Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.626263

Winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller!

This stirring and unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendships. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated novel is told from the point-of-view of Ivan himself.

Having spent 27 years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.

The One and Only Ivan was hailed as a best book of the year by Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Amazon, demonstrating it is a true classic in the making. In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create Ivan's unforgettable first-person narration in a story of friendship, art, and hope. An author's note depicts the differences between the fictional story and true events.

Paperback, 340 pages
Published on March 13, 2019 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1432864033
ISBN-13: 9781432864033
346 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • shayshaygirl25
    shayshaygirl25Thursday, August 15, 2019 at 5:13 am44 stars
    This book is heart-warming and also super sad. Its a true story about a gorilla named Ivan who lives in a shopping mall.he has friends like stella and ruby, but he also loves to paint. thats why he was so famous!!! Its a really sad book and I only gave it 4 stars because its not my favorite, but I still recommend it!!!
    • mermer
      mermerFriday, August 9, 2019 at 6:09 pm55 stars
      This book sort of reminds me of we have to help people no matter where we are. Ivan was inside a cage but still manage to help Ruby. I would definitely recommend it.👍
      • coolkat16
        coolkat16Wednesday, June 19, 2019 at 6:56 am55 stars
        This book is a sad but amazing story of a gorilla and his friends finding a life in the world. A purpose in life.💕💕 It is a loving story.
        • lawalex
          lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 11:33 am55 stars
          I know this sounds blunt, but BUY THIS BOOK!!!! You are guaranteed to like this heart warming true story of a gorrila named Ivan, and his lovable friends.
          • ilikebunnies
            ilikebunniesWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 7:39 pm
            this is a book about a gorilla who is friends with an elephant and who is injury and dies when a baby elephant comes and the big elephants last wish is for the gorilla named ivan to take care of the baby.
            • inmemoryofcpr
              inmemoryofcprWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 6:10 pm55 stars
              This book was SUPER good and it's about a gorilla who lives in a shopping mall and some parts of the book were really sad. I would definitely recommend this.
              • shantzj
                shantzjFriday, May 24, 2019 at 8:00 am55 stars
                OMG! This book is amazing so. If you want a book to make you laugh, this is the one. It is hilarious, Ivan is a very funny character and entertaining as well. I really recommend reading this book if you are looking for a book to make you laugh.
                • im-riddikulus
                  im-riddikulusTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 4:15 am44 stars
                  This is such a great book! It's the sweet story of a gorilla and how he deals with change. I suggest this book to kids 3rd grade and under because it was so easy to read.
                  • zzayumi
                    zzayumiSunday, May 19, 2019 at 4:13 pm55 stars
                    This is a really good book! It is sad, though. The part where Stella, the elephant dies is really sad... This book is full of surprises, and I love it!
                    • elicia
                      eliciaFriday, April 19, 2019 at 7:20 pm44 stars
                      My class is reading the book!
                      • ellasin
                        ellasinMonday, May 13, 2019 at 6:36 pm
                        Mine too!