Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.344648
Poppy may have inherited the family’s magical powers, but she would rather be a baker. How can she avoid the family business? Includes more than a dozen delectable recipes!

Ten-year-old Poppy, born to ordinary parents, inherits her famous Great Aunt Mabel’s genes—GAM was a famous witch. In Poppy’s world, witches work for good and are much valued, with powers both coveted and praised. But Poppy does not want to be a witch—she wants to be a baker, and she is extremely good at baking. Her parents insist Poppy follow in the footsteps of her great aunt, but Poppy has plans of her own.
Part magic, part adventure, and wholly delicious, this spirited story includes more than a dozen recipes readers—and budding bakers—can try at home.
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on September 3, 2013 by Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
ISBN-10: 1442449268
ISBN-13: 9781442449268
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • slytherinfan
    slytherinfanFriday, September 14, 2018 at 3:36 pm
    I really want to read this book!
    • rainawave
      rainawaveFriday, September 14, 2018 at 4:59 am55 stars
      The Power of Poppy Pendle is about a girl who loves to bake. It is her passion and it's what makes her happy. But, when her parents realize she is magical, they send her to the nearby school for witches against their daughter wishes. Even though Poppy tries to tell her parents she doesn't want to be a witch, they just don't seem to understand. What will this young witch decide to do? This is one of my favorite books ever! It is so inspirational!
      • applemango
        applemangoSunday, September 9, 2018 at 12:03 pm55 stars
        This book sounds cool!
        • bff_is_life
          bff_is_lifeSaturday, November 25, 2017 at 7:54 pm55 stars
          I have not read it YET, but thanks to the book reviewers there and to the cover! I am looking forward to read this!!!!!!😃
          • BFF_IS_LIFESaturday, November 25, 2017 at 7:51 pm
            I have not read it YET, but the cover is so interesting that I have to tell you guys! And also thanks to the book reviewers there, they helped me understand it more! I am super to read this SOME DAY!!!
            • tori3ghoul
              tori3ghoulSaturday, November 25, 2017 at 7:18 pm44 stars
              Poppy Pendle is a young witch with a passion for baking. She enjoys making deserts from her Good Eats magazines. When she meets a human girl named Charlie, the girls form a wonderful bond. However, Poppy's parents want her to follow in her granny's footsteps. What's a baker to do?
              • applemango
                applemangoSunday, September 9, 2018 at 12:03 pm55 stars
                This book is a must read!!!!!
              • hamsterlover5
                hamsterlover5Friday, October 7, 2016 at 7:12 pm55 stars
                couldnt stop reading it
                • tiger100
                  tiger100Monday, January 26, 2015 at 9:25 am
                  i love this book and poppy is so cool
                  • acesreaders
                    acesreadersTuesday, February 25, 2014 at 10:37 am55 stars
                    The book The Power of Poppy Pendle is the best book ever! This book is about a girl named Poppy. She was born with the blood of a witch. But all she wants to do is bake and her parents won’t let her. This book is so great I cried when I finished the book! I give this book 5 stars! So I would read this book!

                    Recent Kids Book Reviews

                    dbugf
                    dbugf wrote:

                    I love this book! It is very dif...
                    The Tales of Beedle the Bard, St...

                    kilybygiledubi

                    This book about Janie is where s...
                    Whatever Happened to Janie?

                    tapipodokigohy

                    I have read The 5th Wave and ar...
                    The 5th Wave: The Infinite Sea (...

                    tapipodokigohy

                    I really haven't been given the ...
                    The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

                    Our Apps and Plugins