Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.5124305

Since his mother’s death six years ago, Carter Kane has been living out of a suitcase, traveling the globe with his father, the brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane. But while Carter’s been homeschooled, his younger sister, Sadie, has been living with their grandparents in London. Sadie has just what Carter wants — school friends and a chance at a “normal” life. But Carter has just what Sadie longs for—time with their father. After six years of living apart, the siblings have almost nothing in common. Until now.

On Christmas Eve, Sadie and Carter are reunited when their father brings them to the British Museum, with a promise that he’s going to “make things right.” But all does not go according to plan: Carter and Sadie watch as Julius summons a mysterious figure, who quickly banishes their father and causes a fiery explosion.

Soon Carter and Sadie discover that the gods of Ancient Egypt are waking, and the worst of them—Set—has a frightening scheme. To save their father, they must embark on a dangerous journey—a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and its links to the House of Life, a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.

Hardcover
ISBN-10: 1410425363
ISBN-13: 9780141384948
260 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • swirlycool
    swirlycoolWednesday, July 8, 2020 at 12:40 pm55 starsFeatured
    Carter Kane and his dad are on the way to pick up Sadie, Carter's sister who he only sees twice a year. Except this time, Carter's dad seems to be distracted and clutching his bag tightly. Everytime that happens, something always happens to Carter's notice. Sadie and Carter see their dad talking to a guy named Amos. What follows next in the museum will change Carter and Sadie's lives. Strange things have always happen that Carter has noticed. On his birthday which also happened to be his twin sister Sadie's, their birthday cake blew up when Carter got angry. Now, something even stranger happens. Carter and Sadie's dad blows up the Rosetta Stone, setting many Egyptian gods free. Sadie and Carter discover their dad is a magician, and that their uncle is Amos. The twins also discover they host gods, making them godlings. Overall, this book was really interesting and I also thought that the parts of the beginning of the chapters where Sadie and Carter were passing the mic over was funny. I recommend this book to people who are interested in learning more about the Egyptian gods and their history. I also recommend this book to people who enjoy the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I rate this book 5/5.
    • SatietyKaneMonday, July 6, 2020 at 4:07 pm
      it's so good i wish that i could read it all day
      • SatietyKaneSaturday, July 4, 2020 at 9:01 am
        This is a great book and if you can you should read the rick riordan book
        • howls
          howlsThursday, June 11, 2020 at 9:04 am
          It looks great and I have to read this book soon
          • bookfan2008
            bookfan2008Wednesday, June 10, 2020 at 4:51 pm
            This book looks good! I will try to read it.
            • c0okie
              c0okieWednesday, June 10, 2020 at 3:04 pm55 stars
              Honestly, I have never been extremely fascinated with Egyptian mythology. When Rick Riordan writes though, it leaves me speechless. You need good description to read a book? Check. Riordan does that. You live adventure and mythology? Check. Riordan also does that. Main point? Rick Riordan is the best author no question. Let me get on with the summery though. Carter and Sadie Kane haven't been the same since their mother's death. Carter travels the world with their dad Julius Kane, and Sadie lives in London with her and Carter's grandparents. Twice a year, Carter and his dad visit Sadie in London. Everything changes when Julius takes them to a museum on their annual meets. Julius is acting strange and suspicious. He sets free the Egyptian god Set, who banishes him and forces the siblings to run. After that chaos, they find out that the world of Egyptian gods are awakening, and the worst is about to happen. Set is after them and wants to dominate and control the world. Carter and Sadie must embark on an epic quest to stop him, while also discovering secrets about them and their family. I recommend this book to mythology lovers and basically anyone. If you like this series, you should really check out his other series which include Percy Jackson And The Olympians, The Heroes Of Olympus, and The Trials Of Apollo. Those are his Greek mythology series which I couldn't stop rereading and you should definitely read them in that order because the series are connected. This book left me on the edge of my seat! Um, so yeah. This review is pretty long so I'm going to stop now. Thanks for reading my review and enjoy this book if you do read it!!
              • ghostwfeelings
                ghostwfeelingsWednesday, June 3, 2020 at 3:19 am55 stars
                In the Red Pyramid, Sadie and Carter Kane are pulled into a dangerous world with gods and pharaohs. They have to defeat the god Set in order to save the earth. Rick Riordan guides us through this breathtaking adventure with his wit, humor, and all-out imagination. The Red Pyramid is definitely a book to remember.
                • bluedragon1
                  bluedragon1Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 11:18 am55 stars
                  This series is one of my favorite Rick Roiden books! It is based on Egyptian mythology and is very fascinating! I highly suggest this book!
                  • 4usa
                    4usaWednesday, May 20, 2020 at 5:41 pm55 stars
                    This is the beginning of a great series! When Carter and his dad to for their visit to his sister their dad takes them to a museum (their dad is an archeologist)! Their dad ends up blowing up the artifact that they came to see and was encased in a coffin! They latter find out that their dad is a magician and that they have the Blood of magicians and pharaohs! It also ends up that they are now hosts of gods! Now it is up to them to save their dad and the world from the god Set!
                    • abi_k_12
                      abi_k_12Wednesday, February 19, 2020 at 11:55 am55 starsFeatured
                      Carter and Sadie Kane haven't been the same since their mother's death. Carter travels the world with their dad Julius Kane, and Sadie lives in London with her grandparents. Everything changes when Julius takes them to a museum on their one of two days annual meet. He sets free the Egyptian god Set, who banishes him and forces the siblings to run. After, they find out that the world of Egyptian gods are awakening, and the worst of them, Set is after them and domination of the rest of the world. Carter and Sadie must go on an epic quest to stop him, but also find out many secrets about them and their family. I connected to this book because I related how it was to see a distant family member after some years. I give this book 5 stars because the story plot is tremendous, and the timeline and the character traits all fit in well together.