Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.417050
A timeless tale by the incomparable Kate DiCamillo, complete with stunning full-color plates by Bagram Ibatoulline, honors the enduring power of love.

"Someone will come for you, but first you must open your heart. . . ."

Once, in a house on Egypt Street, there lived a china rabbit named Edward Tulane. The rabbit was very pleased with himself, and for good reason: he was owned by a girl named Abilene, who treated him with the utmost care and adored him completely.

And then, one day, he was lost.

Kate DiCamillo takes us on an extraordinary journey, from the depths of the ocean to the net of a fisherman, from the top of a garbage heap to the fireside of a hoboes' camp, from the bedside of an ailing child to the bustling streets of Memphis. And along the way, we are shown a true miracle — that even a heart of the most breakable kind can learn to love, to lose, and to love again.
Paperback, 228 pages
Published on July 28, 2009 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763647837
ISBN-13: 9780763647834
214 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Nob 1 2 3 4Friday, November 13, 2020 at 3:08 pm
    I absolutely love it
    • jb9
      jb9Friday, October 30, 2020 at 12:51 pm
      we are reading this book as a read aloud and it is really good so far!
      • alexgamer39
        alexgamer39Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 12:09 pm55 stars
        The book I am going to review is “The Journey of Edward Tulane” by Kate DiCamillo. It is a story about a china bunny named Edward Tulane that was cared for by a lot of people. I connected to this book because Edward had many struggles but did not give up just like me. I was trying to make a blanket, but I didn’t have the right scissors to cut the fabric. I tried several scissors in the house, and kept trying until I got it done.A boy had Edward and someone mashed Edward into pieces, and the boy did not give up and tried to find someone to fix Edward. The boy found a place that would fix Edward, but the man said it would be his if he wanted him to fix him and the boy had to give up Edward for Edward to get fixed. What I learned is to never give up. The character I am analyzing over the course of the book is the main character. Edward Tulane had so many things that happened to him. In the beginning he feels loved by a young girl but then two boys threw Edward into the ocean. A year later, he felt lonely and broken in his heart. But then he was caught and taken home by a fisherman in a net. Edward felt happier than he was on the floor of the ocean. A man was surprised that the man found a china bunny doll in the big ocean. Edward was on the man's shoulder, and he fixed Edward up and started getting happier. But then Edward felt worse when he was thrown in the trash and then he was cared for by other people but Edward still felt the same but worse. But then someone mashed Edward. But then he was fixed by a man Edward felt loved and he never gave up. What I analyzed is that you should never give up because you can do anything if you never give up. I hope you like this book.
        • Maila Thursday, December 5, 2019 at 4:35 pm
          Sooo adventures
          • BookwormGMESFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:02 am
            I absolutely LOVED this book! I felt as though I was actually going through this adventure with Edward. This book made me laugh and cry and it was so full of suspense. I would DEFINITELY read this book again.
            • sheashea
              sheasheaFriday, October 18, 2019 at 4:16 am55 stars
              Kate DiCamillo writes this heart wrenching story of a stuffed rabbit Edward Tulane. Readers get to travel with Edward and meet the people who love him as he searches for his lost owner.
              • borupyhy-156623588802
                borupyhy-156623588802Wednesday, September 11, 2019 at 8:55 am55 stars
                I decided to read this book because I had it and it was a gift. I think that other people should read this book because it was very cool. You will also like it if you're a traveler because Edward Tulane travels a lot.Two boy throw him of a ferry and a fisherman finds him on his hook and sells him to a doll shop. The little girl grows up and has a child.Her child goes to the doll shop and wants Edward Tulane and the little girls mother remembers what happend to Edward Tulane .
                • vyvufoky-156623590383
                  vyvufoky-156623590383Wednesday, September 11, 2019 at 8:55 am55 stars
                  A good book and the ending is happy he goes through a lot of owners and, I think it is cool that you see what he is going through from losing his home trying to find Abeline. Now he has a really big family. I think it is a really good book to read.
                  • soso17970
                    soso17970Monday, May 6, 2019 at 7:45 pm44 stars
                    I read this a long time ago, so I don’t remember much, but I do remember this: This book is about the amazing journey of a China Rabit. As Edward faces abandonment and adversity, he also sees kindness in people such as the fisherman. This heartwarming book shows that you have to keep on fighting for the things you believe in. I think this ends happily, I forgot. =)
                    • lavoiem
                      lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 7:32 pm44 stars
                      Very good book and never got boring