Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a

There once was a young girl, who was pretty but poor, so poor she had to go barefoot. Her name was Karen. She loved to dance. When Karen becomes an orphan, her great aunt takes her in. One day on a shopping trip, she is bought a beautiful pair of red shoes. The shoes magically come to life and steer Karen down a path she would never have imagined in her wildest dreams, or nightmares. This fresh take on the Hans Christian Andersen classic "The Red Shoes" is a tale of hope, obsession and guilt, retold and lavishly illustrated by Eisner award nominated Metaphrog.
This volume also includes Metaphrog's adaptation of the Hans Christian Andersen classic, "The Little Match Girl" and an original story, "The Glass Case".

Hardcover, 64 pages
Published on November 10, 2015 by Papercutz
ISBN-10: 1629912832
ISBN-13: 9781629912837
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lionel123
    lionel123Saturday, September 3, 2016 at 11:56 am55 stars
    i like how it has imaginary things. I like how the doll came to life. I like how it has magic.I like how it has monsters.
    • 400bella
      400bellaTuesday, August 23, 2016 at 1:37 pm33 stars
      This book was not the best book but it was still realy cool now I own this book! I can not wait to read other books by this auther!
      • faitharina101
        faitharina101Sunday, August 21, 2016 at 9:22 pm
        Wow.Just wow. LOL i kept pushing the forward button and was like what!? Then I realied it was over. I was like darn!
        • snicker9
          snicker9Sunday, August 21, 2016 at 12:24 pm22 stars
          The Red Shoes is about a girl named Karen who loves to dance. After her mother dies she goes to live with her aunt, who buys her a pair of beautiful red ballet shoes. But once Karen puts on the shoes she can't stop dancing. So her aunt locks the shoes away. But when her aunt gets sick Karen puts the shoes on and can't get them off. The only way she can get them off is to cut off her feet. The other two stories, the Glass Case and the Little Match Girl are not nearly as long, and I enjoyed those more. I think that the publisher of this book was trying to make it so the stories wouldn't be horrific, and they would be more mellow so they would be appropriate for younger audiences. I give this book 2 stars because I like the original stories, I just don't like how they were portrayed in this graphic novel.
          • strawberry1234
            strawberry1234Thursday, July 28, 2016 at 12:17 pm55 stars
            This book is kinda of like James and the giant peach it like when james get the little green things his dream come trues. And in this book a girl bought her shoes and she was not sad
            • hullo
              hulloWednesday, July 27, 2016 at 8:35 am33 stars
              This was good in a weird way. There are three stories in it and they all end in a strange way. It's cool but it is short. Read it.
              • coreycole
                coreycoleTuesday, July 26, 2016 at 11:47 am33 stars
                i read this on a road ttrip. its another one my mom put in the pile she said its alot of stories theres always something new in there. there were different stories but they werent really new or different. it was like one book they chopped out parts and made short stories or blurbs about them and then made it one book
                • zorba
                  zorbaTuesday, July 26, 2016 at 11:07 am11 star
                  This book was interesting, I didn't enjoy it very much, but it was about a young and pretty girl named Karen. She was poor and had no shoes and the loved to dance. She becomes and orphan and she goes to live with her great aunt. One day on a shopping trip, she is bought a beautiful pair of red shoes. The shoes magically come to life and take Karen down a path she never would have imagined in her wildest dreams, or nightmares. This book was okay, it was not something I would normally read, but it was interesting.
                  • sr05885
                    sr05885Thursday, July 21, 2016 at 10:12 am55 stars
                    This book was great.I have read many other Red shoes retellings but this one was awesome.Ithe is about a poor girl named Karen and she loves to dance and then gets red shoes
                    • acholguin
                      acholguinThursday, July 14, 2016 at 2:45 pm33 stars
                      This story is kind of sad. The first story includes a girl who loves to dance but she is very poor and has to walk around barefoot. One day she's going shopping and someone sells her magical red shoes. Once she starts dancing with the shoes she cannot stop. She keeps dancing and dancing until she gets to an executioners house. At this house she asks him to cut off her legs since the shoes won't come off. She then has to walk on crutches and get mechanical feet.