Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.626263

Winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller!

This stirring and unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendships. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated novel is told from the point-of-view of Ivan himself.

Having spent 27 years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.

The One and Only Ivan was hailed as a best book of the year by Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Amazon, demonstrating it is a true classic in the making. In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create Ivan's unforgettable first-person narration in a story of friendship, art, and hope. An author's note depicts the differences between the fictional story and true events.

Paperback, 340 pages
Published on March 13, 2019 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1432864033
ISBN-13: 9781432864033
334 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • adearTuesday, February 19, 2019 at 3:23 pm
    they say the book is good i read and now my brother wants to read it the book is good my brother likes it and i do to
    • queenmads
      queenmadsMonday, January 28, 2019 at 2:28 pm
      it's awsome it tells a story of a silverback gorilla it shares its life in a domain\mall he sufers deaths and challlanges towards the middle it shares him going to the zoo and he meets another one of him a girl his life gets turned around.
      • GeoTuesday, December 18, 2018 at 6:23 am
        its nicer in the book
        • kaylaroo
          kaylarooMonday, December 17, 2018 at 3:58 pm55 stars
          this book is sooo good that every morning at reading period at school I would let out a big sigh when the teacher mrs. pray would say "students, please put away your books"
          • olliebob
            olliebobThursday, November 8, 2018 at 9:33 am44 stars
            This book was beautiful and pretty sad. Ivan is a gorilla who was taken from his home when he was just a child. He was taken to a shopping mall and lived in a cage with an elephant and some other animals. He painted a lot and eventually was taken to a zoo where he was finally able to meet other gorillas. Overall, it was an amazing, based on a true story. I would definitely recommend it to pretty much anyone, though it's kinda sad for really little kids.
            • read it its okMonday, October 22, 2018 at 10:48 am
              ive read it its good not as good i thought it would be better
              • Stuff and stuffSunday, July 29, 2018 at 11:44 am
                Not the best.
                • dorks_r_us
                  dorks_r_usMonday, June 25, 2018 at 2:00 pm55 stars
                  Ivan goes through a lot of trouble. He goes through sadness and pain and more. I cried in some parts of the book. I still love this book. It's always gonna stay with me.
                  • gagglegoogle
                    gagglegoogleThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:59 am55 stars
                    this is a amazing and moving book i read 2 or 3 times its about ivan the gorilla he lives in a shoping mall and was taken away from his family when a new elephant arives things start to slowly change
                    • bybimolypafady
                      bybimolypafadyThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:45 am55 stars
                      I think that is a good and sad book

                      Our Apps and Plugins