The Penultimate Peril (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 12)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12V7.440557
After any harrowing struggle, it is nice to consider checking into a hotel for a rest. In fact, this might be just the break Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire could use after their wearying deep-sea adventure.

A hotel can be a good choice for any family vacation. With so many floors, such a variety of rooms, and a curious array of guests, spending time in the safety of the right hotel can be the perfect learning environment for children of any age. A keen researcher like Klaus, an adept inventor like Violet, and a sharp-toothed culinary master like Sunny are all sure to find engaging diversions during their stay.

Regardless of how they pass their time while at a hotel, the three siblings will be sure to take in all the interesting sights and sounds -- and write them down -- just in case this episode turns out to be the darkest yet in a series of unfortunate events.

Paperback, 368 pages
Published on September 1, 2012 by Egmont Books Ltd
ISBN-10: 1405266171
ISBN-13: 9781405266178
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • fywazusamy
    fywazusamyFriday, November 3, 2017 at 11:19 am55 stars
    This book is sooooo good! There are a lot of new characters that you meet and some secrects revealed. But a new characters has something really bad happen. Read to find . out.
    • eyp
      eypMonday, September 26, 2016 at 8:21 am44 stars
      A suspenseful,funny,and mysterious next to last book.
      • unknownFriday, September 9, 2016 at 9:36 am
        i loved this book so much
        • SofiFriday, September 9, 2016 at 9:36 am
          I'm not done with the book, but I'm excited to finish it. While you read the book, the suspense starts building up. There is not one boring moment. I couldn't put down the book!
          • cuddles13
            cuddles13Sunday, June 7, 2015 at 7:09 pm
            I like Kit Snicket. This one is probly my fave
            • cuddles13
              cuddles13Sunday, June 7, 2015 at 7:08 pm
              At least i can spell the title! What a relief [:
              • booknutjob
                booknutjobTuesday, June 2, 2015 at 1:06 pm55 stars
                This book is really great. The Bauledaires meet a lot of the people they've seen in other books, from Justice Strauss (book one) to Hugo, Colette, and Kevin (book nine). The Bauledaires are forced to commit treacherous acts, and the book ends with the Bauledaires and Count Olaf escaping from a burning Hotel Denouement.
                • joebob1458
                  joebob1458Sunday, December 7, 2014 at 12:17 pm
                  Ive read all 14 books
                  • anajas1
                    anajas1Sunday, November 5, 2017 at 12:00 pm55 stars
                    Joebab1458, there are only 13 books....
                  • emmabookworm5
                    emmabookworm5Sunday, October 19, 2014 at 6:31 pm55 stars
                    This book is awesome!!!
                    • jiyoon2446
                      jiyoon2446Thursday, November 15, 2012 at 6:40 am55 stars
                      I read all of these series, and it is great! I loved this book so much that I read it over four times.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      animal lover wrote:

                      I loved the puppy and I wish I h...
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...

                      gusto
                      gusto wrote:

                      This is a great story!
                      The Tapper Twins Go to War (With...

                      madimin05
                      madimin05 wrote:

                      Yes, I have read the book and th...
                      The Land of Stories: Worlds Collide

                      immaweirdo14

                      i wanted to read this book becau...
                      Tom the Turkey (Thanksgiving Boo...