The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V6.1115066
The fabulous foursome readers embraced as The Mysterious Benedict Society is back with a new mission, significantly closer to home. After reuniting for a celebratory scavenger hunt, Reynie, Kate, Sticky, and Constance are forced to go on an unexpected search--a search to find Mr. Benedict. It seems that while he was preparing the kids' adventure, he stepped right into a trap orchestrated by his evil twin Mr. Curtain.

With only one week to find a captured Mr. Benedict, the gifted foursome faces their greatest challenge of all--a challenge that will reinforce the reasons they were brought together in the first place and will require them to fight for the very namesake that united them.
Hardcover, 440 pages
Published on May 1, 2008 by Little, Brown
ISBN-10: 0316057800
ISBN-13: 9780316057806
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • girlpower4ever
    girlpower4everMonday, August 17, 2020 at 6:31 pm55 stars
    The fabulous foursome is back - Reynie Muldoon, Sticky Washington, Kate Wetherall, and Constance Contraire - and they're better than ever. Excitement is in the air as they ready to follow a treasure hunt Mr. Benedict has designed for the brilliant children. But everything sours when Mr. Benedict and Number Two are captured by the evil Ledroptha Curtain, who also happens to be Mr. Benedict's identical twin! Though the adults strictly forbid Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance from leaving the house, these clever children cannot be stopped; and indeed, they find a way to get out of the house and begin following this treasure hunt, desperately hoping it will lead to Mr. Benedict's location. But this journey will be more dangerous than anything they've ever experienced. Ten Men (adult men with ten ways to kill you), Jackson and Jillson, Institute spies, and worst of all, Mr. Curtain are after them, and this time, the four may meet their end. Thrilling and utterly brilliant, the sequel to The Mysterious Benedict Society cannot be missed.
    • roxanne3
      roxanne3Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 12:08 pm44 stars
      I like this book because I love the characters, especially Kate Wetherall. In this one, Mr. Benedict had set up a sort of treasure hunt for the kids, but then he actually gets kidnapped by his super evil brother. The children have to sneak away and use the clues he left them to find him. They make some new friends along the way!!
      • shootingstars
        shootingstarsThursday, September 5, 2019 at 12:31 pm44 stars
        I am really enjoying this book even though I am only on the 4 chapter. I am pretty sure this is the second book of the series. The first one is by far AMAZING!!!
        • joohyuun
          joohyuunWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 6:21 pm55 stars
          So far, I love this series! I just started reading this book but I'm already loving every part! Wow! Trenton Lee Steward has a sense of humor and is a really fun author. Ya'll gotta read this series!
          • My chemical romFriday, May 4, 2018 at 1:36 pm
            I was in the battle of the books and had to read the first one. I kind of got into it so I’m currently reading the second one.
            • dahuman1513
              dahuman1513Tuesday, February 13, 2018 at 3:41 pm55 stars
              I'm liking this book so far! I mainly read this because I read the first one, and I couldn't wait to read this one! I will update once I finish.
              • nihaha
                nihahaMonday, January 8, 2018 at 5:56 pm44 stars
                The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey by Trenton Lee Stewart is a great book for young adventurous readers. This book is the sequel to the book the Benedict Society. In it, four friends go on an adventure. Mr. Benedict sets up a treasure hunt where the children start with a riddle which when solved, it leads them to another riddle which leads to another riddle and so on until they finally find Mr. Benedict. But something goes wrong. Mr. Benedict gets captured. Read the book to figure out what happens next.
                • plum2008
                  plum2008Friday, October 6, 2017 at 8:29 am55 stars
                  This was the best siries/book I have ever read! It's about four orphans that mr Benedict picked to do a special job to save the world!
                  • hallum Monday, June 19, 2017 at 4:13 pm
                    i like books
                    • mialovespi
                      mialovespiMonday, June 19, 2017 at 1:00 pm55 stars
                      The Mysterious Benedict Society is going to have a reunion and everybody is excited, or at least until the realize that Mr. Benedict and Number Two are gone, taken away by the evil Ledroptha Curtain. Constance, Sticky, Reynie, and Kate know that they have to embark on a scavenger hunt to find Mr. Benedict and Number Two. This crazy ride leads them to a place called Thernbakkagen( I know, it looks like there and back again ;p ). After many long boat rides and an interesting reunion with Milligan, Kate's father who also works for Mr. Benedict, they're led to a practically unknown island, where they find Mr. Curtain and all of his crew. After many vicious battles, do they win and get Mr. Benedict and Number Two back or are they now captives too?!?!?! Find out in The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey, a fun read for kids who love long books, good puzzles, and plenty of humor.