
                  • swirlycool
                    swirlycoolSunday, August 28, 2016 at 1:50 pm55 stars
                    This book was interesting to me because WHO wants bad grades?! She had some good cause for the Ds and the one C. But, this book was SUPER GOOD. I couldn't put it down. Trust me. Though, if I were Nora, I would've just done my best, and told the principal about everything. You get good grades to move on to the next grade, which means you can see your friends in your grade if they did good, too. You get good grades to make your parents or whoever you live with happy.
                    • swirlycool
                      swirlycoolMonday, August 15, 2016 at 3:48 pm55 stars
                      Nora Rose Rowley is a genius, but then she tries to get all her grades D, her spelling is C. She tried to get them all Ds because of her best friend, Stephan. I'm still reading this book, I'll update my review when I'm finished! So far, I love this book!