The Penultimate Peril (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 12)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12V7.440557
After any harrowing struggle, it is nice to consider checking into a hotel for a rest. In fact, this might be just the break Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire could use after their wearying deep-sea adventure.

A hotel can be a good choice for any family vacation. With so many floors, such a variety of rooms, and a curious array of guests, spending time in the safety of the right hotel can be the perfect learning environment for children of any age. A keen researcher like Klaus, an adept inventor like Violet, and a sharp-toothed culinary master like Sunny are all sure to find engaging diversions during their stay.

Regardless of how they pass their time while at a hotel, the three siblings will be sure to take in all the interesting sights and sounds -- and write them down -- just in case this episode turns out to be the darkest yet in a series of unfortunate events.

Paperback, 368 pages
Published on September 1, 2012 by Egmont Books Ltd
ISBN-10: 1405266171
ISBN-13: 9781405266178
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hedgeguin2
    hedgeguin2Thursday, August 1, 2019 at 1:28 pm55 stars
    The Penultimate Peril is such a chilling, but thrilling story! (it rhymes!) The Baudelaires go to the last safe place of V.F.D, Hotel Denounment, to find all the former people they met along their journey. The Baudelaires are disguised as concierges to not be noticed in the hotel. Through a tragic stay at the hotel, the Baudelaires are discovered, but they aren’t letting Count Olaf and his minions get them! But, is that the only choice they have?
    • wiccanbat666
      wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:28 pm55 stars
      This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
      • panda13
        panda13Sunday, May 6, 2018 at 5:30 pm55 stars
        It is the whole package mystery, action, adventure all you could ever want to read in a book! I am loving it
        • fywazusamy
          fywazusamyFriday, November 3, 2017 at 11:19 am55 stars
          This book is sooooo good! There are a lot of new characters that you meet and some secrects revealed. But a new characters has something really bad happen. Read to find . out.
          • eyp
            eypMonday, September 26, 2016 at 8:21 am44 stars
            A suspenseful,funny,and mysterious next to last book.
            • unknownFriday, September 9, 2016 at 9:36 am
              i loved this book so much
              • SofiFriday, September 9, 2016 at 9:36 am
                I'm not done with the book, but I'm excited to finish it. While you read the book, the suspense starts building up. There is not one boring moment. I couldn't put down the book!
                • cuddles13
                  cuddles13Sunday, June 7, 2015 at 7:09 pm
                  I like Kit Snicket. This one is probly my fave
                  • cuddles13
                    cuddles13Sunday, June 7, 2015 at 7:08 pm
                    At least i can spell the title! What a relief [:
                    • booknutjob
                      booknutjobTuesday, June 2, 2015 at 1:06 pm55 stars
                      This book is really great. The Bauledaires meet a lot of the people they've seen in other books, from Justice Strauss (book one) to Hugo, Colette, and Kevin (book nine). The Bauledaires are forced to commit treacherous acts, and the book ends with the Bauledaires and Count Olaf escaping from a burning Hotel Denouement.