Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.645356
For generations, the noble polar bears have ruled the Northern Kingdoms. But now, their society is on the brink of collapse. A group of power-hungry bears has seized control, and darkness is creeping across the snow.
Cubs First and Second don't know any of this. Although they're twins, they couldn't be more different. First loves imagining stories, while his daring sister, Second, wants to live them.

When their mother is taken prisoner, the cubs' world falls apart. They know they have to rescue her, but how can two cubs who've barely learned to hunt survive a treacherous journey across the ice? Their only chance is to learn to trust each other and--even more important--trust themselves.
But survival is only the beginning. And soon, these two unlikely heroes find themselves at the heart of a battle unlike anything Ga'hoole has ever seen.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on February 27, 2018 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545683041
ISBN-13: 9780545683043
26 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • heghog
    heghogWednesday, August 15, 2018 at 9:22 am55 stars
    this is one of the best books that i have ever ever read it is so good because they have to survive on there own and they saved third and named them self.
    • readwriter
      readwriterTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 6:30 pm55 stars
      Kathryn Lasky never fails to write a heart-wrenchingly beautiful book. The suspense keeps your curiosity peaked through the very last word while the characters keep you turning the pages to make sure they're ok.
      • jwarne
        jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 5:04 pm55 stars
        I tried reading this book too fast I think and I got a little lost. I think I'm going to reread it though because I loved the drama between the bears, and I loved the idea of the darkness closing in. It was thrilling.
        • catface7312
          catface7312Tuesday, July 24, 2018 at 2:18 pm11 star
          This is the first book in a series. I didn't really enjoy it that much. The plot was kinda confusing and it just wasn't my type of book. This book talked about murder and death a lot, which just broke my heart. There was graphics of it too, which made it even worse. I don't really recommend this book to anyone, especially elementary school students (I'm sorry for the really negative review, it was just that bad of a book).
          • georgiasilver
            georgiasilverMonday, July 23, 2018 at 10:06 am
            This book looks so cute! It seems like a unique and compelling story about bear cubs. I would love to read this book if I am able to find it! ^ ^
            • jso6
              jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 2:42 pm55 stars
              This book is about two bear cubs named First and Second. Their Mother is taken prisoner by the Roguers, and the cubs are sent to a cousin, who they don't end up liking and they run away. This was a very good book, and I would definitely recommend it.
              • auntieb
                auntiebWednesday, July 18, 2018 at 8:29 am44 stars
                The Quest of the Cubs was a very enjoyable read once you get into it. I really enjoyed First and Second's ingenuity and how they went out on their own looking for their Da. This book also ended in a different spot in the story then what I would have thought so that was interesting.
                • happy_cat
                  happy_catWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 8:00 am55 starsFeatured
                  I rarely rate books 5 Stars, but I rated this one! It was so amazing, like SEEKERS by Erin Hunter, it’s about 2 polar bear cubs, First and Second. First is the male, while Second is the female. Their mother is taken as a prisoner - so much like SEEKERS by Erin Hunter - and then the cute twins have to try to save her. Let me just say, the ending is just... such a cliffhanger. I am so excited to read the next book! Thanks, DOGO, for hooking me up to this book. MUST READ!!
                  • 30057
                    30057Tuesday, July 10, 2018 at 2:38 pm
                    One of my top favorite animals is the polar bear, so when I spotted this book in the reading list, I knew immediately that I would want to read it. The Bears of the Ice sounds like a really interesting and catchy title, and the cubs in the cover page look so adorable. I am curious to see how just cubs go on a whole quest to save something. I am super excited to start reading!
                    • mkid122
                      mkid122Monday, July 9, 2018 at 12:05 am22 stars
                      The Quest of the Cubs follows two cubs on a quest of survival. The conflict of the story are the Roguers, a cruel cult of bears who ended the long peaceful rule of the polar bears. They take young cubs to kill and sacrifice. When the Roguers approaches the first and second cubs, their mother decides to go instead. Now the cubs most go live under a caretaker however she isn't a very good one and this causes for the cubs to run away and began the quest to save their mother. Along the way they encounter friends and enemies and learn to work together and learn acceptance. The idea of this book was interesting but the pace could be slow at times and just uninteresting. Not enough happened in the book for the cliff hanger ending and I expected way more action.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      aaronwalker

                      I Like It Thanks Dav Pilkey.☺
                      Captain Underpants and the Tyran...

                      fchianga
                      fchianga wrote:

                      it is a really funny bookie that...
                      Big Nate: Silent But Deadly

                      spykitten
                      spykitten wrote:

                      Yes, fairy tale twists are amazing!
                      Geekerella: A Fangirl Fairy Tale

                      hanpink800
                      hanpink800 wrote:

                      I love love love love love love ...
                      The Bad Guys (The Bad Guys #1)

                      Our Apps and Plugins