Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on January 8, 2019 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN-10: 1250196701
ISBN-13: 9781250196705
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bsc
    bscTuesday, September 15, 2020 at 8:23 am55 stars
    Coyote lives with her dad, Rodeo, (but don't call him dad) in an old school bus. Her mom and sisters died in a car accident and they left behind their old life. When she calls her grandma, and finds out that they're digging up the park in her old hometown where she and her mother and sisters hid a time capsule, she has to go back to Montana. She meets some people and to-be friends and are making their way each, to their destination. Can Coyote get back in time before the time capsule is destroyed? I give this book 5 stars, and there is a lot of cuss words, so readers above 9 would be good.
    • animal lover Saturday, May 9, 2020 at 9:23 pm
      This was a SUPER good book...I don't even know where to start saying how good it is. It's about a girl named Coyote Sunrise ( she got to change her own name) who lives in a school bus- turned- RV with her kind but alcoholic dad, Rodeo. The story begins with Coyote offering a Slushie to a boy at a gas station. She ends up with a mute kitten named Ivan, who should be counted as a main character. After a disturbing phone call from her grandma, she convinces Rodeo to drive her home to Montana, and picks up the help of a musician named Lester. After a close run- in with the police, she gives Salvador Vega and his mom a ride. Throughout the book, more and more people and animals hitch a ride, including Salvador's aunt, a car repair woman named Tammy, a goat named Gladys, and so on. But when they reach her destination, Coyote finds that a policeman, a bulldozer, and Rodeo could take everything she's come for: a shoe box. Why is a box so important? Well, her mom and sisters died years ago, and she will lose all her memories of them if she does not FIND THAT BOX. This book made me cry even though I am very meh in terms of facial expressions. It's jam-packed with quirky people, sadness, joy, action, and Slushies, and will make you laugh, cry, and shudder every second! I love this book, and this is definitely Dan Gemeinhart's best book!
      • roxanne3
        roxanne3Friday, March 6, 2020 at 6:25 pm55 stars
        I don't even know where I should start. The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise had me laughing, tearing up, smiling, blocking out the rest of the world, then finally crying my eyes out!! First, any book with 'hippies' like these is truly remarkable, and I love the entire crew, animals included. There are definitely some books that make you go "oh, I really liked this!! It might be an new favorite!!" but then forget all about it the next day. This was not one of these books. This book, I cannot even describe in words like those. This is just straight up BEAUTIFUL. I recommend this, and other books by Dan Gemeinhart, to any fellow reader who can stand a bit of heartbreak!!!!!!!!!!!! I'd give this 6 stars if I could!!!!!!!
        • avascooperia
          avascooperiaFriday, February 7, 2020 at 3:15 pm44 stars
          This book is so good right now. I really love the sweet back story of Coyote and Rodeo! This is a must read!
          • cbbb
            cbbbMonday, February 3, 2020 at 9:03 am55 starsFeatured
            The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise is maybe the best book I've ever read, and I am a VERY picky reader! Dan Geimenhart, the author, has writing that is so compelling! Every chapter leaves you crying out for more, and every plot twist (and believe me, there are a lot) has you slack-jawed. The author begins our story telling us about a girl and her father, the only remnants, however shattered, of a once whole family. After the mother and other two sisters died in a car crash, the father and daughter fled their home and started a new life on a renovated school bus. They have been living there for five years, and they are happy- or at least satisfied- with this lifestyle until the girl, Coyote, hears that a forest that holds a memory box of hers is being destroyed. She has to get to the forest and find the box before it is dug up and destroyed! Her father will absolutely, no way no how, take her there, though, so how will she get there? The answer is found with Salvador, Esperanza, Concepcion, Lester, Tammy, Ivan, and Gladys. I liked how there are many funny parts in the book and many heart-throbbing parts. I did not like how to book wasn't long enough- there was not a 'ten years later' section where we get to see all the characters again, doing well. Thank you Dan Geimenhart for writing this!
            • angelica_schylr
              angelica_schylrThursday, January 30, 2020 at 1:55 pm55 stars
              I just finished TRJOCS for my book club, and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone! Told from the perspective of a girl called Coyote Sunrise, Dan Geimenhart spins a tale of a girl and her father who live on a bus. Five years ago, the rest of their family died. Coyote's mother and her two sisters were too painful to discuss, so Coyote's father bought a school bus and abandoned their old home. Ever since, they have been traveling the country. Soon, Coyote learns of something special being destroyed back in her hometown. She must get her father to drive there- without him realizing where he's going- in one week. Thankfully, she has the help of one musician in a rocky relationship, two kind Latino women, a wise cat, a boy her age, and Gladys. Oh, Gladys. I loved how in some places, you want to laugh like crazy, and in some places you want to sob until you die. The only thing I can honestly say I disliked is that there is not a sequel😆! The best part of the book is by far every part.
              • ginger210
                ginger210Saturday, August 17, 2019 at 9:09 am55 stars
                I loved this book! It has an amazing ending and I wanted to keep reading it! It is such a heart-warming story and I think it is great for kids 9-13. I love the idea of living on a bus, I think it's so cool! I recommend this book! I hope you like it!
                • imabookworm3
                  imabookworm3Friday, August 9, 2019 at 9:46 am44 stars
                  I decided to read this book because it looked and sounded interesting. It was pretty good a little on the heartbreaking side though, you should read it.