Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5U4.246383

Diana and her little brother Georgie have been living in the woods behind the old Willis place, a decaying Victorian mansion, for what already seems like forever. They aren’t allowed to leave the property or show themselves to anyone. But when a new caretaker comes to live there with his young daughter, Lissa, Diana is tempted to break the mysterious rules they live by and reveal herself so she can finally have a friend. Somehow, Diana must get Lissa’s help if she and Georgie ever hope to release themselves from the secret that has bound them to the old Willis place for so long.
Mary Downing Hahn has written a chilling ghost story in the tradition of her most successful spine-tingling novels. The intriguing characters, frightening secrets, and plot twists will delight her many fans.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on September 20, 2004 by Clarion Books
ISBN-10: 0618430180
ISBN-13: 9780618430185
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • zyrezofo-154473932158
    zyrezofo-154473932158Monday, February 4, 2019 at 4:47 pm55 stars
    I love reading her books because they are always so thrilling and they give goosebumps but not in a bad way. This book has so many great parts.
    • Scarlett NorrisSunday, February 3, 2019 at 7:17 am
      This is my first favorite Mary Downing Hahn book!I got up early this morning and finished it! It had a great bittersweet ending.Today day I am going to get more I am going to go to the library and get The ghost of Sheffield Hall and lots more.I really do recommend Mary Downing Hahn books,The old Willis Place,Deep Dark and Dangerous,The Doll in The Garden,Wait till Helen comes,All The Lovely Bad Ones and lots more!
      • bookstory13
        bookstory13Saturday, July 14, 2018 at 5:59 pm55 starsFeatured
        Step One: Find a nice place to read. Step Two: Settle in with a blanket. Step Three: Open The Old Willis Place and prepare yourself for a chill and a thrill! Diana and Georgie have lost everything: their home, their parents, their possessions....the only thing they have left is the woods. They can roam the woods if they follow two rules that just appeared in their consciousness one day: NEVER go past the gate and NEVER show yourself to anyone. So besides those rules Diana and Georgie have free range! And boy, do they know how to use it! For the past seventy years they pranked teens (without being seen, of course) and drove the caretakers of the Old Willis Place crazy by messing with the TV during odd hours. But when a new caretaker comes that is unlike the others, Diana questions the rules for once. Even though they are only for her protection, the rules seem so strict! The new caretaker has a daughter, Lissa - and Diana has been lonely for SUCH a long time! But when Diana gets to close to Lissa, she starts to realize just how much she has lost and the danger she might be in. This is a 5/5 book, another of Mary Downing Hahn's wondrous pieces of literature. This goes on my top 3 horror books list! A must-read! --BKS
        • wiccanbat666
          wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:44 pm55 stars
          Ah, yes, The Old Willis Place is a beautiful and chilling ghost story! It was a page-turner for me. Mary Downing Hahn creates a nice, slow build-up. There are secrets and rules with Diana and Georgie on the farm of Oak Hill Manor. While reading, my mind was going in several different directions anticipating the end result.
          • EmiliaMonday, November 28, 2016 at 3:17 pm
            This is a amazing book my class read it and we all lives it if I have not read it you need to.love it❤❤❤
            • lmer
              lmerFriday, October 16, 2015 at 5:31 am
              Cant wait to read this!
              • dulci
                dulciThursday, October 23, 2014 at 5:26 pm55 stars
                you guys are the best LOLLLLLLLLLLL your so right
                • dulci
                  dulciThursday, October 23, 2014 at 3:03 pm55 stars
                  creepy awesome like it ok
                  • dulci
                    dulciThursday, October 23, 2014 at 4:58 am55 stars
                    i LOVE horror books and I subjest you be my friend
                    • gigiann
                      gigiannTuesday, July 8, 2014 at 6:01 pm55 stars
                      i cryed when i read this it is sad a creepy but i loved it