The Penultimate Peril (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 12)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12V7.440557
After any harrowing struggle, it is nice to consider checking into a hotel for a rest. In fact, this might be just the break Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire could use after their wearying deep-sea adventure.

A hotel can be a good choice for any family vacation. With so many floors, such a variety of rooms, and a curious array of guests, spending time in the safety of the right hotel can be the perfect learning environment for children of any age. A keen researcher like Klaus, an adept inventor like Violet, and a sharp-toothed culinary master like Sunny are all sure to find engaging diversions during their stay.

Regardless of how they pass their time while at a hotel, the three siblings will be sure to take in all the interesting sights and sounds -- and write them down -- just in case this episode turns out to be the darkest yet in a series of unfortunate events.

Paperback, 368 pages
Published on September 1, 2012 by Egmont Books Ltd
ISBN-10: 1405266171
ISBN-13: 9781405266178
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • eyp
    eypMonday, September 26, 2016 at 8:21 am44 stars
    A suspenseful,funny,and mysterious next to last book.
    • unknownFriday, September 9, 2016 at 9:36 am
      i loved this book so much
      • SofiFriday, September 9, 2016 at 9:36 am
        I'm not done with the book, but I'm excited to finish it. While you read the book, the suspense starts building up. There is not one boring moment. I couldn't put down the book!
        • cuddles13
          cuddles13Sunday, June 7, 2015 at 7:09 pm
          I like Kit Snicket. This one is probly my fave
          • cuddles13
            cuddles13Sunday, June 7, 2015 at 7:08 pm
            At least i can spell the title! What a relief [:
            • booknutjob
              booknutjobTuesday, June 2, 2015 at 1:06 pm55 stars
              This book is really great. The Bauledaires meet a lot of the people they've seen in other books, from Justice Strauss (book one) to Hugo, Colette, and Kevin (book nine). The Bauledaires are forced to commit treacherous acts, and the book ends with the Bauledaires and Count Olaf escaping from a burning Hotel Denouement.
              • joebob1458
                joebob1458Sunday, December 7, 2014 at 12:17 pm
                Ive read all 14 books
                • emmabookworm5
                  emmabookworm5Sunday, October 19, 2014 at 6:31 pm55 stars
                  This book is awesome!!!
                  • jiyoon2446
                    jiyoon2446Thursday, November 15, 2012 at 6:40 am55 stars
                    I read all of these series, and it is great! I loved this book so much that I read it over four times.

                    Recent Kids Book Reviews

                    aracha
                    aracha wrote:

                    This is one of my favorite books...
                    The Truth About Stacey: Full-Col...

                    alestr1718
                    alestr1718 wrote:

                    I'd love to read this.
                    Surviving High School: A Novel

                    Jake Paul wrote:

                    Losers I already read it. Hahaha...
                    Wimpy Kid Movie Diary: The Next ...

                    Adhgjlggejj wrote:

                    I have that book already!!!?!
                    The Dragon of Fortune (Geronimo ...