Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.5124305

Since his mother’s death six years ago, Carter Kane has been living out of a suitcase, traveling the globe with his father, the brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane. But while Carter’s been homeschooled, his younger sister, Sadie, has been living with their grandparents in London. Sadie has just what Carter wants — school friends and a chance at a “normal” life. But Carter has just what Sadie longs for—time with their father. After six years of living apart, the siblings have almost nothing in common. Until now.

On Christmas Eve, Sadie and Carter are reunited when their father brings them to the British Museum, with a promise that he’s going to “make things right.” But all does not go according to plan: Carter and Sadie watch as Julius summons a mysterious figure, who quickly banishes their father and causes a fiery explosion.

Soon Carter and Sadie discover that the gods of Ancient Egypt are waking, and the worst of them—Set—has a frightening scheme. To save their father, they must embark on a dangerous journey—a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and its links to the House of Life, a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on August 16, 2011 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423113454
ISBN-13: 9781423113454
235 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • slytherinfan
    slytherinfanWednesday, August 29, 2018 at 1:12 pm55 stars
    Since their mother's death, Carter and Sadie have barely seen each other. While Sadie lived with her grandparents in London, her brother has traveled the world with their father, a person who studies Egyptology, the study of Egypt. But one night, their father brings them together for an experiment at the British Museum, where he hopes to set things right for his family. Instead, he unleashes an Egyptian god, and- read more to find out!! #AMAZING!!
    • hufflepuffhomie
      hufflepuffhomieTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 10:03 pm44 stars
      I love this book! I am currently doing a book report on this, and so far it's really good! I love the humor Rick Riordan puts in every single one of his books!
      • fossilfury
        fossilfuryTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 8:37 pm55 stars
        Great book! It adds a perfect amount of action, I love it! This is the first in the series. Rick Riordan really makes amazing books.
        • auntieb
          auntiebMonday, August 27, 2018 at 8:56 pm55 stars
          The Red Pyramid is an amazing book about two siblings who live separately and get to see each other once a year on Christmas, then on Christmas Eve when Carter and his father visit Sadie and go to the British Muesum to look at an artifact because of their Egyptologist father. When he suddenly makes the Rosetta Stone explode and the Egyptian gods Isis and Horus escape and enter Sadie and Carter adventure ensues to protect the planet from the evil god Set who was also released from the Rosetta Stone!
          • snicker9
            snicker9Wednesday, August 22, 2018 at 6:50 pm33 stars
            Carter Kane has been traveling the world with their Egyptologist father for years while his little sister Sadie has been living with their grandparents. Each want what the other has. After living 6 years apart they are reunited with their father whom before their eyes is taken by a mysterious figure. They learn that the gods of Ancient Egypt are waking and to save their father they must go on a dangerous quest. This wasn't my favorite of Rick Riordan's book series, I preferred the Percy Jackson books, but it will still decent, and I think most Rick Riordan fans will like it. I rate this book 3 out of 5 stars.
            • ilikebunnies
              ilikebunniesMonday, August 20, 2018 at 9:54 am33 stars
              So far this is a good book. i like how Carter and Sadie are on an adventure to save their dad from one of the gods.
              • demigod3000
                demigod3000Thursday, August 16, 2018 at 4:21 pm55 stars
                The Red Pyramid and all the other books in the Kane Chronicles are amazing! They are about Carter and Sadie Kane who live in the world of Egyptian mythology. They must battle monsters and gods-befriend heroes and talking baboons-this book is a must read for any Percy Jackson or Rick Riordan fan.
                • selina
                  selinaTuesday, August 14, 2018 at 11:50 am55 stars
                  After their mother died in an unknown accident, Sadie and Carter Kane hardly know each other. Sadie lives in London with her grandparents and Carter travels the world with their father, the famous Dr. Julius Kane. When Dr. Kane takes the siblings to an to the British Museum to learn about Ancient Egypt, he accidentally releases Set. Now Sadie and Carter must run for their lives while the figure out how to end this mess.
                  • jwarne
                    jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:28 pm55 stars
                    I LOVE Rick Riordan's books. Especially this one. It's really big, so I was a little intimidated at first, but once I started reading it it went by really fast because the story is really compelling. It's full of action and suspense.
                    • readwriter
                      readwriterMonday, August 6, 2018 at 12:28 pm55 stars
                      As with all Rick Riordan books, The Red Pyramid was impossible to stop reading! It was suspenseful and heart-wrenching, and just amazing! I loved it so much!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      prestyu
                      prestyu wrote:

                      This is the first Geronimo Stilt...
                      Singing Sensation (Geronimo Stil...

                      hellgirl10981

                      this seems pretty cool? jk, i L...
                      Dark Lord: The Early Years

                      hellgirl10981

                      ummmm, who were the invaders aga...
                      Boxers (Boxers & Saints)

                      pdawg272
                      pdawg272 wrote:

                      this book looks alright i like it.
                      The Sword Thief (The 39 Clues, B...

                      Our Apps and Plugins