Since his mother’s death six years ago, Carter Kane has been living out of a suitcase, traveling the globe with his father, the brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane. But while Carter’s been homeschooled, his younger sister, Sadie, has been living with their grandparents in London. Sadie has just what Carter wants — school friends and a chance at a “normal” life. But Carter has just what Sadie longs for—time with their father. After six years of living apart, the siblings have almost nothing in common. Until now.

On Christmas Eve, Sadie and Carter are reunited when their father brings them to the British Museum, with a promise that he’s going to “make things right.” But all does not go according to plan: Carter and Sadie watch as Julius summons a mysterious figure, who quickly banishes their father and causes a fiery explosion.

Soon Carter and Sadie discover that the gods of Ancient Egypt are waking, and the worst of them—Set—has a frightening scheme. To save their father, they must embark on a dangerous journey—a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and its links to the House of Life, a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on August 16, 2011 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423113454
ISBN-13: 9781423113454
185 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • liv11
    liv11Tuesday, December 19, 2017 at 12:11 pm55 stars
    I love this book so much!!!!! It is really cool how the author writes and it interferes with other series I've read
    • coolkat2007
      coolkat2007Saturday, October 7, 2017 at 8:56 pm55 stars
      Hi guys! I am 10 years old, and I loved this book. Interesting. Asta la vista people. Hey yooooooooiooooo. Boy bai.
      • 04721671
        04721671Thursday, September 21, 2017 at 3:08 pm55 stars
        I liked this book very much. I liked how the author based this book and series off of the gods of other countries just as he did with the Percy Jackson series.
        • ginnymweasley
          ginnymweasleySunday, July 30, 2017 at 5:33 pm55 stars
          Although Carter and Sadie Kane are siblings, if they were standing in the same room you would never know. Not to mention the fact that Sadie and Carter have been separated ever since their mom died, Carter going with their dad to study Egypt and Sadie living with their grandparents in England. When their dad takes Carter to see Sadie and brings them to the British museum, they see that their father wants more than ever to bring their mom back. Toss in a few monsters, some angry Egyptian Gods, and a good dose of Egyptian magic, and suddenly Carter and Sadie are on a quest to get their dad back without getting killed themselves. This book is awesome and I totally recommend it!
          • kimsam123
            kimsam123Sunday, July 16, 2017 at 9:40 pm44 stars
            Sadie and Carter Kane are quest explorers. They learn about ancient Egyptians and the gods. Read the series, because you never know what might happen!
            • borntoswim19
              borntoswim19Tuesday, July 11, 2017 at 9:05 am
              I just finished reading this book and I thought this book was amazing. It was funny, and I learned a lot of new things about the Egyptian culture. The story was about 2 siblings, Sadie and Carter Kane. Their dad was imprisoned in a tomb and was taken away somewhere. Carter and Sadie must save the world before the Demon Days are over. Over the course of their journey, they get help from many people like, Uncle Amos, Bast, Zia, Anubis, and Thoth. I would recommend this book to people who like Egyptian culture, and magic. 😄 😄 😄 😄 😄 😄
              • cheyanne5262
                cheyanne5262Tuesday, March 14, 2017 at 5:51 am55 stars
                because it is by my favorite author his name is rick riordan and he makes some of the best books ever.
                • bookworker
                  bookworkerWednesday, January 11, 2017 at 1:23 pm33 stars
                  I like this book however it is not as good as his other books. As in Rick Riordan.
                  • kammysilly24
                    kammysilly24Friday, September 30, 2016 at 11:06 am55 starsFeatured
                    I decided t read this book because I read almost all of Rick Riordan's books and I wanted to read the Kane Chronicles so I read the first book in the series. This book was about two siblings (Sadie and Carter Kane) and Carter and his dad went to England to go get Sadie.( who lives with her grandparents) the plan was for the three of them to have a good summer together but that didnt happen at all. After Sadie gets picked up the dad took them to a museum in England and the dad starts a ritual in the museum and then he gets taken away so now the siblings have to work together to get their dad back. I liked this book because it is a mystery and when ever you think you know what is going to happen something different happens.
                    • creeperlover101
                      creeperlover101Sunday, April 3, 2016 at 7:04 am55 stars
                      This book is about Ancient Egypt, but talks about so much more! I loved this book so much, I would take it with me everywhere! Once I found out there was a second book, I freaked out! I HAD TO READ IT!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Braelynn Nicole wrote:

                      This is an awesome book for kids...
                      How to Draw Emojis: A Step by St...

                      jtd
                      jtd wrote:

                      Best book series ever
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1

                      cool wrote:

                      this book is cool and the movie
                      Wonder

                      catslovewaffles

                      Karen is facing some hard change...
                      It's Not the End of the World