Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.963047

New York Times bestselling series

The first book in the New York Times bestselling series The Lying Game, by author of the bestselling Pretty Little Liars series, Sara Shepard.

Shortly before her seventeenth birthday, Emma discovers she has a long-lost twin named Sutton Mercer. She contacts Sutton, who agrees to a rendezvous, but never shows up. Curious at first, Emma slips into Sutton’s ultra-glamorous life, assuming her identity. When it becomes clear that Sutton is not coming back, that someone made sure she never could, Emma plunges in to investigate who could have wanted her sister gone (a fairly long list, she discovers). Unfortunately, taking over Sutton’s life means innocent little Emma has inherited all that bad blood—and then some.

Perfect for fans of Sara Shepard’s #1 New York Times bestselling series Pretty Little Liars, The Lying Game has all the juicy plot lines, to-die-for lifestyles, and compelling secrets that fans love.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on December 7, 2010 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0061869708
ISBN-13: 9780061869709
5 Book Reviews
  • iheartoreos
    iheartoreosabout 9 years55 starsFeatured
    The Lying Game is the first book to The Lying Game series. The story is about a girl named Emma Paxton, who comes to believe she has a twin sister. She goes on Facebook, and sends a message to the girl, Sutton Mercer. Sutton writes back saying that they need to meet. However, Sutton is actually dead. Emma goes to the Sabino Canyon, Tucson, Arizona. While waiting for her sister, she is attacked by a group of people. They take her across the street, and remove the burlap sack over her head. That's when Emma finds out that it's just Sutton's friends playing a prank. The friends believe that Emma is Sutton, and take her to Nisha's party. Back at Sutton's home, Emma still goes on with the charade as being Sutton, since they are identical twins. The next morning, Sutton's younger sister, Laurel gets a note. She gives the letter to Emma without reading it. The letter says 'Sutton's dead, keep playing along'. Emma is drunk, but goes to the police station, however she is not taken seriously because of Sutton's past lies. When Emma goes to school, Garret, Sutton's boyfriend, takes that Emma is Sutton like everyone else. Emma begins liking a boy named Ethan. Ethan finds out who she really is and is the only one who knows the secret. Emma learns about a game Sutton and her friends play, "The Lying Game", an elaborate pranking game. Emma also learns that one day that Sutton's friends took TLG too far, and almost strangled Sutton. Ethan told Emma that he saved Sutton that night that she almost died, so Emma concludes that Sutton died after that incident and anyone could have killed her. Emma runs off with Ethan and he finds out that Emma is pretending to be Sutton, but he promises to keep her secret and help her find the killer. Emma decides to stay and pretend to be Sutton so she can find out who killed her sister. Emma returns to Sutton's home, celebrating her and Sutton's birthday. But what Emma doesn't know is that Sutton's murderer is always watching.
    • iheartoreos
      iheartoreosabout 9 years55 stars
      It says the interest level for reading this book is 9-12 grade but I'm in 8th and I am 13 soo yeah. Who else agrees?
      • hvk3301
        hvk3301almost 10 years55 stars
        totally wanna read
        • lovepink
          lovepinkalmost 10 years
          it is good i really liked it but i dont really read long :-)
          • mad4tennis
            mad4tennisabout 11 years55 stars
            This book is so good, it is also really different than the TV show. It is by the same author as Pretty Little Liars so, if you like those you will love these. It is about two long-lost twins that got separated at birth and found each other on facebook. They plan to meet but one doesn't show up!