Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10T5.664736
With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

When summer comes around, it's off to the beach for Rosalind . . . and off to Maine with Aunt Claire for the rest of the Penderwick girls, as well as their old friend, Jeffrey.

That leaves Skye as OAP (oldest available Penderwick)—a terrifying notion for all, but for Skye especially. Things look good as they settle into their cozy cottage, with a rocky shore, enthusiastic seagulls, a just-right corner store, and a charming next-door neighbor. But can Skye hold it together long enough to figure out Rosalind's directions about not letting Batty explode? Will Jane's Love Survey come to a tragic conclusion after she meets the alluring Dominic? Is Batty—contrary to all accepted wisdom—the only Penderwick capable of carrying a tune? And will Jeffrey be able to keep peace between the girls . . . these girls who are his second, and most heartfelt, family?

It's a rollicking ride as the Penderwicks continue their unforgettable adventures in a story filled with laughs and joyful tears!
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on May 10, 2011 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375858512
ISBN-13: 9780375858512
10 Book Reviews
  • hannah150
    hannah150Tuesday, June 9, 2020 at 10:27 am55 stars
    This book is so amazing! I have literally read 9 times. You have to read it!
    • ZellaTuesday, June 9, 2020 at 10:16 am
      I've read this book like, 8 times. I love it!
      • roxanne3
        roxanne3Thursday, May 14, 2020 at 10:39 am55 stars
        This book is awesome!! So, in this one, the family is split up. Rosy has gone on vacation with her best friend, Mr. Penderwick and his new wife Iantha have gone on a honeymoon, and the rest of the family is in Maine with Aunt Claire. There is many accidents, many late nights, and many arguments, but in the end the Penderwicks friend Jeffery has found his long-lost father, the girls are safely home with their parents, and Aunt Claire may or may not have a new crush... Read this book to get all the fun details!!
        • sylvie55555
          sylvie55555Monday, May 11, 2020 at 4:45 pm55 stars
          I really liked this book! In this book, the new Penderwick family is being split up for the first time. Batty, Jane, and Skye are heading to Point Mouette with Jeffery and thier Aunt, and Rosy is going to New Jersey with her best friend Anna. Mr. Penderwick, Isnatha, and Ben are heading to England for a business trip. Skye is going to be the OAP, and she's nervous. Plus, an unexpected discovery is made, and Skye isn't sure what to do, especially when Aunt Claire sprains her ankle. Will they survive without Rosy? Read the book to find out! I gave this book 5 stars! Happy Reading!
          • reader_red
            reader_redThursday, May 16, 2019 at 5:03 pm55 stars
            With Daddy in England on a honey moon and Rosalind off to New Jersey with her bestie, that Leaves Skye to keep an eye on her younger siblings on their trip with Aunt Claire to Maine. Skye worries constantly that someone is going to get hurt.
            • bookworm 15Thursday, January 25, 2018 at 10:24 am
              I don't think Iv'e read a better book in my life. It was such a surprise when Jefferey found his father
              • otter
                otterSunday, October 13, 2013 at 11:50 am
                are there any more books by Jane birdsall? All three penderwicks books are super good. This one is about Skye having to be OAP
                • majorerika6
                  majorerika6Friday, November 23, 2012 at 4:23 pm55 stars
                  i have read all three of her books about the penderwicks
                  • ElizabethSunday, November 11, 2012 at 6:51 am
                    I loved this book.
                    • bluff
                      bluffTuesday, December 20, 2011 at 2:38 pm
                      I found this book at the school library and when I read the back, it seemed really interesting so I borroed it for winter break.