Summary of The Martian: A Novel by Andy Weir | Summary & Analysis

Warning: This is an independent addition to The Martian, meant to enhance your experience of the original book. If you have not yet bought the original copy, make sure to purchase it before buying this unofficial summary from aBookaDay.



SPECIAL OFFER

$2.99 (Regularly priced: $3.99)



Mark Watney is a dead man walking.

As a member of the Ares 3 Mars mission, he landed with five crewmates for an assignment meant to be a month long. Then the storm came, and the crew was forced to evacuate. Watney, presumed dead by the rest of his team, was left behind.

Watney made it through the storm, but with communications wiped out, he has no way of telling Earth that he’s alive. Even if he did, outfitting a mission to collect him would take years. He’s run the numbers, and the odds are literally impossible.

On Earth, and on the ship Hermes, friends and strangers alike grieve for a fallen hero, while alone on an alien planet where even the smallest mistake means certain death, the man they mourn struggles to survive.









Read more....



Download your copy today!





Available on PC, Mac, smart phone, tablet or Kindle device.

© 2015 All Rights Reserved
Kindle Edition, 46 pages
Published on August 12, 2015
11 Book Reviews
  • martianFriday, July 22, 2016 at 9:26 pm
    I saw the movie and i loved it it was good
    • dorkzilla
      dorkzillaSaturday, March 12, 2016 at 8:22 am55 stars
      I read this book before the movie came out. I just LOVED it so much. "FEAR MY BOTANIST POWERS!" Hahaha!
      • pokemon543
        pokemon543Tuesday, March 8, 2016 at 12:45 pm
        The book The Martian, by Andy Weir, is an exciting yet funny science fiction book. It combines science, humor, and just plain survival all into one book. I thought that this was an excellent book, I would rate it a 4.5 out of 5 stars. When you first get introduced to Mark Watney you don’t know much about him other than he is on Mars and is destined to die there. But throughout the book you get to know Mark better and better until you feel like you know him in real life. There are also some characters back on Earth that he is able to communicate with and that you get to know quite well. For example you get to know Venkat Kapoor well for his decisions and his humor. Mark describes Mars as a desolate wasteland where nothing could possibly grow or live. Yet he lives there for about two years so he must have found a way to prove himself wrong. He has to survive until Ares 4 arrives on mars and then he may be able to come home with them. He has a water reclaimer that lets him get water fine, but food is a problem. He finds out how to grow potatoes with just what he has up there. Through thick and thin Mark is determined throughout the whole book to survive, well that isn’t true he doubted himself multiple times. For being a book that doesn’t have much dialogue it is surprisingly engaging and funny. I wouldn’t expect an astronaut stranded on Mars to be funny yet it is. This book doesn’t remind me of any other books that I have read. It is so unique that I can’t remember any other book or movie that has been anything like this book. The type of person that would like this book is anyone who likes or is interested in astronomy and science but still likes some humor in what they read. This is a great book to just pick up and read if you are looking for a new book. It is easy to understand and is well thought out.
        • JimmyMonday, February 1, 2016 at 2:38 pm
          This book and the movie are amazing
          • jackfruit7
            jackfruit7Friday, January 29, 2016 at 2:15 pm55 starsFeatured
            If you love Sci fi books and movies like Star Wars I will totally recommend this book! This book is so good they made a movie out of it! It's is jam packed with adventure and it totally hooked me! Andy Weir was in his right mind when he wrote this book! It is so exciting sitting there and reading each juicy word! It has such good grammar and use of words/titles! It is sad and exciting as you read each chapter, each page, each paragraph, each word! The movie sums up all my dreams of this amazing book into the form of a movie! Sadly, I don't think they're making a second one, which really depressed me! To sum it all up, totally a five star book ***** and I totally recommend this amazing book to anyone who has a big ambition for great books!
            • ethan_q
              ethan_qFriday, January 29, 2016 at 8:59 am
              This book is about an astronaut named Mark Watney who is stranded on Mars after he was hit by a satellite dish during a sandstorm that caused his crew to abort their mission and leave. Now he is on the verge of dying with very little food and water, and has to find ways to create water and make food. He has no way of contacting anyone because of no satellite. Will he survive long enough until someone can come to Mars and save him? Can he make enough food and water to survive and how will he do it? Will anyone come save his life? This is a very interesting book. It is a book I would recommend this book for science fiction books fans.
              • np112Thursday, January 28, 2016 at 4:19 pm
                this book was so good !!! I am such a big fan of mars and planets stuff like that so i saw the movie with my parents IT WAS SO GOOD!!!!!!! i thoght the part where he had to pull out the anttena was really ceepy/gross i mean blood is part of my body but it is really gross to see it leaking out of the body like that
                • michellek21
                  michellek21Thursday, January 28, 2016 at 4:24 am55 starsFeatured
                  If you are a big science fan like me, you will definitely love this book. Astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. But now, he's sure he'll be the first person to die there. After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to go back while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive.The worse thing is, he won't even be able to starve to death. The environment around him are much more likely to kill him first. However, Mark isn't ready to give up yet. He uses his skills and started to grow potatoes and make signals to Earth. When faced a problem or a mistake, don't waste time being upset, keep moving forward. As Mark Watney's bravery and that never gives up, it can leads him to success.
                  • Lizzy The GoofyFriday, January 22, 2016 at 2:55 pm
                    Read the book............AND LOVED IT. My favorite book on Mars(only book on Mars).
                    • cerulian
                      cerulianFriday, October 9, 2015 at 4:44 pmFeatured
                      This book is the best science fiction book you will ever read in your life. Andy Weir makes science and being stuck on Mars the best thing ever! (Ok maybe not the being stuck on Mars thing so much...) This book is addicting and you will not rest until you figure out what happens to Mark Watney. Watney is a super science genius who keeps his morale up by cracking jokes in the most dangerous and most wild of scenarios. If anyone had to be left behind on Mars to survive, it could only be Mark Watney.