Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 8X5.3101182

Book one in the blockbuster Maze Runner series that spawned a movie franchise and ushered in a worldwide phenomenon! And don’t miss The Fever Code, the highly-anticipated series conclusion that finally reveals the story of how the maze was built!

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.
Outside the towering stone walls that surround them is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.
Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying: Remember. Survive. Run.

The Maze Runner and Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials are now major motion pictures featuring the star of MTV's Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster. The third movie, Maze Runner: The Death Cure, will hit screens in 2018.

Also look for James Dashner’s edge-of-your-seat MORTALITY DOCTRINE series!

Praise for the Maze Runner series:
A #1 New York Times Bestselling Series
A USA Today Bestseller
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of the Year
An ALA-YASLA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book
An ALA-YALSA Quick Pick

“[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost.” —EW.com

“Wonderful action writing—fast-paced…but smart and well observed.” Newsday

“[A] nail-biting must-read.” Seventeen.com

“Breathless, cinematic action.” —Publishers Weekly

Heart pounding to the very last moment.” —Kirkus Reviews

Exclamation-worthy.” —Romantic Times

“James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.” —Shelf Awareness, Starred

Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book.” —Deseret News

Hardcover
Published on August 4, 2015 by Delacorte Press
ISBN-10: 1101932139
ISBN-13: 9781101932131
480 Book Reviews
  • josfor2021
    josfor2021Tuesday, January 26, 2021 at 11:38 am33 stars
    I have always thought that what if one day all my when I woke up that all my memories were just lost, it’s not a great thought but this book takes memory loss to the next level. "The Maze Runner" by James Dashner takes place in the future where Thomas, a 15 year old boy wakes up in an overgrown dystopian land surrounded by a giant ever changing maze called the Glade and can’t remember anything but his name. He then gets to meet all the boys (They lost their memory too) along there with him. Notable ones include Alby, the leader of the Glade, Newt, Alby’s right hand man and a friend of Thomas pretty quickly, Minho, The lead runner in other words the best person to go in the maze, Gally, a “bully” to Thomas, and Chuck, the newbie before Thomas. So far what i’ve said isn’t too too bad but this “Maze” surrounding the Glade is filled with mechanical bug like creatures called grivers, and grivers are like bugs but most bugs aren’t out to kill you while these are. But this all changes when the first girl called Teresa shows up and… if I say any more I would spoil things. Now onto the actual review, this book is incredible IF you're ok with some decently graphic things and if you enjoy Sci Fi fantasy which I can’t say. The biggest fallback for this book is you need a great imagination or have watched the movies which I have/watched neither. In conclusion if you're fine with slightly graphic stuff (Maybe not slightly I'm not sure), have a great imagination, and are in middle school or older this book is probably great but if not you might wanna stay away from this book.
    • kgbradshaw
      kgbradshawSaturday, December 26, 2020 at 6:11 pm55 stars
      Welcome to one of the best book series in the world. I love this book and series so much!!! I actually read them all during quarantine this year, and ended up purchasing all of them. The main character, Thomas is very believable and seems like a real person, not just a cardboard cutout. The way James Dashner fashioned WICKED, the Glade, and so much more is amazing. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys science fiction, dystopian, and high action thrillers.
      • swirlycool
        swirlycoolThursday, November 26, 2020 at 5:00 pm55 stars
        I usually do not like reading science fiction books because they seem to have the same stereotypical plot, however, I definitely love this book. It kept me captivated with its twists and turns and unexpected plot lines. I like how the main character, Thomas, is likable because it's hard to read a book when the main character is irritating. The epilogue made me want to read the rest of the trilogy to know why Teresa wrote "Wicked is evil" on her arm. The pieces that were scattered throughout the plot connecting, in the end, was enjoyable to read. I definitely recommend this book.
        • lawalex
          lawalexThursday, November 12, 2020 at 1:28 pm55 stars
          I recently read (binge read?) the whole Maze Runner series, and the first one is the most suspenseful of all of them. The main character Thomas wakes up in the middle of the "Glade," which is a huge clearing with a farm, a small forest, and a couple buildings. Every morning the huge doors on every side of the Glade open, and "runners" spend the whole day exploring the maze. If they don't make it back by the end of the day they will get trapped in the maze, and be at the mercy of the creatures in the maze. The whole backstory of the maze is full of twists and turns, and I guarantee you won't be able to put the book down! I would recommend this book to the moon and back and this is definitely 5/5!
