Winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller!

This stirring and unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendships. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated novel is told from the point-of-view of Ivan himself.

Having spent 27 years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.

The One and Only Ivan was hailed as a best book of the year by Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Amazon, demonstrating it is a true classic in the making. In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create Ivan's unforgettable first-person narration in a story of friendship, art, and hope. An author's note depicts the differences between the fictional story and true events.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on October 27, 2015 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062425242
ISBN-13: 9780062425249
269 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • vidia_the_fairy
    vidia_the_fairyTuesday, September 19, 2017 at 5:11 pm55 stars
    I loved this book so very much! I read it at least three times when I was in fourth grade! Now that I'm in the eighth grade, I haven't seen this book in a long while, but I can assure you that I'll be reading it much more. I fully recommend this book to all ages!
    • CadyTuesday, September 12, 2017 at 8:42 pm
      COOL! I loved it ! Supper !like right in the middle of it I so sped thru like so exited! LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!👱🏻‍♀️
      • crazycat
        crazycatTuesday, September 12, 2017 at 3:28 pm55 stars
        This book was about a gorilla who was separated from his family and brought to live in a small zoo. The entire book is written from the gorilla's perspective and is very interesting. I would definity reccomend this book for anyone.
        • turtlenicole
          turtlenicoleMonday, September 11, 2017 at 3:47 pm55 stars
          The One and Only Ivan is one of the most touching books I have ever read. Ivan is a kind gorilla who is stuck in a cage at a mall/video game center. Ivan had a friend with him named Stella the elephant. Sadly, she died and made Ivan promise to take care of Ruby (the new baby elephant who ended up at the mall) After hearing stories from Stella and Ruby, he was aware of the harsh abuse the animals received and wanted Ruby to be in a safe home, away from the mall. Unlike most gorillas, Ivan is talented in art. He used finger paints to create a sign for the humans to put on the billboard near the mall. People saw the sign and protested. Eventually, Ruby and Ivan found a safe home at the zoo and Ivan found a mate and Ruby found a loving family. Ivan's promise to Stella was fulfilled.
          • annette
            annetteMonday, September 4, 2017 at 1:53 pm44 stars
            This was a moving story about a gorilla who grew up in a cape for twenty seven years and it seemed normal, until he meets a baby elephant taken from the wild. I really liked the plot and think it has a lot of meaning especially since I just learned that the book was based off a true story.
            • demosthenes
              demosthenesFriday, August 18, 2017 at 8:21 am44 stars
              This story was light and fun. It shows the crazy life of Ivan, a silver-back gorilla, and Ruby, an elephant baby. Ivan had grown used to his old cage in his zoo. watching tv and painting for fans. but when Ruby comes in he is forced to view the world differently and think of someone other than himself. it was a great book and short.
              • bobelly
                bobellyMonday, August 7, 2017 at 1:44 pm44 stars
                It was a good book but it was very sad. I liked how Ivan saved Ruby and I liked how they made him an artist. I think that it's cool when a story has some real life and some fantasy in it.
                • rah-rah
                  rah-rahTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 2:50 pm55 stars
                  I loved this book so much. I started reading the book than gave it up. But now that I finished it and tried it again I regret giving it up before.
                  • nonstopreader
                    nonstopreaderMonday, July 24, 2017 at 1:39 pm55 stars
                    My book club read this book and it was very touching. I recommend this book to anyone. The book club is 4th- 6th grade so anyone can read it. It is well worth the time it takes to read.
                    • kgautam
                      kgautamMonday, July 17, 2017 at 1:42 pm44 stars
                      Meet Ivan: a gorrrila at a mall. he is an artist who sees the through different perspectives.I love how Ivan is his own character and has his own personality. This is a story aboutlove, frendship, and mainly, HOPE.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      sparklingirl

                      i know everytime i say borrow eb...
                      The Isle of the Lost: A Descenda...

                      roonies
                      roonies wrote:

                      I really liked this book. I went...
                      Real Friends

                      roonies
                      roonies wrote:

                      I read this book because my brot...
                      Catching Fire (The Hunger Games)

                      roonies
                      roonies wrote:

                      I read this book because my brot...
                      The Hunger Games (The Hunger Gam...