Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.626263

Winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller!

This stirring and unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendships. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated novel is told from the point-of-view of Ivan himself.

Having spent 27 years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.

The One and Only Ivan was hailed as a best book of the year by Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Amazon, demonstrating it is a true classic in the making. In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create Ivan's unforgettable first-person narration in a story of friendship, art, and hope. An author's note depicts the differences between the fictional story and true events.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on January 17, 2012 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061992259
ISBN-13: 9780061992254
444 Book Reviews
  • ashdog3131
    ashdog3131Thursday, May 6, 2021 at 8:21 pm55 stars
    Fun fact the one and only Ivan is based in a true story!!
    • ashdog3131
      ashdog3131Thursday, May 6, 2021 at 12:58 pm55 stars
      I loved the book it was very very very great good not have Been better the only thing was it really made me sad lol 😂 but overall I recommend the book I am literally obsessed with the book. Genre: Family
      • cutepega-161720596071
        cutepega-161720596071Thursday, April 1, 2021 at 11:30 am55 stars
        I loved this book. It is about a gorilla named Ivan. Everyone thinks he’s a huge flesh-eating, dangerous wild animal, but he’s really a nice gorilla who likes to paint. I really recommend this book to everyone because it is SO good! I hope you like it. It’s a book you don’t want to miss!
        • flxwer
          flxwerTuesday, March 23, 2021 at 8:32 pm55 stars
          Ivan’s story is so inspiring. I highly suggest this book, because it inspires me. I have the strength to do anything, and YOU will too!
          • nydializ0618
            nydializ0618Monday, March 22, 2021 at 6:42 am55 stars
            This book was amazing! I really loved it and Ivan's story is incredible. I highly recommend
            • erin-hunter-fan
              erin-hunter-fanFriday, March 19, 2021 at 3:20 pm55 stars
              I love animals and I love Ivans story. I recommend this book to all animal lovers
              • ????? GIRLMonday, March 15, 2021 at 12:44 pm
                I read this book and i loved it so much. I liked it so much i watched the movie to see the what happened in the movie and in the book. In the movie Ivan paints to say he wants to be free. in the book they get sent to a save and rescue place with ruby and the other animals.
                • IzzyFriday, March 12, 2021 at 7:40 pm
                  it is so sad at the ending.
                  • luvisintr
                    luvisintrThursday, March 11, 2021 at 10:44 am55 stars
                    This has been on my "Favorite Book List" for a long time! I love Stella, and the story was amazing!
                    • bail3y
                      bail3yThursday, March 11, 2021 at 7:50 am44 starsFeatured
                      Ivan is a mighty and angry silverback gorilla. A wild one. One to be feared. Or at least that's what the poster says. Ivan is quite the opposite. He is a peaceful and ignorant fellow with three friends by his side. Stella the elephant, Bob the stray, and Ruby the human. Ivan is quite content with his life. He's been living at a mall for 27 years. He used to live in the wild but he was captured by hunters who sold him to Mack, who kept him as a pet until he became too big. I love this book but I think that if I write anymore my review will get too long. Happy reading folks.