Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.5124305

Since his mother’s death six years ago, Carter Kane has been living out of a suitcase, traveling the globe with his father, the brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane. But while Carter’s been homeschooled, his younger sister, Sadie, has been living with their grandparents in London. Sadie has just what Carter wants — school friends and a chance at a “normal” life. But Carter has just what Sadie longs for—time with their father. After six years of living apart, the siblings have almost nothing in common. Until now.

On Christmas Eve, Sadie and Carter are reunited when their father brings them to the British Museum, with a promise that he’s going to “make things right.” But all does not go according to plan: Carter and Sadie watch as Julius summons a mysterious figure, who quickly banishes their father and causes a fiery explosion.

Soon Carter and Sadie discover that the gods of Ancient Egypt are waking, and the worst of them—Set—has a frightening scheme. To save their father, they must embark on a dangerous journey—a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and its links to the House of Life, a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.

Audio CD
Published on August 16, 2011 by Brilliance Audio
ISBN-10: 1455803197
ISBN-13: 9781455803194
249 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tristanFriday, September 20, 2019 at 5:17 pm
    it was good
    • shadowhacker
      shadowhackerThursday, August 29, 2019 at 11:54 am55 stars
      to the people who loved the Percy Jackson series i recommend this book follow carter and Sadie Kane as they rescue there dad is was awesome
      • habs4lif
        habs4lifMonday, August 12, 2019 at 11:07 am55 stars
        Best book ever
        • Riordan4life Monday, July 29, 2019 at 11:52 am
          Riordan's is the best author ever
          • brains1234
            brains1234Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 4:29 pm55 stars
            This book had an adventure that i never saw coming which left me on the edge of my seat. Rick Riordan is my favourite author!!!!! This book by itself is a masterpeice. it has made me want to read the next book!
            • NoahThursday, May 30, 2019 at 11:56 am
              The Red Pyramid, the first book of a three part series called The Kane Chronicles, was created by famous author Rick Riordan who also wrote the Percy Jackson series. The Red Pyramid is a phenomenal book for readers who enjoy action-packed fantasy/adventure stories. The main characters, Carter and Sadie Kane, are siblings and directly related to the Egyptian royal family. Carter and Sadie have lived separate lives after their mother was killed; Carter lived with his father while Sadie lived with their grandparents. A couple times per year, Carter and Sadie visit with each other, and this year, on Christmas Eve, Carter, Sadie and Mr. Kane visit a famous museum in Paris that is currently displaying the Rosetta Stone. The Rosetta Stone is an ancient Egyptian artifact and contains many of the trapped Egyptian gods who are accidentally set free by their father. Carter and Sadie go on a crazy adventure to track down the gods, save their father, and stop the gods from destroying the world. Throughout The Red Pyramid, Rick Riordan does a great job of developing and creating the characters of Carter and Sadie. The personalities of Carter and Sadie, being so different, Riordan uses Sadie’s serious personality, and Carter’s more relaxed and calm personality, in funny and creative ways. Next, Riordan is able to create an image of the characters in the readers’ minds and makes the readers believe that they, too, are part of the story. Riordan also lets the readers know everything that Carter and Sadie are feeling, helping the readers to relate to them in ways that other books are unable to do. Lastly, Riordan creates secondary characters that are enjoyable to have in the story, and is able to use their abilities in creative ways to help Carter and Sadie throughout the book. Along with character development, Rick Riordan develops the settings using real life places which allows the reader to really connect to the story. Throughout the book, there were various times where the places that the characters traveled have been places where I have also been which I found made me emerge myself deeper into the story. Also, Rick Riordan is able to find creative ways to incorporate the the unique features and landmarks into the settings. For example, during the scenes in Egypt, Riordan created a scene in which Carter and Sadie travel into the pyramid to fight the god of chaos, Set. Because of Carter and Sadie’s connection the the royal family of ancient Egypt, the Pyramid had a magical effect on them, giving them strength from their ancestors. Lastly, in The Red Pyramid, Riordan develops the plot of the story in a logical and detailed way. The story is easy to follow even with the wide variety of characters and many changes of settings in the book. Also, this book leaves you on the edge of your seat, making you wonder what will happen next. with all the It is suspenseful with non-stop action, but also touches on social norms and family values. Because they are siblings, the dialogue between Carter and Sadie is relatable, often times funny, but also serious and supportive. The humorous moments help ease the characters in the tense moments when they are struggling to fight against Set or Apophis. These moments improve the overall environment of the book and add a comedy factor uncommon in most action/fantasy stories. In conclusion, The Red Pyramid was a phenomenal book to read, and with all of the action and descriptive details, I was never bored while reading. The Red Pyramid has great characters which are relatable. Moreover, they tell the story from their points of view, letting the reader visualize everything that is happening. Also, the settings vary between London, Egypt, and even the United States, which keeps things very interesting. With all of these factors and techniques that Rick Riordan used to write The Red Pyramid, I would highly recommend this book for teenagers and even adults who really enjoy a great fantasy story.
              • valentineTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 6:00 pm
                What book is The Magnus chase? I never heard of it.
                • ilikebunnies
                  ilikebunniesWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 7:34 pm33 stars
                  This is a great book and I really enjoyed it. This book is about to siblings Sadie and Carter who only see each other once a year because of their grandparents only wanting to have Sadie after their mothers death. On the day that the siblings could visit they were taken to the museum where their father released gods. Sadie and Carter went on a mission to stop the end of the world and defeat Set.
                  • maireWednesday, May 15, 2019 at 7:40 am
                    This is a good start for the Kanes. For weeks, I ben trying to get this book into my hands. and I got one. It's more great the harry potter.Best book ever!
                    • skyeFriday, April 12, 2019 at 7:05 am
                      an amazing book!!!:)