Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4n/a3.854663
THE PET WAR is a hilarious story about the timeless battles of dog vs. cat, brother vs. sister, know-it-all vs. know-nothing.

Eleven-year-old Otto wants a dog. His twelve-year-old perfect sister, Lexi, wants a cat. Their mother, who works very long hours as a nurse, wants neither. Pets are expensive so who's going to pay for everything? And what happens to the pet when the siblings are at their dad's for the weekend?
Otto has an idea. What if he got a job and earned enough money to pay for the dog? Then Lexi has to open her big mouth. She proposes that whichever sibling can raise enough money first will decide which pet they get. Oddly enough, their mom and dad agree.
With Otto and Lexi each out to defeat the other, their business plans become more elaborate and involved. As the competition gets fiercer, the stakes get higher, and the battle lines have been drawn, so let the Pet War begin. . . .
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on October 29, 2013 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545513197
ISBN-13: 9780545513197
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Mac26Saturday, June 15, 2019 at 7:36 am
    I love this book it is so much fun to read I think everyone should read this book. It is an awesome book!
    • BriannaFriday, May 25, 2018 at 1:06 pm
      this book was so fun to red i really enjoyed it I couldnt stop reading it. GOOD JOB AUTHOR!!!!!!!!
      • #13@gmail.comTuesday, February 27, 2018 at 5:43 pm
        This book was funny. Just for people who have siblings
        • suvifaneteTuesday, December 19, 2017 at 7:47 am
          it was so good you can not not want to read this book
          • suvifanete
            suvifaneteTuesday, December 19, 2017 at 7:43 am55 stars
            it was so funny you can not not want
            • ak47_lilant
              ak47_lilantMonday, February 27, 2017 at 11:23 am
              i like this book this book is cool
              • gest jojoMonday, February 27, 2017 at 11:00 am
                i have 2 cats and after i get rid of my rabbit i might get a dog
                • gest jojoMonday, February 27, 2017 at 10:58 am
                  in my class we are reading chapter by chapter im on chapter 3 but all ready i love the book
                  • LOL123Monday, February 27, 2017 at 12:27 am
                    Otto wants a dog and Lexi wants a cat. Who will win the battle? It is brother vs sister. I love this book a wish to read more books by Allan Woodrow.
                    • yoyo6520
                      yoyo6520Wednesday, October 12, 2016 at 7:52 am55 stars
                      Otto likes dogs and Lexy likes cats. They both have to raise $500 before the end of the month for them to get there pet. Who will win? It's brother V.S sister. Cat V.S dog. This is a really funny book.