Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.645356
For generations, the noble polar bears have ruled the Northern Kingdoms. But now, their society is on the brink of collapse. A group of power-hungry bears has seized control, and darkness is creeping across the snow.
Cubs First and Second don't know any of this. Although they're twins, they couldn't be more different. First loves imagining stories, while his daring sister, Second, wants to live them.

When their mother is taken prisoner, the cubs' world falls apart. They know they have to rescue her, but how can two cubs who've barely learned to hunt survive a treacherous journey across the ice? Their only chance is to learn to trust each other and--even more important--trust themselves.
But survival is only the beginning. And soon, these two unlikely heroes find themselves at the heart of a battle unlike anything Ga'hoole has ever seen.
Paperback, 240 pages
Published on September 11, 2018 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545683068
ISBN-13: 9780545683067
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • regina willmartWednesday, October 17, 2018 at 2:54 pm
    the beginning is boring but as you read on it gets even more intrusion this is the best book ever I love it so much.
    • hanpink800
      hanpink800Thursday, August 30, 2018 at 8:06 pm22 stars
      I LOVE polar bears but I didn't LOVE this book. It was fun to read at times but needed way more action! I recommend you read this book if you want to see polar bears go on an antarctic adventure to rescue their mom from bad polar bears. It has a cliff hanger which was disappointing!
      • snicker9
        snicker9Wednesday, August 22, 2018 at 10:40 am33 stars
        "The Quest of the Cubs" is about two polar bear cubs, named First and Second. In order to protect them, their mother is forced to join the mysterious and brutal Rogues. She makes arrangements for her cubs to stay with her cousin, but soon First and Second realize that staying is just as dangerous for them. They set off on a journey to find their mother and their father, whom they have never met. Unknown to them the entire polar bear society is collapsing as a group of power-hungry bears wrestle for control. I enjoyed seeing the connections between this book and the Guardians of Ga'hoole series as they are set in the same world. This book was darker than I thought it would be when I picked it up. Probably the biggest thing was that a group of bears that were sacrificing baby cubs. There were also several near-death incidents as First and Second fight to survive. Because of that I probably would recommend this to middle grade students and up. I rate this book 3 out of 5 stars.
        • heghog
          heghogWednesday, August 15, 2018 at 9:22 am55 stars
          this is one of the best books that i have ever ever read it is so good because they have to survive on there own and they saved third and named them self.
          • readwriter
            readwriterTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 6:30 pm55 stars
            Kathryn Lasky never fails to write a heart-wrenchingly beautiful book. The suspense keeps your curiosity peaked through the very last word while the characters keep you turning the pages to make sure they're ok.
            • jwarne
              jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 5:04 pm55 stars
              I tried reading this book too fast I think and I got a little lost. I think I'm going to reread it though because I loved the drama between the bears, and I loved the idea of the darkness closing in. It was thrilling.
              • catface7312
                catface7312Tuesday, July 24, 2018 at 2:18 pm11 star
                This is the first book in a series. I didn't really enjoy it that much. The plot was kinda confusing and it just wasn't my type of book. This book talked about murder and death a lot, which just broke my heart. There was graphics of it too, which made it even worse. I don't really recommend this book to anyone, especially elementary school students (I'm sorry for the really negative review, it was just that bad of a book).
                • georgiasilver
                  georgiasilverMonday, July 23, 2018 at 10:06 am
                  This book looks so cute! It seems like a unique and compelling story about bear cubs. I would love to read this book if I am able to find it! ^ ^
                  • jso6
                    jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 2:42 pm55 stars
                    This book is about two bear cubs named First and Second. Their Mother is taken prisoner by the Roguers, and the cubs are sent to a cousin, who they don't end up liking and they run away. This was a very good book, and I would definitely recommend it.
                    • auntieb
                      auntiebWednesday, July 18, 2018 at 8:29 am44 stars
                      The Quest of the Cubs was a very enjoyable read once you get into it. I really enjoyed First and Second's ingenuity and how they went out on their own looking for their Da. This book also ended in a different spot in the story then what I would have thought so that was interesting.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      dbugf
                      dbugf wrote:

                      I love this book! It is very dif...
                      The Tales of Beedle the Bard, St...

                      kilybygiledubi

                      This book about Janie is where s...
                      Whatever Happened to Janie?

                      tapipodokigohy

                      I have read The 5th Wave and ar...
                      The 5th Wave: The Infinite Sea (...

                      tapipodokigohy

                      I really haven't been given the ...
                      The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

                      Our Apps and Plugins