Winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller!

This stirring and unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendships. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated novel is told from the point-of-view of Ivan himself.

Having spent 27 years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.

The One and Only Ivan was hailed as a best book of the year by Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Amazon, demonstrating it is a true classic in the making. In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create Ivan's unforgettable first-person narration in a story of friendship, art, and hope. An author's note depicts the differences between the fictional story and true events.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on October 27, 2015 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062425242
ISBN-13: 9780062425249
274 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • fireninja78789
    fireninja78789Saturday, November 11, 2017 at 3:08 pm55 stars
    it had sad parts but in the end it was amazing
    • dyjadatyse
      dyjadatyseThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:18 am
      This book tells a great story about friendship and kindness. The book will make you feel a lot of emotion because it is that good.
      • saseceluve
        saseceluveWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 8:06 am55 stars
        this is a very good book
        • tasagukawo
          tasagukawoWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 8:00 am55 stars
          THIS IS MY FAVORITE BOOK! It is happy, sad, and a memorable book. It won an a award. And is such a good book.
          • boggerWednesday, September 27, 2017 at 7:10 am
            it was a great book because ivan took care of ruby
            • vidia_the_fairy
              vidia_the_fairyTuesday, September 19, 2017 at 5:11 pm55 stars
              I loved this book so very much! I read it at least three times when I was in fourth grade! Now that I'm in the eighth grade, I haven't seen this book in a long while, but I can assure you that I'll be reading it much more. I fully recommend this book to all ages!
              • CadyTuesday, September 12, 2017 at 8:42 pm
                COOL! I loved it ! Supper !like right in the middle of it I so sped thru like so exited! LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!👱🏻‍♀️
                • crazycat
                  crazycatTuesday, September 12, 2017 at 3:28 pm55 stars
                  This book was about a gorilla who was separated from his family and brought to live in a small zoo. The entire book is written from the gorilla's perspective and is very interesting. I would definity reccomend this book for anyone.
                  • turtlenicole
                    turtlenicoleMonday, September 11, 2017 at 3:47 pm55 stars
                    The One and Only Ivan is one of the most touching books I have ever read. Ivan is a kind gorilla who is stuck in a cage at a mall/video game center. Ivan had a friend with him named Stella the elephant. Sadly, she died and made Ivan promise to take care of Ruby (the new baby elephant who ended up at the mall) After hearing stories from Stella and Ruby, he was aware of the harsh abuse the animals received and wanted Ruby to be in a safe home, away from the mall. Unlike most gorillas, Ivan is talented in art. He used finger paints to create a sign for the humans to put on the billboard near the mall. People saw the sign and protested. Eventually, Ruby and Ivan found a safe home at the zoo and Ivan found a mate and Ruby found a loving family. Ivan's promise to Stella was fulfilled.
                    • annette
                      annetteMonday, September 4, 2017 at 1:53 pm44 stars
                      This was a moving story about a gorilla who grew up in a cape for twenty seven years and it seemed normal, until he meets a baby elephant taken from the wild. I really liked the plot and think it has a lot of meaning especially since I just learned that the book was based off a true story.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      amelialover24

                      OMG there is this boy in my clas...
                      The Getaway (Diary of a Wimpy Ki...

                      e13
                      e13 wrote:

                      I LOVE THIS BOOK! You should rea...
                      Wonder

                      t13
                      t13 wrote:

                      IT WAS SOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD
                      Wonder

                      hovydofibe
                      hovydofibe wrote:

                      I really liked this book!!!!! I ...
                      Wish