Winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller!

This stirring and unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendships. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated novel is told from the point-of-view of Ivan himself.

Having spent 27 years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.

The One and Only Ivan was hailed as a best book of the year by Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Amazon, demonstrating it is a true classic in the making. In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create Ivan's unforgettable first-person narration in a story of friendship, art, and hope. An author's note depicts the differences between the fictional story and true events.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on October 27, 2015 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062425242
ISBN-13: 9780062425249
280 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • catslovewaffles
    catslovewafflesFriday, January 19, 2018 at 10:37 am55 stars
    I loove dis book! It was amazing and funny (spoiler alert) especially when Ivan talked about breaking his toes and breaking a LOT of glasses! Read this book to see all of Ivans adventures!🙊🐵🍌😍
    • dogyloverlickMonday, January 15, 2018 at 9:31 am
      its about a gorilla that lives in the big top mall
      • miryamMonday, January 15, 2018 at 9:25 am
        this book was about a gorilla who lived in the big top mall exit 8
        • kaira30
          kaira30Monday, January 8, 2018 at 3:29 pm55 stars
          This book is awesome since it is so inspiring especially to me and my friends. We just want to read this book over and over.
          • starfish112
            starfish112Tuesday, December 26, 2017 at 2:02 pm55 stars
            it is the best u guys should really read
            • mykel06
              mykel06Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 12:58 pm44 stars
              i reda this book for school and becaus eit is a really heart warming story so i think u should read it
              • fireninja78789
                fireninja78789Saturday, November 11, 2017 at 3:08 pm55 stars
                it had sad parts but in the end it was amazing
                • dyjadatyse
                  dyjadatyseThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:18 am
                  This book tells a great story about friendship and kindness. The book will make you feel a lot of emotion because it is that good.
                  • saseceluve
                    saseceluveWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 8:06 am55 stars
                    this is a very good book
                    • tasagukawo
                      tasagukawoWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 8:00 am55 stars
                      THIS IS MY FAVORITE BOOK! It is happy, sad, and a memorable book. It won an a award. And is such a good book.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      milavictoria

                      I think this is a really good book
                      The Bad Kid

                      mircat wrote:

                      SO AWESOME I LOVED THIS BOOK SO ...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      scarletnews101

                      Of course this book was stupendo...
                      Drama

                      scarletnews101

                      I loved this book. I would give ...
                      Because Of Winn-Dixie Plush & Sc...