Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.344648
Poppy may have inherited the family’s magical powers, but she would rather be a baker. How can she avoid the family business? Includes more than a dozen delectable recipes!

Ten-year-old Poppy, born to ordinary parents, inherits her famous Great Aunt Mabel’s genes—GAM was a famous witch. In Poppy’s world, witches work for good and are much valued, with powers both coveted and praised. But Poppy does not want to be a witch—she wants to be a baker, and she is extremely good at baking. Her parents insist Poppy follow in the footsteps of her great aunt, but Poppy has plans of her own.
Part magic, part adventure, and wholly delicious, this spirited story includes more than a dozen recipes readers—and budding bakers—can try at home.
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on September 4, 2012 by Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
ISBN-10: 144244679X
ISBN-13: 9781442446793
11 Book Reviews
  • vkgisawesome
    vkgisawesomeWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 9:22 pm55 stars
    Poppy Pendle loves baking, but when she was really young her parents found out that she had a gift, a gift of magic. Poppy wanted to bake more than anything but her parents wanted her to become a witch! This book has a lot of emotions and its really fun too! There are sad moments and really really happy ones too! I recommend this book for sure!
    • raindrop07
      raindrop07Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 10:44 am55 stars
      The Power of Poppy Pendle is about a little girl named Poppy. Despite her HUGE love to baking, her parents decide to send her to a witch school, to become a witch like her grandmother and her ancestors. Poppy despises witchcraft though and all she wants to do is bake, bake, bake! Her parents try desperatly to make her stop, and Poppy has to find a way to pursue her dreams! I love this book; it's so creative, fun and exciting!
      • slytherinfan
        slytherinfanFriday, September 14, 2018 at 3:36 pm
        I really want to read this book!
        • applemango
          applemangoSunday, September 9, 2018 at 12:03 pm55 stars
          This book sounds cool!
          • bff_is_life
            bff_is_lifeSaturday, November 25, 2017 at 7:54 pm55 stars
            I have not read it YET, but thanks to the book reviewers there and to the cover! I am looking forward to read this!!!!!!😃
            • BFF_IS_LIFESaturday, November 25, 2017 at 7:51 pm
              I have not read it YET, but the cover is so interesting that I have to tell you guys! And also thanks to the book reviewers there, they helped me understand it more! I am super to read this SOME DAY!!!
              • tori3ghoul
                tori3ghoulSaturday, November 25, 2017 at 7:18 pm44 stars
                Poppy Pendle is a young witch with a passion for baking. She enjoys making deserts from her Good Eats magazines. When she meets a human girl named Charlie, the girls form a wonderful bond. However, Poppy's parents want her to follow in her granny's footsteps. What's a baker to do?
                • applemango
                  applemangoSunday, September 9, 2018 at 12:03 pm55 stars
                  This book is a must read!!!!!
                • hamsterlover5
                  hamsterlover5Friday, October 7, 2016 at 7:12 pm55 stars
                  couldnt stop reading it
                  • tiger100
                    tiger100Monday, January 26, 2015 at 9:25 am
                    i love this book and poppy is so cool
                    • acesreaders
                      acesreadersTuesday, February 25, 2014 at 10:37 am55 stars
                      The book The Power of Poppy Pendle is the best book ever! This book is about a girl named Poppy. She was born with the blood of a witch. But all she wants to do is bake and her parents won’t let her. This book is so great I cried when I finished the book! I give this book 5 stars! So I would read this book!