Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.645356
For generations, the noble polar bears have ruled the Northern Kingdoms. But now, their society is on the brink of collapse. A group of power-hungry bears has seized control, and darkness is creeping across the snow.
Cubs First and Second don't know any of this. Although they're twins, they couldn't be more different. First loves imagining stories, while his daring sister, Second, wants to live them.

When their mother is taken prisoner, the cubs' world falls apart. They know they have to rescue her, but how can two cubs who've barely learned to hunt survive a treacherous journey across the ice? Their only chance is to learn to trust each other and--even more important--trust themselves.
But survival is only the beginning. And soon, these two unlikely heroes find themselves at the heart of a battle unlike anything Ga'hoole has ever seen.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on February 27, 2018 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545683041
ISBN-13: 9780545683043
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • applemango
    applemangoSaturday, June 16, 2018 at 8:15 pm55 stars
    This book makes me feel sad at the same time a lashing of something makes this book so fascinating. My eyes were on the page tight! This is a book that I highly recommend!
    • eybook2018
      eybook2018Saturday, June 16, 2018 at 7:15 pm
      The Quest of the Cubs (Bears of the Ice #1) has a cute cover of baby polar bears! I am not the only one who thinks its cute and the book is great too.
      • pineapplejoe
        pineapplejoeTuesday, June 12, 2018 at 7:27 am44 stars
        this book is about two polar bears who's mother gets captured and thaey have to figure out a way to save her
        • pineapplejoe
          pineapplejoeTuesday, June 12, 2018 at 7:00 am44 stars
          this book is about 2 polar bears first and second first loves imagine adventurers but second wants to actually go on them they have to find away to save her mom who is captured
          • cobrazeus10
            cobrazeus10Sunday, June 10, 2018 at 3:25 pm22 stars
            This book is similar to Lasky's other books, and readers of her other series's will notice certain references. I think the main reason I didn't really like this book is because I'm a little outside the age range, and I've always preferred Erin Hunter's books more.
            • rrwwnn
              rrwwnnFriday, May 25, 2018 at 9:01 pm55 stars
              I love polar bears they are so cute. This book is about two cubs First and Second. First loves to imagine adventures while Second want to live them. While their mom gets captive the cub wonder how are they going to save her.
              • hanacoder
                hanacoderThursday, May 24, 2018 at 8:02 am55 stars
                The book is so interesting! I can't wait to read the 2nd book! I want to find out what happens to their mom. The rogers are so cruel. Why would the grand patek worship the clock? I would like to find out.
                • joleeFriday, May 18, 2018 at 3:01 pm
                  This book is cute but sad.
                  • kc17
                    kc17Friday, May 18, 2018 at 1:45 pm55 stars
                    I would definitely recommend this book. I would rate it a five out of five. This book talks about the saving the polar bears from extinction. This is very well written. I would recommend this book for those who care about animals. I mean this book is very good. Whenever you get a chance you have to read it. You will enjoy this book.
                    • hanacoder
                      hanacoderTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 2:57 pm55 stars
                      I think the book is amazing!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      this novel is like a game....it ...
                      Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Lib...

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      this is very good, especially if...
                      The Fourteenth Goldfish

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      sooooooo good. my favorite book ...
                      The Unwanteds

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      this was ok. it was really good ...
                      The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chroni...