Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnections with a lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel--perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin and Erin Entrada Kelly.

When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a "New Life Plan": 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the first time.

Her "New Life Plan" seems to be racing forward, but when she meets her new best friend Quinn, Sunny questions whether she really wants to kiss a boy at all. With the reemergence of her mother, Sunny begins a journey to becoming the new Sunny St. James.

This sweet, tender novel dares readers to find the might in their own hearts.
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on March 26, 2019 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316515531
ISBN-13: 9780316515535
5 Book Reviews
  • bsc
    bscTuesday, April 13, 2021 at 8:09 pm55 stars
    Sunny St. James is getting a heart transplant. Basically, she'll have a whole new heart, but be dead while they reconnect the new heart from the old heart. Now that Sunny has a whole new heart, she can have a whole new fresh life. A new best friend, after her old-so-call-best-friend blabbed all of Sunny's special secrets to a group of popular girls. . Oh, and a new awesome wardrobe. So on a trip to the beach, Sunny meets Quinn, a fun and super cute girl, they become best friends and together create a plan to both kiss a boy. What could go wrong? Nose bleeds, tears, and secrets are all revealed. Not to mention that Sunny's mother, an alcoholic, is finally back to normal- but her life may be more complicated than Sunny thinks. Sunny realises that maybe a new life is more complicated. Happy reading!
    • satwikagejara
      satwikagejaraSunday, February 14, 2021 at 6:37 pm55 stars
      Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James has a new perspective on life after she gets a heart transplant. Now that she's healthier, she sets out to do things she could never do before, which includes making a new best friend and kissing a boy. But as her plans progress and she seems to be moving in the right direction, Sunny's mother comes back into her life, dampening Sunny's happiness. And as she enjoys her new best friend, Quinn, she begins to suspect that she's not interested in kissing boys after all. I loved this book and how it introduced the idea of being lesbian. In fact, it is one of the Lone Star Books. (Texan librarians choose this book because they thought it was awesome.)
      • froggybff
        froggybffSaturday, December 26, 2020 at 3:00 pm55 stars
        This book was sooooo wonderfully written
        • applemango
          applemangoSunday, May 17, 2020 at 10:25 pm55 stars
          Sunshine or "Sunny" is undergoing a heart transplant. She's going to die. Atleast, for a few seconds, or a few minutes, maybe even longer. She plans to become the "new sunny" after her heart transplant. After all doesn't that make her a new person? The first time she went to the beach, well, not the first but she hasn't been in a long time. She meets Quinn, who she immediately likes. Then, things in Sunny's life drastically change. Her mother appears again. After what seems like so long. 8 years. She is so mad, confused, excited, nervous, she feels like her heart will burst. Then comes the tangle. He quest to find a boy fails, he mother has another child, she is growing distant from Kate, the "mother" who took care of her, almost all her life. Then comes the mess, but not the mess you normally think about. A beautiful mess. Her.
          • asdfghj12345678
            asdfghj12345678Tuesday, February 25, 2020 at 1:41 pm55 stars
            This book I haven't read yet sound good. I tried finding this book on www.myon.com to read it but could find it. Now I am so wanted to read this book right now. I wish I could know what it is like in Sunny life if she was real.