Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.6n/a

Never mix fire with magic!

Conn may only be a wizard's apprentice, but even he knows it's dangerous to play with fire . . . especially around magic. His master, Nevery, warns him that it could all blow up in his face. Besides, they have bigger problems to deal with. There is evil afoot in the city of Wellmet, an evil that isn't human.

But Conn is drawn to the murmurs he hears every time he sets off an explosion—something is trying to talk to him, to warn him. When none of the wizards listen, Conn takes matters into his own hands. His quest to protect everything he loves brings him face-to-face with a powerful sorcerer-king and a treachery beyond even his vivid imagination.

Sarah Prineas works her own spells as she transports us to an extraordinary world where cities are run on living magic and even a thief can become a wizard's apprentice.

Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on May 12, 2009 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061375896
ISBN-13: 9780061375897
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Kan soeMonday, December 4, 2017 at 10:49 am
    I think the magic thief book is cool
    • Aubrie TejadaMonday, December 4, 2017 at 10:47 am
      I think that magic thief is a really good book it had a really twisted ending in the first book.I loved the part when connwaer finds his locus stone it shines bright like a diamond.
      • paw hayMonday, December 4, 2017 at 10:42 am
        the magic thief Lost
        • scooby2016
          scooby2016Friday, September 23, 2016 at 9:44 am55 stars
          I love this book. This book is amazing. I wonder if Conn will find his locus stone on the next book.
          • plin
            plinSaturday, February 14, 2015 at 5:02 pm44 stars
            This book is amazing, because this book have amazing adventure and more! This story is about a boy name Conn, he is trying to do explosion experiment, so that is magically stone and answer him some ways. Conn is travel to the desert, because the magic tell him to go.
            • plin
              plinWednesday, February 11, 2015 at 7:17 am44 stars
              This is a pretty good book to read. In the beginning of the story, Conn is try to do some explosion to make his locus stone, answer him. Then during his adventure he met a ghost, call shadows. The shadow turn people to stones, and he almost turn to stone!
              • bunnykitty8
                bunnykitty8Monday, December 15, 2014 at 2:29 pm
                I love this book I wish I could pick locks like Conn!
                • plin
                  plinWednesday, December 10, 2014 at 2:51 pm44 stars
                  I really want to read this book!
                  • connwaer
                    connwaerSunday, July 7, 2013 at 6:42 pm44 stars
                    The second book of The Magic Thief is set when Connwaer is performing pyrotechnics-which are illegal in Wellmet. He accidentally blows up Heartsease which is his and Nevery's home and is exiled from the city. He tries to find out where all the magic has gone(he thinks magic is a living being) so he ventures with his friend Rowan, the duchess's daughter and her search party in quest of finding the magic. They soon reach Desh, a city of that is known for its slowsilver mining. Conn finds out many of Desh's secrets-maybe even the most dangerous one of all.