If your house were on fire, what one thing would you save? Newbery Medalist Linda Sue Park explores different answers to this provocative question in linked poems that capture the diverse voices of a middle school class. Illustrated with black-and-white art.

When a teacher asks her class what one thing they would save in an emergency, some students know the answer right away. Others come to their decisions more slowly. And some change their minds when they hear their classmates’ responses. A lively dialog ignites as the students discover unexpected facets of one another—and themselves. With her ear for authentic dialog and knowledge of tweens’ priorities and emotions, Linda Sue Park brings the varied voices of an inclusive classroom to life through carefully honed, engaging, and instantly accessible verse.

Hardcover, 72 pages
Published on March 16, 2021 by Clarion Books
ISBN-10: 1328515133
ISBN-13: 9781328515131
9 Book Reviews
  • bsc
    bscWednesday, April 14, 2021 at 7:34 am22 stars
    This book perspective was a bit challenging to understand, but had a sweet message. A teacher asks her class what they would bring if a fire came. Just one thing. This sparks a discussion of [people's life and viewpoints. Overall, a short and confusing book- but okay. Happy reading!
    • dream_beyond
      dream_beyondFriday, April 2, 2021 at 1:53 am33 stars
      I do understand this book but I did not know who's perspective it was. I personally did not enjoy this book but I still encourage you to give this book a try! Who knows, maybe you will like this book...
      • elmc20116
        elmc20116Thursday, April 1, 2021 at 6:57 am55 stars
        Let's all put one thing we'll save. Here's mine: My SUPER-good camera!!
        • artimiixonline
          artimiixonlineThursday, April 1, 2021 at 6:08 am
          This book shows that although in reality you might like lots of things, but sometimes there is one thing that you truly value.♡
          • unipug2
            unipug2Tuesday, March 23, 2021 at 11:53 am
            I heard everyone seems to be reading this, so maybe I will give The One Thing You’d Save a try.
            • unipug2
              unipug2Monday, March 22, 2021 at 1:20 pm
              I want to read it
              • angelinad
                angelinadMonday, March 22, 2021 at 12:02 pm
                Is this a good book? I was thinking about reading it.
                • notdaniela
                  notdanielaTuesday, March 16, 2021 at 11:13 am44 stars
                  I like it a lot! It's really good but I think some parts weren't as interesting as the others.
                  • gophilly
                    gophillyTuesday, March 16, 2021 at 10:39 am44 stars
                    GOOD BOOK!exept don't know who's perspective it is by....