Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.774015

The beautifully romantic third book in Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series! The One will captivate readers who love dystopian YA fiction and fairy tales, and is perfect for fans of Veronica Roth's Divergent, Ally Condie's Matched, or Lauren Oliver's Delirium.

Entering the Selection changed America Singer's life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspenโ€”and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she's made her choice . . . and she's prepared to fight for the future she wants.

Includes a sneak peek at The Heir, the highly anticipated fourth book in the Selection series!

Paperback, 368 pages
Published on May 5, 2015 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062060007
ISBN-13: 9780062060006
6 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • devenitycrystal
    devenitycrystalMonday, June 18, 2018 at 10:27 am55 stars
    This is the third book in the series, so if you have not read the first two books don't read this review if you don't want a spoiler! This book has some serious romance ;) and has the best plot twists. If you like royalty books and some romance, these series are great for you!! So start reading!! It is amazing, how Kiera Cass wrote these books. Maxon and America love each other, but Maxon seems to doubt it as to the guard Aspen Leger. But in the end, a happy ending is quite obvious. And the next ones are about their daughter, Eadlynn!
    • pinkspark1200
      pinkspark1200Saturday, October 29, 2016 at 8:41 am55 stars
      I love the selection it is like you are living the life of a princess yourself I almost have all the books.๐Ÿ˜ธ๐Ÿ˜ธ๐Ÿ’ฉ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž.
      • belle09
        belle09Saturday, January 2, 2016 at 9:45 am55 stars
        The book is about a young man named Maxon trying to find a wife through the selection process ,all the girls from the city can be entered into a completion where a shortlist of girls are invited to the palace in hope of being chose. You read the book through America singers point of view where you see her dilemma between prince Maxon or Aspen the boy she has known all of her life.
        • angelay
          angelayWednesday, October 7, 2015 at 10:48 pm44 stars
          I have read the previous two books in the series before but have never gotten a chance to read the third. I finished this last week and felt like the previous two books were much better, but at least I liked the ending. In the book, America Singer is just an ordinary girl that suddenly meets the prince of her dreams and has to fight for him, against several other girls who are vying for Maxon's love. I really liked the way the author crafted the characters. America isn't perfect. She has her own insecurities and she can't make decisions immediately, like a queen should, but that's okay, because no one is perfect. When a lot of obstacles come in Maxon's and America's way, I start to feel like they are star-crossed lovers, but the ending wasn't surprising at all. It was very predictable, yet sweet. Great read :)
          • live2read
            live2readSunday, June 28, 2015 at 10:34 am55 stars
            This book is probably my favourite book ever! (and for a book lover like me, that says a lot!) this book is where America will have to make her final choice. the prince the guard? love, action, sacrifice, dedication, and loyalty will keep you hooked until you finish this book,and even then, it will leave you wondering what will happen.
            • fany13
              fany13Sunday, June 14, 2015 at 12:29 pm33 starsFeatured
              America Singer is still part of the Selection, but after what happened to her friend Marlee, and almost having to leave the Selection, she is not the same as before. I believe this book was better than the Elite, but not better than the Selection. In the Elite, Maxon tells her that he likes her, and that he would like her to be with him, meaning that she would just have to tell him she loves him to end the Selection, yet at the beginning of the book she is trying to seduce him, which is pointless. She thinks many times about telling Maxon that she loves him, yet never says so, because according to her, she is afraid, since once she says the words, there is no taking them back. We encounter another scene where she has trouble keeping a decision too, which makes us question whether or not she would make a good queen. If only her character were different, the book would be more enjoyable.