Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.956782
A magical fantasy, an allegorical cautionary tale, a feast of language, a celebration of creativity--this dazzling debut novel is poised to become a story for the ages!

Penelope is running out of time!

She dreams of being a writer, but how can she pursue her passion when her mother schedules every minute of her life? And how will she ever prove that writing is worthwhile if her mother keeps telling her to "get busy!" and "be more productive"?

Then one day, Penelope discovers a hole in her schedule--an entire day completely unplanned!--and she mysteriously falls into it. What follows is a mesmerizing journey through the Realm of Possibility where Penelope sets out to find and free the Great Moodler, the one person who may have the answers she seeks. Along the way, she must face an army of Clockworkers, battle the evil Chronos, take a daring Flight of Fancy, and save herself from the grip of time.

Brimming with clever language and masterful wordplay, The Lost Track of Time is a high-stakes adventure that will take you to a place where nothing is impossible and every minute doesn't count--people do!
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on March 31, 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545538122
ISBN-13: 9780545538121
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tori3ghoul
    tori3ghoulSunday, November 26, 2017 at 6:13 pm33 stars
    Penelope has dreamed of being an author since she was a little girl. But her mother wants her to have a more academic career. Soon, Penelope takes things into her own hands and creates a plan to become a published writer. I can relate to Penelope's love of writing!
    • adavis23
      adavis23Monday, October 23, 2017 at 12:56 pm44 stars
      The book was amazing, imaginative and very creative.
      • hummingbird1
        hummingbird1Thursday, February 2, 2017 at 6:07 amFeatured
        Penelope loves writing. She wants more time to write, but that can't happen when her mother plans every minute of her life. Her mother decides when she wakes up, when she eats breakfast, when she cleans her room, her mom decides everything! All Penelope wants is a day at free time. One day, it happens. Her schedule is free. She decides to go to her neighbors house. While she's there, she falls into her schedule, into a world she has never heard of before, controlled be evil Chronos. While in this land, Penelope meets Dill, who informs her of the long lost Great Moodler. Penelope and Dill set out to find the Great Moodler, and along the way battle clockworkers, a Wild Bore, and evil Chronos himself. This is one of my favorite books ever, and I would read it again and again. I recommend this book to boys and girls ages 9+.
        • sandemad000
          sandemad000Friday, January 13, 2017 at 7:53 am55 stars
          I love this book! I got it at a book fair in like 2014, and I think I read it like only once and I LOVE this book! :]
          • CuteBunniesWednesday, December 21, 2016 at 8:48 am
            This book is short but good. Even my favorite book, The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles, is less imaginative. I love Dill. He opened Penelope's eyes. A good part is when we discovered that Chronos was actually Poor Richard! Even though the laws in the city Chronos runs are silly, Chronos is not a silly guy. This book has multiple messages. I love that because then you come out from reading you are much wiser than you were before. Even though it has that, there is one big message in it that will change the way you think forever. I think it is clever that the author called the talkative know-it-alls wild bores because there is a creature called a wild boar and wild bores will bore you.
            • pinkiep
              pinkiepThursday, June 2, 2016 at 8:43 am
              I love this book it's so good!! I reading it now.
              • bookwormemily10
                bookwormemily10Friday, January 15, 2016 at 5:19 pm55 stars
                This book is about Penelope, who has a Mother who plans her every move. Penelope dreams of being an author but since her mother isn't very supportive about her writing, so there is no time on her schedule for writing and throughout the book, she becomes very discouraged about her writing. But miraculously, one day there is nothing planned on her schedule and at miss Maddie's house, she falls into a legitimate "hole" in her schedule. She lands in a wonderland -like world and embarks on a journey to get home and along the way she will meet friends like Dill , the great moodler , and the time keeper and face the dangers of worry warts, wild bores, and the naughty woulds, and officer X. Getting home will take a lot , including defeating the evil Chronos and the clock workers but Penelope will be up to the challenge.
                • bookwormemily10
                  bookwormemily10Sunday, January 3, 2016 at 1:00 pm55 stars
                  my mom got me this for christmas. can't wait to read!!!
                  • ejvarga
                    ejvargaMonday, November 30, 2015 at 5:37 pm44 stars
                    This book is really good and sad but it all is coming together now and it is now starting to make sense. I hope who ever is reading this book loves it as much as I do!