Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.5124305

Since his mother’s death six years ago, Carter Kane has been living out of a suitcase, traveling the globe with his father, the brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane. But while Carter’s been homeschooled, his younger sister, Sadie, has been living with their grandparents in London. Sadie has just what Carter wants — school friends and a chance at a “normal” life. But Carter has just what Sadie longs for—time with their father. After six years of living apart, the siblings have almost nothing in common. Until now.

On Christmas Eve, Sadie and Carter are reunited when their father brings them to the British Museum, with a promise that he’s going to “make things right.” But all does not go according to plan: Carter and Sadie watch as Julius summons a mysterious figure, who quickly banishes their father and causes a fiery explosion.

Soon Carter and Sadie discover that the gods of Ancient Egypt are waking, and the worst of them—Set—has a frightening scheme. To save their father, they must embark on a dangerous journey—a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and its links to the House of Life, a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on August 16, 2011 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423113454
ISBN-13: 9781423113454
264 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • musicbooklover
    musicbookloverWednesday, December 30, 2020 at 9:20 pm55 stars
    I love Rick Riordan's books. Previously I had read the Percy Jackson and the Olympians and the series Heroes of Olympus. I decided to try this one too. And I loved it! This is by far the best book series Rick riordan has ever written. I love how the plot entangles and how Sadie and Carter's differences and the arguments, love drama kept my eyes glued to the book. It's exactly how a perfect book should be. 1 cup of drama, 2 cups of mythology, few sprinkles of romance, one tablespoon of confusion and a whole lot of guessing and mystery! I highly recommend it. Though do try to read Percy Jackson and the Olympians and the series heroes of Olympus first.
    • bsc
      bscWednesday, December 16, 2020 at 6:39 am44 stars
      This book was pretty good! Carter and Sadie Kane have lived apart for 6 years ever since their mother's death. Carter travels the world with his father, whereas Sadie lives with their grandparents in England and has a normal life. But both siblings wish their life was a little different. Carter wishes he could have a normal life like Sadie and Sadie wishes she had more time with her dad like Carter has. But on their day that they get to see each other, something goes terribly wrong. Their dad brings them to the Egyption Musume saying that he'll "make things right." But instead of setting things right, their dad gets captured by a bad god that he summoned! Now Carter and Sadie have to rescue their father with the help of a long lost uncle, some unlikely friends, and a baboon. Plus, this may not just be about saving their father- it also means they have to save the world. Rick Riordan twists egyptian gods and hydraulics, fantasy, and adventure into this splendid book. Happy reading!
      • magicalmythical
        magicalmythicalThursday, August 20, 2020 at 1:19 pm55 stars
        I like this book so much, I like the way Mr. Riordan has it's ways of telling the story, making it alive
        • blossomreader
          blossomreaderTuesday, August 18, 2020 at 9:44 am55 stars
          This is the first book in the Kane Chronicles series. It's a trilogy. I loved this book so much! It's about Sadie and Carter, two siblings who live far apart. When they discover their father has trapped himself, it's up to the tow to discover where exactly they came from, and what, where, and how their mother was killed years ago. I feel like I want to read this book over and over again. I hope you guys love this book as much as I did!
          • swirlycool
            swirlycoolWednesday, July 8, 2020 at 12:40 pm55 starsFeatured
            Carter Kane and his dad are on the way to pick up Sadie, Carter's sister who he only sees twice a year. Except this time, Carter's dad seems to be distracted and clutching his bag tightly. Everytime that happens, something always happens to Carter's notice. Sadie and Carter see their dad talking to a guy named Amos. What follows next in the museum will change Carter and Sadie's lives. Strange things have always happen that Carter has noticed. On his birthday which also happened to be his twin sister Sadie's, their birthday cake blew up when Carter got angry. Now, something even stranger happens. Carter and Sadie's dad blows up the Rosetta Stone, setting many Egyptian gods free. Sadie and Carter discover their dad is a magician, and that their uncle is Amos. The twins also discover they host gods, making them godlings. Overall, this book was really interesting and I also thought that the parts of the beginning of the chapters where Sadie and Carter were passing the mic over was funny. I recommend this book to people who are interested in learning more about the Egyptian gods and their history. I also recommend this book to people who enjoy the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I rate this book 5/5.
            • SatietyKaneMonday, July 6, 2020 at 4:07 pm
              it's so good i wish that i could read it all day
              • SatietyKaneSaturday, July 4, 2020 at 9:01 am
                This is a great book and if you can you should read the rick riordan book
                • howls
                  howlsThursday, June 11, 2020 at 9:04 am
                  It looks great and I have to read this book soon
                  • bookfan2008
                    bookfan2008Wednesday, June 10, 2020 at 4:51 pm
                    This book looks good! I will try to read it.
                    • indecisive
                      indecisiveWednesday, June 10, 2020 at 3:04 pm55 stars
                      Honestly, I have never been extremely fascinated with Egyptian mythology. When Rick Riordan writes though, it leaves me speechless. You need good description to read a book? Check. Riordan does that. You live adventure and mythology? Check. Riordan also does that. Main point? Rick Riordan is the best author no question. Let me get on with the summery though. Carter and Sadie Kane haven't been the same since their mother's death. Carter travels the world with their dad Julius Kane, and Sadie lives in London with her and Carter's grandparents. Twice a year, Carter and his dad visit Sadie in London. Everything changes when Julius takes them to a museum on their annual meets. Julius is acting strange and suspicious. He sets free the Egyptian god Set, who banishes him and forces the siblings to run. After that chaos, they find out that the world of Egyptian gods are awakening, and the worst is about to happen. Set is after them and wants to dominate and control the world. Carter and Sadie must embark on an epic quest to stop him, while also discovering secrets about them and their family. I recommend this book to mythology lovers and basically anyone. If you like this series, you should really check out his other series which include Percy Jackson And The Olympians, The Heroes Of Olympus, and The Trials Of Apollo. Those are his Greek mythology series which I couldn't stop rereading and you should definitely read them in that order because the series are connected. This book left me on the edge of my seat! Um, so yeah. This review is pretty long so I'm going to stop now. Thanks for reading my review and enjoy this book if you do read it!!