Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.5124305

Since his mother’s death six years ago, Carter Kane has been living out of a suitcase, traveling the globe with his father, the brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane. But while Carter’s been homeschooled, his younger sister, Sadie, has been living with their grandparents in London. Sadie has just what Carter wants — school friends and a chance at a “normal” life. But Carter has just what Sadie longs for—time with their father. After six years of living apart, the siblings have almost nothing in common. Until now.

On Christmas Eve, Sadie and Carter are reunited when their father brings them to the British Museum, with a promise that he’s going to “make things right.” But all does not go according to plan: Carter and Sadie watch as Julius summons a mysterious figure, who quickly banishes their father and causes a fiery explosion.

Soon Carter and Sadie discover that the gods of Ancient Egypt are waking, and the worst of them—Set—has a frightening scheme. To save their father, they must embark on a dangerous journey—a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and its links to the House of Life, a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.

Hardcover
ISBN-10: 1410425363
ISBN-13: 9780141384948
267 Book Reviews
  • kcroyalslover10
    kcroyalslover10Saturday, April 10, 2021 at 1:04 pm55 stars
    This book is all about Sadie and Carter Kane who are on a quest to stop Set. Set is the evil Egyptian god of chaos whom their father Dr. Carter Kane accidentally released while summoning Osiris the god of the dead. I think this book is extremely good and I am glad my older brother introduced me to this series.
    • nac
      nacTuesday, February 23, 2021 at 10:33 am55 stars
      Ever since their mom's death, Sadie and Carter Kane have lived separate lives. Sadie is a cool middle schooler who dyes her hair and lives with her grandparents. Carter is the nerdy kid in a suit who travel the world with his archeologist father. They hardly ever see each other, and have nothing in common. But when a mysterious incident occurs and their father goes missing, Carter and Sadie Kane are thrust into a strange world where magic is real, and the egyptian gods and goddesses are real. Now Carter and Sadie must master their newfound abilities and set off on a wild quest to save their father and stop the end of the world. And along the way, Sadie and Carter may realize that their not so different after all. It's like the egyptian version of Percy Jackson, and any fans of Percy would really enjoy this book. I'd say its an action adventure themed book and probably for ages 10-18, depending on your interests. If you begin this book, you won't be able to put it down (trust me, I know from experience).
      • book addict Thursday, February 11, 2021 at 8:46 pm
        I just started reading this book and it is so good. I'm not one to like reading but i enjoy reading this.
        • musicbooklover
          musicbookloverWednesday, December 30, 2020 at 9:20 pm55 stars
          I love Rick Riordan's books. Previously I had read the Percy Jackson and the Olympians and the series Heroes of Olympus. I decided to try this one too. And I loved it! This is by far the best book series Rick riordan has ever written. I love how the plot entangles and how Sadie and Carter's differences and the arguments, love drama kept my eyes glued to the book. It's exactly how a perfect book should be. 1 cup of drama, 2 cups of mythology, few sprinkles of romance, one tablespoon of confusion and a whole lot of guessing and mystery! I highly recommend it. Though do try to read Percy Jackson and the Olympians and the series heroes of Olympus first.
          • bsc
            bscWednesday, December 16, 2020 at 6:39 am44 stars
            This book was pretty good! Carter and Sadie Kane have lived apart for 6 years ever since their mother's death. Carter travels the world with his father, whereas Sadie lives with their grandparents in England and has a normal life. But both siblings wish their life was a little different. Carter wishes he could have a normal life like Sadie and Sadie wishes she had more time with her dad like Carter has. But on their day that they get to see each other, something goes terribly wrong. Their dad brings them to the Egyption Musume saying that he'll "make things right." But instead of setting things right, their dad gets captured by a bad god that he summoned! Now Carter and Sadie have to rescue their father with the help of a long lost uncle, some unlikely friends, and a baboon. Plus, this may not just be about saving their father- it also means they have to save the world. Rick Riordan twists egyptian gods and hydraulics, fantasy, and adventure into this splendid book. Happy reading!
            • magicalmythical
              magicalmythicalThursday, August 20, 2020 at 1:19 pm55 stars
              I like this book so much, I like the way Mr. Riordan has it's ways of telling the story, making it alive
              • blossomreader
                blossomreaderTuesday, August 18, 2020 at 9:44 am55 stars
                This is the first book in the Kane Chronicles series. It's a trilogy. I loved this book so much! It's about Sadie and Carter, two siblings who live far apart. When they discover their father has trapped himself, it's up to the tow to discover where exactly they came from, and what, where, and how their mother was killed years ago. I feel like I want to read this book over and over again. I hope you guys love this book as much as I did!
                • swirlycool
                  swirlycoolWednesday, July 8, 2020 at 12:40 pm55 starsFeatured
                  Carter Kane and his dad are on the way to pick up Sadie, Carter's sister who he only sees twice a year. Except this time, Carter's dad seems to be distracted and clutching his bag tightly. Everytime that happens, something always happens to Carter's notice. Sadie and Carter see their dad talking to a guy named Amos. What follows next in the museum will change Carter and Sadie's lives. Strange things have always happen that Carter has noticed. On his birthday which also happened to be his twin sister Sadie's, their birthday cake blew up when Carter got angry. Now, something even stranger happens. Carter and Sadie's dad blows up the Rosetta Stone, setting many Egyptian gods free. Sadie and Carter discover their dad is a magician, and that their uncle is Amos. The twins also discover they host gods, making them godlings. Overall, this book was really interesting and I also thought that the parts of the beginning of the chapters where Sadie and Carter were passing the mic over was funny. I recommend this book to people who are interested in learning more about the Egyptian gods and their history. I also recommend this book to people who enjoy the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I rate this book 5/5.
                  • SatietyKaneMonday, July 6, 2020 at 4:07 pm
                    it's so good i wish that i could read it all day
                    • SatietyKaneSaturday, July 4, 2020 at 9:01 am
                      This is a great book and if you can you should read the rick riordan book