Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.626263

Winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller!

This stirring and unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendships. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated novel is told from the point-of-view of Ivan himself.

Having spent 27 years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.

The One and Only Ivan was hailed as a best book of the year by Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Amazon, demonstrating it is a true classic in the making. In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create Ivan's unforgettable first-person narration in a story of friendship, art, and hope. An author's note depicts the differences between the fictional story and true events.

Kindle Edition, 320 pages
Published on January 17, 2012 by HarperCollins
381 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mkWednesday, November 18, 2020 at 7:07 am
    AWESOME
    • piggyfan
      piggyfanWednesday, November 18, 2020 at 6:35 am55 stars
      omg! you need to read this book now. it makes you happy, sad, scared. its about Ivan, a gorilla who is trapped at a carnival in a mall. he's trying to get out. he try to tell other in a interesting way , through art. Ivan is an artist. he can draw pictures . when a new elephant comes in, Ivan worries he won't be the center of attention anymore. read the book to find out what happens! I think that this book is amazing. I really recommend it. you should check it out at your library or buy it at a bookstore or online!
      • jkbear
        jkbearTuesday, November 17, 2020 at 4:13 pm55 stars
        I love this book
        • UnknownMonday, November 16, 2020 at 6:33 pm
          So we like read this book and I heard it is really good but I didn't like it but it is your choice if you want to read it but I prefer not to.
          • lionlover126
            lionlover126Monday, November 9, 2020 at 12:55 pm
            I heard that this book is really good bye some of of my friends so I thought I would give it a chance so I will check it out now 😁😁😁
            • harper611
              harper611Thursday, November 5, 2020 at 8:30 am44 stars
              I recommend it to people who like animals. It was a really good book that inspired me to take more care of my animals.
              • jb9
                jb9Friday, October 30, 2020 at 12:49 pm55 stars
                I loved it and my teacher loanded it to me so I could read it whithout having to buy it.
                • sharkfun123
                  sharkfun123Monday, October 26, 2020 at 3:03 pm55 stars
                  This is a really good book because I think that Ruby is a cute character in this book and I really enjoy how emotional this book is.
                  • catgirl223
                    catgirl223Friday, October 16, 2020 at 8:16 am55 stars
                    love his book
                    • gypsy1
                      gypsy1Friday, October 9, 2020 at 8:23 am55 stars
                      Great book that I shared with my whole family. It will grab your attention and you won't want to put it down until you finish reading it. I read it on my own first in 3rd grade. Then my 4th grade class read it together.