The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on December 29, 2009 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423121708
ISBN-13: 9781423121701
1457 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ohiost8
    ohiost8Thursday, October 22, 2020 at 3:19 am55 stars
    I loved this book so much and it is just a great book I can not even talk about it without getting jummpy!
    • myth1c7
      myth1c7Monday, October 19, 2020 at 9:38 am55 stars
      awesome series.
      • sreadergirl
        sreadergirlThursday, October 15, 2020 at 1:06 pm55 stars
        I've been wanting to read this book for a while now. Finally my mom bought me the first book. I read it and LOVED it. It's amazing!!!
        • raindrop07
          raindrop07Monday, September 21, 2020 at 9:33 am55 stars
          Percy Jackson never wanted to be special. He just knew that there was something wrong with him. Because after he is expelled out of another private school and is attacked by a monster that used to be his math teacher, he knows something is going wrong. The Lightning Theif by Rick Riordan is the first book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. It tells the story of Percy and how he finds out who he really is, goes on a life threatning quest, dodges monsters around every corner, and finally, takes his place as a Half Blood, half god, half human among the others at Half-Blood Hill summer camp. This book is great and I would totally reccommend it! It is filled with adventure, action, friendship, trust, loyalty and courage :)
          • aaa57
            aaa57Friday, September 11, 2020 at 9:05 am55 stars
            This series is for anyone who loves action, adventure, myths, humor, plot twists and more! If you liked the Warriors, or Wing of Fire series this was made for you, I’m in 8th grade and still love them! It’s about a dyslexic and ADHD boy named Percy Jackson, after an encounter with a Greek monster that he kills with a magic pen named Riptide he discovers that he is a Half-blood who’s godly parent is Poseidon. When he goes to a special camp for half-bloods he meets Annabeth Chase a daughter of Athena, they get sent on a quest with Percy’s best friend Grover Underwood. They must recover Zeus‘s master bolt which the Olympians think Percy stole. But they run into another problem, Percy is being called by a mysterious voice from Tartarus. Who is calling him? Who stole the master bold? What will he do? You will have to find out yourself in: Percy Jackson and the Olympians!
            • ttvangel_ogcaln
              Angel Olvera PesinaMonday, August 31, 2020 at 9:58 am55 stars
              ya have sean the move its so good
              • artemiskid
                artemiskidSaturday, October 3, 2020 at 7:49 am55 stars
                the movie is nothing like the book the book is amazing I love it but the movie it isnt bad but its nothing like the book
              • ranchergirl8
                ranchergirl8Saturday, August 29, 2020 at 11:56 am55 stars
                love these books, have read all of them! Percy is so funny and it has a lot of action.
                • itsaoceansheep
                  itsaoceansheepSaturday, August 15, 2020 at 1:10 pm55 stars
                  Loved the book and I did not anticipate all of the plot twists. I read the audio book version and it was awesome.
                  • grlsrule
                    grlsruleTuesday, August 11, 2020 at 12:34 pm55 stars
                    I recommend this book to those who like Greek Mythology/Gods, Adventure, Comedies. The Lightning Thief is about a boy who has dyslexia and ADHD named Percy. A lot of weird stuff has happened to him. He finds out: The Greek gods are real, his friend is half- goat, his dad is Poseidon , and the lighting bolt which Zeus uses for thunderstorms is missing! Will Percy and his friends find the bolt in time? Grades 3-6
                    • dogo_maniac
                      dogo_maniacTuesday, August 4, 2020 at 12:01 pm55 stars
                      This is my FAVORITE BOOK EVER. it's a about Percy Jackson a demigod who has a big destiny but he'll have to figure that out through the story as he Gets to Camp Half-blood a demigod training camp, meets Annabeth, Clarisse, and Luke. But his mom has disappeared and in the end he'll have to make a great decision.