The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chronicles, Book 1)

Book 1 of 3 in the The Kane Chronicles Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.5124305

Since his mother’s death six years ago, Carter Kane has been living out of a suitcase, traveling the globe with his father, the brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane. But while Carter’s been homeschooled, his younger sister, Sadie, has been living with their grandparents in London. Sadie has just what Carter wants — school friends and a chance at a “normal” life. But Carter has just what Sadie longs for—time with their father. After six years of living apart, the siblings have almost nothing in common. Until now.

On Christmas Eve, Sadie and Carter are reunited when their father brings them to the British Museum, with a promise that he’s going to “make things right.” But all does not go according to plan: Carter and Sadie watch as Julius summons a mysterious figure, who quickly banishes their father and causes a fiery explosion.

Soon Carter and Sadie discover that the gods of Ancient Egypt are waking, and the worst of them—Set—has a frightening scheme. To save their father, they must embark on a dangerous journey—a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and its links to the House of Life, a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on August 16, 2011 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423113454
ISBN-13: 9781423113454
182 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • ginnymweasley
    ginnymweasleySunday, July 30, 2017 at 5:33 pm55 stars
    Although Carter and Sadie Kane are siblings, if they were standing in the same room you would never know. Not to mention the fact that Sadie and Carter have been separated ever since their mom died, Carter going with their dad to study Egypt and Sadie living with their grandparents in England. When their dad takes Carter to see Sadie and brings them to the British museum, they see that their father wants more than ever to bring their mom back. Toss in a few monsters, some angry Egyptian Gods, and a good dose of Egyptian magic, and suddenly Carter and Sadie are on a quest to get their dad back without getting killed themselves. This book is awesome and I totally recommend it!
    • kimsam123
      kimsam123Sunday, July 16, 2017 at 9:40 pm44 stars
      Sadie and Carter Kane are quest explorers. They learn about ancient Egyptians and the gods. Read the series, because you never know what might happen!
      • borntoswim19
        borntoswim19Tuesday, July 11, 2017 at 9:05 am
        I just finished reading this book and I thought this book was amazing. It was funny, and I learned a lot of new things about the Egyptian culture. The story was about 2 siblings, Sadie and Carter Kane. Their dad was imprisoned in a tomb and was taken away somewhere. Carter and Sadie must save the world before the Demon Days are over. Over the course of their journey, they get help from many people like, Uncle Amos, Bast, Zia, Anubis, and Thoth. I would recommend this book to people who like Egyptian culture, and magic. 😄 😄 😄 😄 😄 😄
        • cheyanne5262
          cheyanne5262Tuesday, March 14, 2017 at 5:51 am55 stars
          because it is by my favorite author his name is rick riordan and he makes some of the best books ever.
          • bookworker
            bookworkerWednesday, January 11, 2017 at 1:23 pm33 stars
            I like this book however it is not as good as his other books. As in Rick Riordan.
            • kammysilly24
              kammysilly24Friday, September 30, 2016 at 11:06 am55 starsFeatured
              I decided t read this book because I read almost all of Rick Riordan's books and I wanted to read the Kane Chronicles so I read the first book in the series. This book was about two siblings (Sadie and Carter Kane) and Carter and his dad went to England to go get Sadie.( who lives with her grandparents) the plan was for the three of them to have a good summer together but that didnt happen at all. After Sadie gets picked up the dad took them to a museum in England and the dad starts a ritual in the museum and then he gets taken away so now the siblings have to work together to get their dad back. I liked this book because it is a mystery and when ever you think you know what is going to happen something different happens.
              • creeperlover101
                creeperlover101Sunday, April 3, 2016 at 7:04 am55 stars
                This book is about Ancient Egypt, but talks about so much more! I loved this book so much, I would take it with me everywhere! Once I found out there was a second book, I freaked out! I HAD TO READ IT!
                • isaks
                  isaksTuesday, March 22, 2016 at 3:53 am55 stars
                  This book is a very interesting book for all ages. This book has lots of action and very exciting plots and great back stories. There are some extremely cool events that are definitely worth reading about. As you will hopefully read about in this book the adventurers are spectacular. As you will find this book has 2 main characters, Carter and Sadie will go on some really cool adventures together. So what are you waiting for, go ahed and read the book while its still on your mind.
                  • supershmavin
                    supershmavinMonday, February 29, 2016 at 3:24 pm
                    I love when Carter gets the epic sword.
                    • supershmavin
                      supershmavinMonday, February 29, 2016 at 3:24 pm
                      BEST BOOK EVER

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      annaleigh wrote:

                      is this a good book for a high s...
                      The DUFF: (Designated Ugly Fat F...

                      krazymoose wrote:

                      I finished fnaf 5
                      Five Nights at Freddy's: The Sil...

                      fKAWA4894 wrote:

                      okaaaaaa
                      I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacie...

                      howlergirl
                      howlergirl wrote:

                      This book isn't exactly a story ...
                      My Weird But True Fact-a-Day Fun...