Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.5124305

Since his mother’s death six years ago, Carter Kane has been living out of a suitcase, traveling the globe with his father, the brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane. But while Carter’s been homeschooled, his younger sister, Sadie, has been living with their grandparents in London. Sadie has just what Carter wants — school friends and a chance at a “normal” life. But Carter has just what Sadie longs for—time with their father. After six years of living apart, the siblings have almost nothing in common. Until now.

On Christmas Eve, Sadie and Carter are reunited when their father brings them to the British Museum, with a promise that he’s going to “make things right.” But all does not go according to plan: Carter and Sadie watch as Julius summons a mysterious figure, who quickly banishes their father and causes a fiery explosion.

Soon Carter and Sadie discover that the gods of Ancient Egypt are waking, and the worst of them—Set—has a frightening scheme. To save their father, they must embark on a dangerous journey—a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and its links to the House of Life, a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on August 16, 2011 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423113454
ISBN-13: 9781423113454
214 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • unicorn992
    unicorn992Tuesday, June 19, 2018 at 6:08 pm33 stars
    this was ok. it was really good in the beginning but it got more and more boring as it got to the end. i would not recommend this.
    • heghog
      heghogTuesday, June 19, 2018 at 5:43 pm33 stars
      i read this book and in the end it got rather uninteresting. i didnt want to finish it but i did but it was very entertaining in the beginning
      • eybook2018
        eybook2018Monday, June 18, 2018 at 11:49 am55 stars
        The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chronicles, Book 1) is a funny and mysterious book at the same time. And I can not wait to read the rest of the series.
        • iikitty
          iikittySunday, June 17, 2018 at 9:04 am44 stars
          I read some of it, and its really good (just a summary). Its by one of my favorite authors who wrote it (Rick Riordan) who also made the 39 Clues series, which I almost finished.
          • applemango
            applemangoSaturday, June 16, 2018 at 8:31 pm55 stars
            This book has been a book that I didn't read for a long time until dogo news came to its rescue!!This book I realized is one of the best books ever in worlds history. I don't even have words of how I just love this book!!
            • rrwwnn
              rrwwnnFriday, May 25, 2018 at 6:49 pm
              Two siblings separated after their mother`s death, Carter and Sadie Kane continue to line close to normal lives after their dad visits them they go to a museum to find that they were going to explode stones and witness their father`s death. after their strange uncle takes them and explains that they are the descendants of the Egyptian gods.
              • snoopyxd
                snoopyxdThursday, May 24, 2018 at 7:56 pm55 stars
                This is a great book for anyone who likes mythology and adventure. The action and suspense makes you keep reading to find out what is going to happen next.
                • penguin313
                  penguin313Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 6:40 pm55 stars
                  The first book in Riordan's Egyptian mythology, two demigod siblings who have barely seen each other in years have to team up with a cat goddess to save the world from mythological threats.
                  • bailey2005
                    bailey2005Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 9:28 am55 stars
                    This is such a good book! I had read Rick Riordan's other books and loved them, so I wasn't sure if the Red Pyramid would be as good and whether I would get into them, but I did! The characters are so funny, and it makes me laugh! I recommend it!
                    • ipotter1
                      ipotter1Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 11:00 am55 stars
                      THIS BOOK IS THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can not wait to see what happens with Set and Apophis! The part about Zia is so sad. I wonder want Carter will do!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      extrememsb
                      extrememsb wrote:

                      This story is about a fifth grad...
                      Gertie's Leap to Greatness

                      extrememsb
                      extrememsb wrote:

                      Ever think if trees can talk? Me...
                      Wishtree

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I really enjoyed reading this bo...
                      Untamed: The Wild Life of Jane G...

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I always enjoy reading these boo...
                      Bad Kitty