Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a5.0130949

Discover this first installment of the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series and “prepare to be hooked” (Entertainment Weekly).

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder—much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing—not even a smear of blood—to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know...

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

Hardcover, 2496 pages
Published on October 23, 2012 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
ISBN-10: 1442472057
ISBN-13: 9781442472051
78 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • katherina_8268
    katherina_8268Friday, April 5, 2019 at 4:23 pm55 stars
    I REALLY WANT TO READ THIS!! I'm just aching to get it, and I don't think I can wait much longer. Lots of people recommend this book, and I can't wait until our school library finally buys the first book for the library!
    • stormrider321
      stormrider321Monday, March 5, 2018 at 5:39 am55 stars
      This series is amazing and full of adventure. I love to just escape into this world and imagine if this were to really happen. As a Mundane (What they call humans) I think this book may as well be an auto biography sold to mundanes as a fiction because of how perfectly everything is described. Read it! :D
      • falcon846
        falcon846Friday, February 23, 2018 at 1:42 pm55 stars
        Amazing book it really pulls you into the story. I would love to live in that world and being a Shadowhunter sounds awesome.
        • majise
          majiseFriday, November 10, 2017 at 9:14 am55 stars
          Awesome book i love it!!!!
          • dheb2
            dheb2Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 6:33 am55 stars
            this was a fun thrill ride that all would love
            • darkangeldria12
              darkangeldria12Thursday, October 26, 2017 at 1:15 pm55 stars
              I absolutely love this series I have read it about a thousand times and know everything by heart I definitely do recommend these books for people to read :D
              • riley22m
                riley22mTuesday, March 7, 2017 at 7:25 pm55 stars
                This book was awesome. It wasn't one of those books where the girl was a damsel in distress at all points of the story. It is very mysterious but also very adventurous full of demons half angel humans who fight to survive. It's thrilling and if you are into supernatural then this is your book.
                • savycat
                  savycatTuesday, January 17, 2017 at 12:37 pm55 stars
                  i have read this books series twice,it is awesome
                  • mortalnstrument
                    mortalnstrumentSunday, October 30, 2016 at 1:03 pm55 stars
                    I love how Cassandra created the story line and thought of all these amazing ideas. If you haven't read this series you need to go to a library or a book store and get this book now.
                    • wannaone
                      wannaoneWednesday, August 24, 2016 at 6:51 am55 stars
                      I think it is a great book full of action, fantasy, & romance. I loved this book and I think if you are a fantasy and romance lover you will like this book. I enjoyed reading this I hope you will to!