Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U5.023335
In a highly awaited new novel, Kate DiCamillo conjures a haunting fable about trusting the unexpected — and making the extraordinary come true.

What if? Why not? Could it be?

When a fortuneteller's tent appears in the market square of the city of Baltese, orphan Peter Augustus Duchene knows the questions that he needs to ask: Does his sister still live? And if so, how can he find her? The fortuneteller's mysterious answer (an elephant! An elephant will lead him there!) sets off a chain of events so remarkable, so impossible, that you will hardly dare to believe it’s true. With atmospheric illustrations by fine artist Yoko Tanaka, here is a dreamlike and captivating tale that could only be narrated by Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo. In this timeless fable, she evokes the largest of themes — hope and belonging, desire and compassion — with the lightness of a magician’s touch.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on March 8, 2011 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763652989
ISBN-13: 9780763652982
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Dhilan Monday, May 11, 2020 at 4:17 am
    I don’t like this book because it is hard to understand the book
    • MadelynMonday, September 30, 2019 at 5:02 am
      This book is so good y’all shood read it
      • CindyThursday, August 23, 2018 at 7:14 am
        I read this book for school and I thought it was just like every other book but it wasn’t it was much more it had so much mystery and wonder som sadness best book so far
        • orangemcdonald
          orangemcdonaldThursday, May 24, 2018 at 11:35 am55 stars
          This a great book, it's very sedimental, and I highly recommend it. It can make you cry, and it makes you feel all warm inside, which is a great pair in my opinion. So READ IT NOW!!! IT'S TOO GOOD NOT TO READ!
          • puppylover1001
            puppylover1001Monday, May 15, 2017 at 10:55 am55 stars
            This book is filled with mystery and a little bit of sadness. This book definitely made my heart cry. Especially when I found out that Peter lost his parents in a war.I'm Sorry if this review was a spoiler but trust me you have a lot to read. I highly recommend this book.
            • tataymoopsa576
              tataymoopsa576Saturday, September 10, 2016 at 7:49 am
              this book is amazing! it has drama in it but not too much!
              • annalovesbooks
                annalovesbooksThursday, February 25, 2016 at 4:02 pm55 stars
                really wanna read this
                • artpotato
                  artpotatoFriday, September 11, 2015 at 8:53 am
                  I really want to read this book because it sounds very intersting and mysterious. If you have read this, I would like to know if you would reccomend it to me. Thanks! Jacynda.
                  • frankiebaby
                    frankiebabyThursday, December 25, 2014 at 9:27 am
                    not as good as the others, but still okay
                    • jtesar
                      jtesarMonday, November 24, 2014 at 11:31 am55 stars
                      This book is awesome! It is about a magician who accidentally summons an elephant. It falls through the opera houses roof and gets put in jail along with the magician. When a small boy learns from a fortune teller his sister is alive, he asks for more information. She says that an elephant will lead him to her? The only elephant in town is the one in jail!! HOW WILL HE FIND HIS SISTER?!?!