          • gibvil2021
            gibvil2021Tuesday, December 22, 2020 at 8:34 am
            Well written, to the point, i like.
          • chromatic1
            chromatic1Wednesday, October 28, 2020 at 10:39 am55 stars
            Really nice book.
            • Gamer512Friday, October 9, 2020 at 7:30 am
              The Maze Runner My book review is on The Maze Runner by James Dashner. The story starts when the main character Thomas wakes up without memories in an elevator and is transported to the Glade, which is a safe area that is surrounded by a maze. He becomes a runner and runs through the maze looking for the exit. At night the doors in between the maze and the Glade shut, the maze shifts, and grievers come out into the maze. The grievers are a strange mix of mechanical and living parts, they are monstrosities that will sting you causing extreme pain and making you remember things. The book is about the kids trying to survive and escape the maze. What I liked about this book was that the author had a writing style that just made me want to read more of it. For example, when Thomas entered the Glade for the first time the author gave a lot of detail about the people there and what the Glade looked like. The book was interesting and it entertained me with a good plot. I especially liked it when Thomas climbed up the rocks and tied Alby up in the vines. I liked it because it was tense and had lots of suspense and I respect Thomas for doing it because he saved his friend. I also liked the characters and all of the nicknames and conflict. The nickname I liked the most was the “Rat Man”, it was funny because his face made him look like a rat. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes dystopian future books. Enjoy the book and don’t get stung by the grievers!
              • nicegirl123
                nicegirl123Monday, July 6, 2020 at 9:01 pm55 stars
                I’m glad we got a long vacation, and what I did was read. I have a list pinned in my wall of the books I must read; I mean which I WANT to read as ever. But unfortunately, all the bookshops and libraries were closed, so my only choice was read the pdf. I downloaded the pdf the same day, and read it, and I couldn’t put the book down. I couldn’t take my eyes of it. I was obsessed by the book. This book is about a boy named Thomas, who woke up in a box, and he was sent to which seems like another world. He finds some other boys in the place, which they call the glade. He thinks everything is ridiculous. Anybody will think everything is ridiculous if they wake up in a glade. The next day, another girl comes t the glade, who Thomas thought was familiar even though he could not remember who it was. He finds out that he could telepathy with the girl. However, they find a way out of the glade, and next, they get to know they are going to have another challenge the scorch trials. I recommend this book to everybody, this book can be read by anybody, and I’m sure everybody of you’ll will enjoy it as much as I did.
                • NewtFANSunday, July 5, 2020 at 1:34 pm
                  I love this book. I has been my favorite series.
                  • lovetoread26
                    lovetoread26Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 3:25 pm55 starsFeatured
                    It seems like every book I read during quarantine earns a top spot on my favorite books list, and this book is no different! I can't wait to read the next one. Estimated 16 year old Thomas wakes up in a dark box that is slowly creaking up a shaft, with no memory of who he is or how he got there. The only thing he remembers about his past life is his name, Thomas. When he gets out of the box, he learns that he is in a place called the Glade, and every other boy there arrived in the same fashion. Everything is going smoothly until the next day a girl arrives. Then everything descends into chaos; the girl falls into a coma, speaking to Thomas through her mind. She arrived clutching a note in her hand saying that she was the final person to be delivered. Thomas decides that he wants to be a Runner, who searches the mysterious maze surrounding the Glade for clues on how to escape. The next week, supplies aren't delivered, and soon after, the sky goes gray. No sun, no night or day. Many blame Thomas for all of the strange happenings, but he knows they are wrong. This book is sort of a mystery, because no one knows how the "Gladers" will survive. There are many shocking twists and turns, and this book is not for the faint-hearted. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did, and that it makes a top spot in your favorite book list as well.
                    • gibvil2021
                      gibvil2021Tuesday, December 22, 2020 at 8:39 am
                      Detailed, without giving spoilers, i like.
                    • vankem7151
                      vankem7151Friday, May 1, 2020 at 10:31 am55 stars
                      I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!