Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/aUn/an/a
From award-winning actor, Neil Patrick Harris, comes the magical first book in a new series with plenty of tricks up its sleeve.

When street magician Carter runs away, he never expects to find friends and magic in a sleepy New England town. But like any good trick, things change instantly as greedy B.B. Bosso and his crew of crooked carnies arrive to steal anything and everything they can get their sticky fingers on.

After a fateful encounter with the local purveyor of illusion, Dante Vernon, Carter teams up with five other like-minded illusionists. Together, using both teamwork and magic, they'll set out to save the town of Mineral Wells from Bosso's villainous clutches. These six Magic Misfits will soon discover adventure, friendship, and their own self-worth in this delightful new series.


(Psst. Hey, you! Yes, you! Congratulations on reading this far. As a reward, I'll let you in on a little secret... This book isn't just a book. It's a treasure trove of secrets and ciphers and codes and even tricks. Keep your eyes peeled and you'll discover more than just a story--you'll learn how to make your own magic!)
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on November 21, 2017 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316391824
ISBN-13: 9780316391825
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lizzzy_winkle
    lizzzy_winkleThursday, August 6, 2020 at 10:56 pm55 stars
    The magic misfits is my fav book ever.
    • toodorky
      toodorkyMonday, June 8, 2020 at 10:04 am55 stars
      This book was amazing! I loved it so much! The author has a knak for atory telling, and he even included magic trickes! Carter has lost his parents at an eary age and now basically works for his uncle. He makes him steal and Carter doesn't like it. One day he runs away from his uncle and ends up at a carnival. There, he meets the misfits, Leila, Ridley, and Theo. He is welcomed into the group, but that means his newly found friends will, hep him defeat Bosso, the evil circus manager. He plans on stealing the worlds largest diamond, and it's up to the misfits to stop him. Can they do it?
      • blossomreader
        blossomreaderThursday, May 21, 2020 at 3:59 pm55 stars
        I loved this book! The author added magic tricks that we could do, so that made the book extra fun! But the story alone was just great!!!!! Carter runs away from his Uncle Sly, who used Carter to steal things from people. Carter runs away and finds himself at a carnival. He seems alone at first, but after a while he meets Mr.Vernon, and then his husband and daughter, and then others! Together, the become the Magic Misfits, and their goal is to stop Bosso from stealing and being villainous. How will a few kids do that!? Why, that's where the magic comes in.
        • greendogo
          greendogoThursday, May 14, 2020 at 2:24 pm55 stars
          This is my first post and also a book review I did in my writing class Magic… it’s all tricks and illusions, right? Wrong. Neil Patrick Harris takes us on a journey about learning what magic really is with Carter, a boy who lives with his Uncle Sly who steals from people using magic. Soon, though, uncle Sly is discovered and he and Carter must run away. Carter escapes from Uncle Sly and ends up at the little town of Mineral Wells. There, he meets Leila, Riley, Theo, and the twins, Olly and Izzy. Bosso and his gang are a traveling circus crew. They scam people with fake attractions. Then, they find out Bosso is planning to steal the biggest diamond in the world! The friends hatch an elaborate plan to stop him! This hilarious Realistic Fiction book is great for people who want to expand their reach to a new series. This book was Magic to my eyes in many ways. I loved how this book is really suspenseful. At first; we don’t know much about the protagonist, Carter, and Mr.Vernon was steeped in mystery. It made me ask things, such as“How does he seem connected to Carter?” And “Who is he even?” I thought it was exciting when The Misfits unveiled Bosso’s plans to steal the largest diamond in the world. I found this book humorous, like when Izzy and Olly make little quirks, and comments, and I like how the narrator sometimes pauses and says silly things. Those things were what struck me most out of all the Magic. But there are some things that were less appealing to me in this book. This book is good, but like all books, there were a few things that were not as good as others. Sometimes, the book dragged on or had filler scenes and long parts unrelated to the story. Also, it used some terms I had to find out or look up. Those things I did not like as much as the rest of this book. There are many ups and downs, but I recommend that if you get bored easily, don’t even try this book. But you might want to try it with its neverending comedy, and also it would be good for you if you like adventure stories...I think it is a great book. Most people would like to read The Magic Misfits. This is good for a book report or review because there is a lot of content to write about. Overall, this book was great and very funny. I like all the other books in the series because they have similar content and quality as the first one. Join the magic with Neil Patrick Harris’s Magic Misfits!
          • madisonann
            madisonannMonday, January 13, 2020 at 6:24 pm55 stars
            I totaly agree with you this is a AWSOME BOOK and the second one is even better. If there was more than 5 stars I woluld give it.
            • toono
              toonoMonday, January 13, 2020 at 1:36 pm55 stars
              one of my top three favorite books of all time. It's sad ,funny and wrote by my favorite actor (Neil Patrick Harris.) definitely think that if you like magic you will love this book!
              • abiyo
                abiyoTuesday, November 19, 2019 at 8:26 am
                I love this book. The love the heart and funny things.
                • winnipeg
                  winnipegThursday, September 26, 2019 at 5:05 pm55 stars
                  It's about Carter and his parents disappear mysteriously and A relative named Uncle sly Adopts him and he runs away to mineral wells a Town and he meats a lots of misfits.
                  • reader2009
                    reader2009Sunday, September 1, 2019 at 5:04 pm55 stars
                    This was a great book and it touched my heart in many ways. It taught you to be thankful for what you have, especially your family and friends.
                    • AaronL.Friday, March 29, 2019 at 8:51 am
                      This book was so amazing!!! You just get so interested. At first, you'll get bored, but as you start reading it, there comes what my friends say, "The juicy stuff!". There are just so many twists and turns with some scary things added to knock your goosebumps right out! I highly recommend this to people who are starting or hate books. So I hate books, now I feel more interested in the book and it's like a whole new world.