Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.626263

Winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller!

This stirring and unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendships. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated novel is told from the point-of-view of Ivan himself.

Having spent 27 years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.

The One and Only Ivan was hailed as a best book of the year by Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Amazon, demonstrating it is a true classic in the making. In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create Ivan's unforgettable first-person narration in a story of friendship, art, and hope. An author's note depicts the differences between the fictional story and true events.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on October 27, 2015 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062425242
ISBN-13: 9780062425249
288 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • candyunicorn
    candyunicornThursday, May 17, 2018 at 6:05 am55 stars
    I love this book it’s about a elephant who’s family killed by hunters. And he loves in a shopping mall.
    • starlight1000
      starlight1000Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 12:35 pm55 stars
      I love it! It is such a nice book! It breaks your heart but slowly mends it back together. It’s about a gorilla who was taken by humans and ends up in a shopping mall. This book is based of a true event. Read it to figure out what happens.
      • sepant
        sepantMonday, April 23, 2018 at 2:16 pm55 stars
        This book made me cry because 1. It was moving 2. It made me so sad when stella died. :( 3. my heart almost burst when I read about how his family died!
        • timetoparty
          timetopartyMonday, March 5, 2018 at 11:57 am55 stars
          I love this book so much. It is the best book after Wonder and Auggie and Me.
          • valt123
            valt123Monday, March 5, 2018 at 11:43 am55 stars
            WOW its amazing right if yes please like :)
            • madog4greene
              madog4greeneThursday, February 22, 2018 at 2:58 pm55 stars
              Really good book!A little sad but good!
              • tiger1st123
                tiger1st123Thursday, February 22, 2018 at 12:12 pm
                it is so awesome it is so sad when Stella dies . i think its awesome that that get to go to a a a a a a a a zoo.
                • baker12
                  baker12Tuesday, January 30, 2018 at 6:41 am
                  It was an AMAZING book!!!!1
                  • catslovewaffles
                    catslovewafflesFriday, January 19, 2018 at 10:37 am55 stars
                    I loove dis book! It was amazing and funny (spoiler alert) especially when Ivan talked about breaking his toes and breaking a LOT of glasses! Read this book to see all of Ivans adventures!🙊🐵🍌😍
                    • dogyloverlickMonday, January 15, 2018 at 9:31 am
                      its about a gorilla that lives in the big top mall

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      gamer wrote:

                      She is a grate leader
                      Who Was Rosa Parks?

                      mybooksandi

                      Where, oh where should I start w...
                      Cinder

                      reader_red
                      reader_red wrote:

                      This book was a fun one that I f...
                      Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminat...

                      awesomessb
                      awesomessb wrote:

                      This newer and modern adaptation...
                      Journey on a Runaway Train (The ...