The Phantom of the Post Office (43 Old Cemetery Road)

Book 4 of 4 in the 43 Old Cemetery Road Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.915786
The letter-loving trio at Spence Mansion has something to grieve about—Ghastly’s post office is about to close, which will cut off their connection to their fans. A new invention called VEXT-mail is threatening to replace not only letters, but books, hair dryers, and even garage door openers! Could the mysterious occupant of P.O. Box 5 and his seemingly sinister plan save the doomed post office? Will he strike down Ghastly’s beloved ghostwriter in the process? In this fourth book in the award-winning 43 Old Cemetery Road series, eleven-year-old Seymour Hope and his new friend, Wy Fye,
must solve this postmortem mystery . . . before it’s too late!
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0547519745
ISBN-13: 9780547519746
9 Book Reviews
  • headream100
    headream100Friday, December 20, 2013 at 5:28 am
    I didn't really read this book yet, but I'm going to the library tomorrow anyway, so why not borrow a book or two? ;)
    • lsf1
      lsf1Thursday, April 25, 2013 at 5:43 pm55 starsFeatured
      In the fourth book to this series, the Seymour, Olive, and Grumply have somehting on their minds. The Ghastly Post Office will be closing to introduce VEXT-mail, a new way of emailing, texting, and hair dryers, and much more! the ghost and Grumply aren't that excited, but Seymour would love to give it a try. But does the mysterious owner of PO box 5 have something to do with it? In this awesome edition to the series, have fun trying to figure out this mystery!
      • madelinelulu
        madelineluluThursday, March 28, 2013 at 8:50 pm44 stars
        This book is amazing! I really liked it. Its the fourth book in the 43 Cemetery Road series. While it would be helpful to have read all the books in the series, you can still follow the story and enjoy book four on its own. The author Kate Klise writes the book as a series of letters between the main characters and the book contains great illustrations done by the author's sister, Sarah Klise. The main character is an eleven year old boy named Seymour Hope. He lives with his adoptive parents, a ghost named Olive and an author named Ignatius Grumpley in the old Spence Mansion. The three of them write and illustrate books together. This book begins with the family receiving a mysterious letter warning that "the end is near" and signed only "fan". They then learn that the local post office is closing because of a new thing called Vext-mail. It's like text but even better!!! You wear the Vext-veil which is a hat with all these cool buttons like the hair gel button and the lip balm button. The thing that makes it text savvy is that there is a T.V in the Vext-veil and it skypes the person you want to talk to. It threatens to replace books, letters, garage door openers, and even microwaves! A new character arrives on the scene named Wi Fye who becomes Seymour's friend and together they try to solve the mystery of what the letters are warning them about and they also work to save the Post Office. The book is funny and also a little suspenseful as the mystery unfolds and the reader learns about characters and stories from the past and present. I especially liked the character of Wi Fye who always writes to Seymour in text abbreviations. I would recommend this book to readers in 4th - 6th grade. Its funny but it also actually makes you think about how much we take the Post Office for granted and how much technology is taking over our lives.
        • KacieTuesday, March 26, 2013 at 7:44 pm
          I also really enjoyed this book. I liked how they connected the book The Phantom of the Opera, with this book. It really became a mystery! The mystery was really fun, and once you solved it, it was like "ohhh!" I liked how they wrote this book in letters and notes. It was a great 4th book in this series!
          • gemstar
            gemstarSunday, March 17, 2013 at 6:08 pm44 starsFeatured
            This was a great 4th addition to the series. I could relate to what was happening, because it's true that technology is taking over in this day and age. Like the previous book in the series, there was a mystery that I was trying to solve the whole time. It was great!
            • borntoswim
              borntoswimSunday, March 17, 2013 at 2:06 pm44 starsFeatured
              This was a really great addition to the 43 Old Cemetery Road series. It is the fourth book in the series and personally one of my favorites. Something mysterious is happening in Ghastly. The age of letters is coming to an end and the post office in shutting down. There is something in mailbox 5 writing letters to The Spence Mansion and calling itself and phantom. But the end may lead to a shocking secret, and envy. Also, the boy makes and new friend. This book is mysterious and exciting at the same way. Told in transcripts, newspaper clippings, letters, and pictures, it will leave you one the edge of your seat the whole time.
              • abercrombiegurl
                abercrombiegurlTuesday, December 25, 2012 at 7:44 am55 stars
                ohhh i reallly want to read this boook!!!!!
                • mlawesome
                  mlawesomeMonday, December 24, 2012 at 11:37 am55 stars
                  So good!
                  • liberb73
                    liberb73Friday, October 19, 2012 at 3:57 pm
                    loved the phatom, best book ever