The Princess Bride (Fox): S. Morgenstern's Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 8 - KGrades 4 - 6Z+5.891426
William Goldman’s beloved novel has sold over one million copies. A movie, released twenty years ago, perfectly captured the spirit of the book and has introduced new fans to its pages ever since. In 1941 a young boy lies bedridden from pneumonia. His perpetually disheveled and unattractive father, an immigrant from Florin with terribly broken English, shuffles into his bedroom carrying a book. The boy wants to know if it has any sports. His father says, "Fencing. Fighting. Torture. Poison. True love. Hate. Revenge. Giants. Hunters. Bad men. Good men. Beautifulest ladies. Snakes. Spiders. Beasts of all natures and descriptions. Pain. Death. Brave men. Coward men. Strongest men. Chases. Escapes. Lies. Truths. Passions. Miracles." And the little boy, though he doesn’t know it, is about to change forever. As Goldman says, "What happened was just this. I got hooked on the story." And coming generations of readers will, too.
Hardcover, 448 pages
Published on October 10, 2017 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN-10: 1328948854
ISBN-13: 9781328948854
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • bluehorse3
    bluehorse3Saturday, September 17, 2016 at 2:42 pm55 stars
    I am reading this write now. It is kind of hard to reading meaning that I have a hard time reading huge sections at a time. It is pretty much the same as the movie, but there is some "extra content" that is pretty cool!
    • opac4468
      opac4468Wednesday, August 31, 2016 at 7:06 am55 stars
      Loved this book very silly and fun!
      • happypug12
        happypug12Thursday, July 14, 2016 at 9:40 am55 starsFeatured
        Shortly after watching the movie and LOVING it, I got the book. And I ended up loving it even more than the movie. (The movie basically took the book and chopped all the scenes and moments in half.) The Princess Bride gives so much detail, and beauty, and descriptions and you can see everything in your mind. It is a tale of "fencing, fighting, torture, poison, true love, hate, revenge, giants, hunters, bad men, good men, beautifulest ladies, snakes, spiders, beasts of all natures and descriptions, pain, death, brave men, coward men, strongest men, chases, escapes, lies, truths, passion, and miracles." (If you read that whole paragraph I commend you.) You get to sympathize with everyone (except Prince Humperdinck, Vizzini, and Count Rugen) going from Buttercup to Westley to Inigo to Fezzik and every one of them has a story that is no less than heartbreaking, thrilling, beautiful, or painful. This book is proof that old books are just as good stories as any modern book, and you NEED to read this if you ever crave adventure, true love, or if you just need a book that you will read and re-read over and over!
        • 42mineturtles
          42mineturtlesWednesday, April 20, 2016 at 12:40 am55 stars
          I personally loved this book! Especially Inigo Montoya (a character in this book). The Princess Bride is funny and has great detail and I really enjoyed reading it and I recommend it.
          • kiki22
            kiki22Thursday, April 30, 2015 at 6:51 pm
            I started this book not very long ago but so far it is really good. It has good descriptions and is really funny. I watched the movie first and then I learned that there was a book and I wanted to read it. 😊
            • baileli
              baileliThursday, March 19, 2015 at 11:24 am55 stars
              It looks good.
              • kakey98
                kakey98Sunday, December 28, 2014 at 9:05 am
                One of my favorite books. I love this particular edition because of all the commentary from one of the Princess Brides's biggest fans. Who also wrote the screenplay for the movie "The Princess Bride"
                • penguin313
                  penguin313Friday, September 26, 2014 at 4:01 pm55 stars
                  A great classic book, it has funny quotes, good plot and many crazy and strange characters. I liked this book and also liked the movie
                  • aureliae
                    aureliaeSunday, June 1, 2014 at 11:44 am
                    Princess Buttercup goes on a amazing adventure with pirates... Can she survive?
                    • lizh
                      Ms. HubandFriday, May 16, 2014 at 6:57 am55 stars
                      One of my all-time favorites!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      sassymuffin

                      I love the whole series. It is s...
                      Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows

                      sassymuffin

                      I love the whole series. It is s...
                      Harry Potter and the Half-Blood ...

                      sassymuffin

                      I love the whole series. It is s...
                      Harry Potter and the Order of th...

                      sassymuffin

                      I love the whole series. It is s...
                      Harry Potter And The Goblet Of F...